Monday, October 31, 2011

With Abandon by J.L Langley

With Abandon by J.L Langley
Samhain Publishing
Wolves/Shifter
Novel
4 out of 5

Blurb:
As heir to an old and proud heritage, Aubrey Reynolds works and lives for his family, his employees and his pack. Agreeing to watch after a visiting werewolf is no big deal—until he discovers the newcomer is his mate. His very male mate…which is a very big deal, indeed. Revealing his sexuality was never part of Aubrey’s well-ordered life plan.
Much as he loved caring for his eight younger brothers, Matt Mahihkan knows it’s time to grab the opportunity to attend college in Atlanta. Realizing Aubrey is his mate should have been a delightful experience…except Aubrey treats him more like a dirty little secret than a lover. Yet Matt is a patient man. Aubrey can’t stay in the closet forever. Can he?
In time, they settle into a comfortable, if complicated, routine. Until a rogue werewolf with an axe to grind forces Aubrey to add to the wedge of secrets driving him and Matt apart, leaving Matt exposed to danger…and Aubrey forced to choose between love and duty.

Review:
With Abandon, is the highly anticipated book four in the With or Without series. I am a fan that has been waiting impatiently for the latest instalment in this highly addictive series, and this book does not disappoint. However, my least favourite in the series, it was still a pleasure to read.

For those who are reading this review with no idea what the series is about, well it’s simple. Shifter males finding their mate, their equally male mate. The series is not without its vicissitudes, there is mystery, laughter and some of the hottest sex you will ever read. Just like only J.L Langley does it. I would recommend you read the first three, only because you shouldn’t miss out on them, and definitely, cus book four is a sort of continuation to book three.


Aubrey Reynolds is a dedicated man, dedicated to his company and his family. He has a legacy to uphold, get married, raise some children and run his fathers company. There is only one thing wrong with the whole situation, Aubrey is gay and no one must know. In his world of business, his sexual orientation will look like a weakness, and only the strong survive. Everyone thinks he is hooking up with his best friend who is girl, which makes him happy, because it keeps suspicion away from what gender he really likes to get naked with. Finding his mate is not in the cards, but faith has a way of intervening when you least expect it. Aubrey gets his mate, but he is unsure of if he wants to keep him.


Matt is finally leaving home, away from his eight younger brothers, and the terrible relationship of his parents. Things are about to be different and quieter when Matt leaves to attend college. To say that he would miss his brothers is an understatement, but this time away will let him spread his wings. Getting to know Aubrey over the phone has been some good times, Aubrey will be his roommate during the duration of his college years. When Aubrey girlfriend picks him up from the airport, the scent he is getting from her says she is his mate. Faith can’t be so cruel can it? giving Matt a female mate when he is clearly gay. He is going by the scent and its saying that she is. When he gets to apartment he will be sharing with Aubrey, the scent is a lot more concentrated. When Aubrey walks through the door, he gets his answer. Aubrey is his mate, and his girlfriend just smelt a little like him.  Things just got seriously complicated.


The book then becomes a story of Aubrey’s struggle with wanting his mate, and his persistence in fulfilling his family duty. Matt struggles with being second best, but he is hoping that eventually Aubrey will come around. The two together are very sweet, and they got to know each other a lot better while fighting the sexual urges that come forth around a mate.


The book offers up some nice conflicts, a little sex relationship gone badly between a couple of Aubrey’s employees. Also a little menace, in the form of someone stalking Matt and then sending pictures to Aubrey. Matt and Aubrey are not without issues of their own, and it’s a bit of struggle for them to reach their HEA. A nice twist was added, and I never saw it coming and I did even cry a little. Wished it didn’t end quite that bad.


The sex is a lot less in this one, and honestly not as hot as to be expected from Langley, I do believe this one was all about the story. Matt is shining in his fluorescent socks, and pink polo shirts. His dress shoes and shorts are out in big way, you gotta love him. Aubrey is more than he appears and I am glad I got to know him, he is not the asshole I thought he was. Overall, a great addiction to this wonderful series, and I am once again impatiently waiting for book five.

4 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off
Written for Three Dollar Bill Reviews

Menage Mondays: Cake by Derekica Snake


It's that time again, another installment of Menage Monday. Where '3 is never a crowd' and one more is always invited. This week's menage is awesmazing and totally satisfies my pretty boy needs. Though the plot does not include a Menage relationship, it does have some hot 3 man love. If you are a fan of Yaoi, then this book will have you satisfied to the brim, all vamps meet pretty boys in sexy clothing with blood and gore. Its a whole lot of fun time and pants losing. A difinite 5 star read and 5 Pants off on the Pants Losing Scale.





Cake will have you stuffing your face and asking for more before you are done, plus the cover alone deserves some serious love.

*A longer and more awesome review later on in the week*

Pembroke Eve Chronicles

Shadows of the Mind (Pembroke Eve Chronicles #1) by Mark Alders
Extasy Books
Science Fiction/Romance
Novel
4 out of 5


Blurb:
Shadows of the Mind focuses on Jacob Theison, a young man who thinks he’s better than all the other folk who live in the picturesque town of Pembroke Eve. It’s no place for a modern guy and he wants to leave, try his luck on the greener pastures of ‘anywhere’ else.

That is until he realizes one thing. Deep down he’s just like everyone else, a country guy through and through. That realization comes just in time, because on a moonlit night a green glowing spaceship lands in Wilson’s field. Aliens, it seems, are real. But why are they in Pembroke Eve of all places? Pembroke is a nowhere place. And why is everyone acting weird all of a sudden, even more so than usual? Are the aliens’ friendly or do they have a more sinister reason for being here?

It seems Jacob is the only one who can see what’s really going on. But why him? What’s so special about a gay guy living in a small town? Sure, he’s never had a boyfriend, never been kissed for that matter, so why? Curious, he goes to investigate the spaceship and gets far more than he bargained for as soon as he gets over his back fence. His life will never be the same again.


Review:
I have no idea if this book was meant as a joke, or the author was serious. I am not saying this to discredit the authors work, but the writing and story was almost too unbelievable to be taken seriously. Yet, through all that, the book was highly entertaining and quite different from what I have read in the m/m genre.

Jacob Thieson lives in the boring ass town of Pembroke Eve, to stand out he decides to come out. So now he is that gay guy in Pembroke Eve, where he was initially avoided in the beginning, people have finally learnt to accept who he is, without completely understanding it. While getting ready for bed one night, Jacob witnesses a bright light and decides to investigate, on his way he bumps into two guys who also witnessed the bright light, and they believe it to be an alien landing on earth. That one night of discovery leads to an adventure Jacob was never expecting and finding love in the surrounding bushes while running for his life.

Seems that boring ass Pembroke Eve just got a little more exciting and Jacob has to save the day, and it seems the very reason that made him an outcast, is the same reason that will lead him to save the town with the help of a few close friends; some closer than others. It becomes a cat and mouse game of epic proportions between Jacob and his friends, and the less than pleasant aliens.

Here is what I thought the book was about judging by the cover. Sexy alien landed on earth, Jacob spots him and sparks fly and its chemistry. Yet there is an obstacle, they are from different species and it would not work and all that. That’s what I thought; I have no idea where those thoughts came from, because the blurb doesn’t even move along those lines (lol). I guess it’s a good thing that it went into a completely different direction because the book is quite unique. I read about tentacles, but they weren’t even used for fun.


It’s a fun read, a little on the over the top side, mixed in with ‘that shit would never happen’. A massive amount of eye rolls, and sometimes a few unnecessary scenes, but what can I say doing all that might have been pure genius. I could not stop reading, and just wanted to know what kinda crazy thing Jacob would say, do, or think.  I honestly look forward to reading the rest in the series, because it’s just never a dull moment in Pembroke Eve.


4 Pants Off
 Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off



SideNote-Looking for tentacles fun? Check out my review here for Tentacles for the Brides Bouquet. Was a free online fiction but I think it got picked up to be published. So watch out for it.

Sunday, October 30, 2011

Blood, Sex, Vampires, Wolves And Everything In-Between

Bound by Blood (Soul Mates 1) by Jourdan Lane
Torquere Press
Paranormal Roamnce/Vampire
Novel
4 out of 5

Blurb:
Houston nightclub Rave is famous for nearly-naked male dancers and beautiful bartenders, like Peter, a young man with a strict rule about one-night stands. He breaks that rule for Lucien, the owner of The Den, a rival gay nightclub where there are no boundaries, no taboos. Anything goes at The Den, including vampires.

When Peter finds out about Lucien's vampire nature, he figures he should have stuck to his rule, because Lucien pulls him into a dark world of vampires, werewolves and feuding in-laws. No one approves of the human vampire match, and Peter and Lucien have to struggle to stay together. Can they beat the forces that will try to tear them apart forever?


Review:
Warning: This book contains multiple partners, the best uses of blood. Some awesome human/vamp loving mixed in with a wolf. Nipple piercings, a Prince Albert, and leather.
 

This book was a trip, never expected it to be this awesmazing; but it was. Over 300 pages of vamp sex goodness and all that is in-between. It was action packed, sweet, and incredibly take your pants off sexy. The epidemy of what is vampire, the blood, the sultriness. Just a freaking enjoyable read that I had to gobble it up.

We meet Peter a bartender at a club. Has a best friend by the name of Jack who he occasionally gets naked with, but the friendship is strong people, cus sex between them is just sex. It seems that vampires exist in Peter’s world and he is terrified of them, due to an incident at a club he once visited. Therefore, he is very wary of them. There is man who comes dancing at the club that he works at, and he cant take his eyes off him. To say he’s attracted is an understatement, but life has ways of fucking with you, and the guy Peter wants like nobody’s business is a vampire.

Lucien is a master vampire, with his own coven to run, but he see’s and wants Peter. Peter is scared of vampires, and Lucien is unable to change who he is. The attraction is mutual but there can be no relationship until Peter lets go and accepts that they aren’t the monsters he thinks they are, he just happened to witness that one bad thing. Lucien pursues him, and with a series of lows, he finally lands Peter.

Peter is thrown into a world of vampires, wolves, and sex. As Lucien’s chosen mate, he is instantly upped on the status bar.  Seems that when you are up, something is always trying to pull you down. Peter has to prove he is able to stand by Lucien and all that his power entails. Also means he has to have sex with everyone who lives in Lucien’s home, and I aint complaining not one damn bit.

This book is sex with a plot, or should I say porn (nope), that offers up great little twist and turns. And Lucien and Peter are quite entertaining with all their bed partners, and the way they constantly bicker at each other. Lucien is the uber scary but sweet master vampire, and Peter is his feisty little bonded mate. Together they just fit and it makes the book work. It’s the perfect gay vampire novel.

The use of sex and blood was just done perfectly, and never felt like too much. It’s like a throw back to what vampires use to be about, sex, lust and violence. It reminds me of Interview With the Vampire, if Lestat had bent that other guy over and all his other vamp friends (the dreams). I really enjoyed it and look forward to the rest in the series. Something about all that blood (used in sexy ways) and sex, I am just really feeling right now. Enjoyed every page, and every man that was in Peter and Lucien’s bed and I was kinda hoping the author would have added a few more, there was teasing but it wasn’t delivered. Book 2 will hopefully create the awesome five, Peter, Lucien, Caleb, Xander, Christopher awe bloody hell I could go on all day.


4 Pants Off
 Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

Saturday, October 29, 2011

I've Got Pretty On The Brain!

I can say with all honesty, that I am a big fan of pretty men. I love to see them when I am on the train, walking down the street, or just doing some shopping. They make my heart feel super happy, its like waterfalls and symphonies. I get a big smile on my face, because guess what? Ain't nothing wrong with being pretty, I for one appreciate it and am envious.

My fave pretties are Asian men, good grief when did they get so hot? I think they always were but now I have finally seen the light, and that sucker was bright. I feel bad about all the dirty things they are subjected to in my head (but I make no apologies), and if only those thoughts involved me. They sure as hell don't. Nothing better than if I see a group of them, and I think "self if only they did each other" I would be in heaven. I blame Yaoi, that shit means "pretty boys doing each other". I bow down to the mangakas who write them, but enough about me.

Here is my list of some must read pretties. They will leave you feeling ugly.



Heaven Sent 1: Heaven by Jet Mykles (6 books in series) (Novella)
Buy The Book Here
Sexy good fun guys, one my fave series, and by one of my fave authors.
 Drawn Togther by Z.A Maxfield (Novel)
Buy The Book Here
Another favourite of mine, and another top author. This one is yaoi dreams come true, Yamane is sure to warm your heart, and leave you laughing.


U Don't Know Me by Rakun (Yaoi)
Get Chapters Here
Love this manga sooooo much, I always just pick it up to look through it. Fan-Freaking-Tastic! Check out the link to see the first chapter free.
Rated 18+ for mindblasting art.













So keep coming back, will hit you with some more pretty in the future. We all need a little pretty in our life.

Counterpoint

Counterpoint (Song of the Fallen,  #1) by Rachel Haimowitz
Guiltless Pleasure
Novel
5 out of 5

Blurb:
It is the twilight of mankind. Depleted by generations of war with a dark race, the human kingdoms and their ancient alliance stand on the brink of extinction. The outlands are soaked with the blood of the fallen. The midlands are rotting with decadence and despair.

Elfkind, estranged by past crimes, watches and waits for nature to run its course.

And then the two collide.

Ayden's life has long been guided by two emotions: love for his sister, and hatred of all things human. When he's captured in battle, he must for his sister's sake swallow his pride and endure slavery in the service of a human prince. To his dismay, this close-up view of his enemy is nothing like he expected. Now curiosity and contempt make a battlefield of his soul, even as he struggles to pick up the pieces of his shattered worldview.

Freyrik Farr, Crown Prince of Farr Province, finds his new elven prisoner puzzling. He's always known elves to be beautiful and dangerous, but never has one affected him as deeply as Ayden. Can his life of service to his people leave room for this attraction? Dancing on a dagger's edge between duty and high treason, Freyrik discovers that some choices can change a life, and some an entire world.

Between prejudice, politics, pride, and survival, Ayden and Freyrik must carve a new path, no matter how daunting. For nothing less than the fate of both their peoples rests on the power of their perseverance -- and their love


Review:
Counterpoint is one of those epic love stories, that completely engages the reader and makes you fall in love. I was completely caught up in the characters, and the world created. I will say honestly that I wanted to read this book, because the cover is just so impressive. It drew my eye, and it turned out that this book is more than just a pretty cover (pffft, pretty cover, more like a sexy cover).

This book as I said before is epic, epic fantasy that is. Its pure fiction, from the war with the ferals; to its hatred between men and elves. It can also be described as historical, without actually being historic. From the horses, lands armour and fighting soldiers. It offers up all the things I like in my historical romance, but with a great twist, and an elf that just makes me happy. It is a book for all my fantasy lovers, and those looking for a book with romance, that was a progression and did not happen in like 20 pages into the book.

Ayden is an eight-hundred year old elf. Watching a war play out between humans, and feral beasts. Feral beasts are animals that have been taken over by some form of darkness, and changed them into beasts. Their intent is to destroy, and their targets are humans. Ayden feels no love for the humans, he thinks them beasts also, arrogant, and stupid, and they share the land has enemies. The elves on their side, and the humans in their own little world. Until his sister enters human territory, and he has no choice but to go in and save her, when humans soldier are hot on her trail. He fights to protect his sister, but loses the battle and is captured, him and his sister both.

Acting King, Freyric is up to his ears in politics and war, he is prince but his brother crowned king is away due to the war with the ferals. That leaves Freyric to the responsibilities of life at court. When word gets to him about the capture of elves, one of the elves slaying sixteen of his men, his job is to lay out punishment. That becomes hard when his eyes land on the beautiful and battered Ayden. The stirrings of lust rushes forth, but Freyric is feeling something else, and makes Ayden his personal slave. This leads to a passionate story about a man fighting to save his people, and an elf warrior fighting to save his sister and leave the human world. What they never expected was to fall in love.

I thought this book was gonna be one of those stories, where the captured falls in love with his evil and domineering master. Forced to succumb to his lust, but eventually starting to care for the man. I was in for a treat, Miss Haimowitz manages the progression of feelings so beautifully. Here is a Freyric a man of power, who can take what he wants from Ayden, yet he was always such a gentleman. Never perfect, not always gentle but his attitude and apparent feelings for the elf was one of the reasons why this book was so enjoyable.

A friendship is formed wrapped in powerful emotions, and it’s through this, man and elf found a bond. Freyric must convince Ayden to help with the war, but Ayden cares nothing for humans and they care nothing for him. The people of Farr would love to see Ayden suffer, but their prince protects him and this very reason is causing suspicion of Freyric. Therefore, it becomes a story of sacrifice, what man/elf is willing to give up in the name of love. Will Freyric risk the love and respect from his people, and will Ayden throw out pride and sacrifice himself all in the name of love.

This book is for fans of true romance, who enjoy a good plot, and smart and witty characters. I am a fan, because I fell in love with Ayden’s humour and his strong spirit. I love Freyric’s loyalty and his compassion; he is just a “wow” of a character. I loved that sex played a secondary role to the story, and its characters. I loved the sexual tension. I loved the world building. I freaking loved it all. I recommend this read in a big way (BIG WAY).
 
I look forward to the second, because this book ended with my heart in my throat.

5 Pants Off
"Go Ahead Take Those Pants OFF"


Friday, October 28, 2011

Yaoi CRAZY!

 Can I just say honestly that I am obsessed with boy love. Just obsessed, if I had my perfect reality, I would be a bum and I would read about men doing each other all day (I do that already). I guess from the time I was a wee lad little girl I loved men together. It was really only two years ago that I really got in to it. My obsession with Butch and Vishous from the Black Dagger Brotherhood was strong. In addition, I was equally obsessed with Twilight (don’t judge me), I had just given birth to my second son and was reading a lot more than usual. So with Butch and V on the brain, I logged on to Amazon and checked out their Gay and Lesbian section and was overwhelmed with the amount of books and had no clue where to start. Then I remembered someone saying something about an author called Jet Mykles and I had her web address. So with excitement I took a look and it was well and over from there.

 I read her Fanfic of Wieb Kruez, and I was just in love and then with one word 'Yaoi' all hell broke loose. I never heard of it was completely oblivious to it and so then I googled it. Just imagine my reaction: Excitement, dumbfounded, and then excited again. With a look at my newborn (sleeping), I spent the next year glued to my computer, my ipod and ereader. I discovered yaoi mangas, yaoi animes and Drawn Together by Z.A Maxfield. Television ceased to exist for me, and other books just could not quite reach me anymore. I can tell you people I became YAOI CRAZY!

 There was art work (just ripped off my clothes in excitement it was like I was on drugs). I barely slept for more than 4hrs each night. My son slept a lot, so I had free time (teehee). I was hooked on the anime, the first I watched was Boku No Pico and good gawd I couldn't keep my mouth closed and I also couldn't help watching the following two ( I said don't judge me), then I watched Gravitation *music is awesmazing* and then Junjou Romantica. It created a monster and Aarinfantasy became a very close friend.

 So I thank the friend who told me about Jet Mykles, I thank Jet for mentioning Yaoi and having those wonderful Heaven Sent covers, and Z.A Maxfiled for putting Yamane in a book and having that pretty cover. It was the first book I read in gay erotica and I loved it. So honestly I blame you guys for creating this monster and also my empty purse says "hi".

SideNote- You might be wondering where was my oldest child through all this? Well the answer is "I don't know" teeheheh JOKING!

Here is a small collage homage to being YAOI CRAZY!

To Check out Jet Mykles fanfic of Weib Kruez Night Out, On the Run
Heaven Sent Series Heaven Sent
Drawn Together Goodreads
Jonjou Romantica Books, Watch Anime

*Boku No Pico watch at your own discretion, its seriously hardcore*

Thursday, October 27, 2011

Sudden Bliss


Men of Tokyo: Sudden Bliss by Sedonia Guillone
Total-E-Bound
Novel
3.5 out of 5

Blurb:
Desperately in need of a vacation, Koji spends the most deliciously erotic week of his life at the White Tiger, a luxurious love-hotel for gay men. Naoto, his personal attendant, is everything Koji has ever fantasised about: muscular, long-haired, ruggedly handsome, gentle yet commanding. Naoto is a White Tiger, after all, trained in the erotic arts, knowlegeable in every way to bring a man to bliss.

Naoto’s appreciative eye sees the honourable and sexy man Koji-san is under the work-driven shell. Little by little, his massages and more coax the real man, the passionate, artistic, sex-loving Koji, to the surface. Yet, the more time Naoto spends with Koji, the more he finds his own soul craving a partner again, the one thing he thought he’d never find after his lover was killed three years ago. He’s not sure he’s ready to get that close again. And even if he were ready, it doesn’t mean that Koji wants the same thing. In fact, Koji once mentioned that he was supposed to get married. Yet, when an agonising secret from Naoto’s past is revealed to him, Naoto wants only to turn to Koji.

When Naoto comes to him for help, Koji is suddenly faced with a harrowing decision: remain in his work-driven, soul-killing world or follow the path his body and heart have really chosen for him? And he must choose – for in a world where passion and spirit find union, there is no in between.



Review:
This was another book shelved as 'Can't wait to read and lose my pants'. This book had me at Men of Tokyo. I was like "what! Japanese men in a whole series" I had to begin, thus it seems that every book in my lose pants shelf is cursed, because I hardly lose my pants at all.

Koji is a workaholic, stressed beyond measure and is slowly making his way into a deep depression. Work is his solitude and keeps his mind off his less than spectacular life. He is slowly deteriorating and everyone is taking notice. When his boss demands he take a vacation, Koji gets seriously close to having a nervous breakdown, and to avoid embarrassment he leaves his place of work gracefully. Convincing his boss that he will take a vacation but it will be the hotel of his choice, and what a choice it is.

The White Tiger is notorious for its service and the pleasure you will receive from its staff. Koji is feeling like a fish out of water, and his attendant is all his fantasies personified. Naoto is to take care of Koji, the fragile looking man looks lost and in need of some serious TLC (tender loving care). It’s up to Naoto to soothe Koji and unleash the sexy and beautiful man that he is on the inside. It was supposed to be a week of rest for Koji, and just a job for Naoto but both men get more than they bargained for.

I must say I really liked the book even though I was slightly disappointed. It has the sweet sexiness that I really enjoyed, but there was just one scene that threw me out of the book completely, definately my “WTF” moment. I liked Koji and Naoto together they both have a very sad history, but I could not love them. After a very captivating beginning, the book sorta fizzled for me later on. I think it was just longer than it needed to be.

Overall, I nice read and will continue the series cus I am a sucker for all things Japanese. The other characters are intriguing enough for me to continue. Moreover, I still have a lot to learn when it comes to the erotic arts that is White Tiger.

3 1/2 Pants Off


Wednesday, October 26, 2011

Telling the Truth

Telling the Truth (Truth or Dare,#2) by Lee Brazil
Breathless Press
Novella
4.5 out of 5


Blurb:
The Blake brothers have upped the ante in their weekly poker game. The week Terry loses, he finds that paying his debt of telling the truth sets him free to pursue a fantasy he never dreamed could be reality.

Terry has lived his life according to the guidelines, by studying accounting, getting an MBA, and working for the family business. And while his work has its own rewards, something has been missing, and his eyes have only just been opened to what--or rather who--that could be.

Terry can handle any dare his brothers dish out, but the demand for Truth is a different matter. Unable to hide behind his pristine reputation and fancy business suit, Terry is honor bound to divulge secrets he’s been ashamed to admit even to himself in the privacy of his own bedroom.

Twins Dex and Trick have finally found acceptance for their relationship in the homes of their friends. They would never do anything to jeopardize that newfound sense of belonging. Fooling around with Mischa’s prissy, domineering, oh-so-sexy older brother is risky. A one night stand might be okay, and the boys happily indulge, but then close ranks afterward, pushing Terry aside.

Terry isn’t going to back down without a fight. He’s convinced that Dex and Trick are meant to be his, and he’ll do whatever it takes to make them realize all the safety and protection they need can be found in his arms.


Review:
Lee Brazil is an author to watch out for. I am just in love with the Truth or Dare series, Keeping House was adorable and sexy, but Telling the Truth is 'it' for me. It has two things that I love in M/M some twincest and a ménage relationship. I just wanna rip my clothes off and run through the streets (to be avoided at all cost), I just love it so much.

From the first novella Keeping House, we meet the Blake brothers at their weekly poker game. They all tend to get a little over protective of each other, but their closeness and love for each other is very apparent.  Terry has just lost his hand at poker and its time for truth or dare, and the saying “the truth will set you free” has never been more right. Terry is the good one, he follows guidelines and has never done a crazy or out of character thing in his life until… He saw twin Dex and Trick.

Terry has been a little in love with them for a little over six months, and while fighting his attraction he can’t deny that he wants them something bad. They are so hot together and he wants in on the action. When Terry hits up a gay club in hopes of finding someone to take his mind off Dex and Trick, the outing proves unsuccessful in the club. He does get lucky though out in the parking lot (take your mind out of the gutter).

All three hook up and things seem all good until the twin have a run in with Terry’s older brother. They know they have found something good with Terry and it will be hell to just give him up. Terry is no pushover though, he wants the boys in his life and he will have them. Screw what others will say; screw what his family will say. Its time he found his own happiness.

I love every main character in this series. I love the strong family bond they all share. Because if you are important to one Blake brother you are important to all. It might seem like this book is about sex, but its not. It’s about finding that someone you love or two someone’s, and finally gaining acceptance for just being you. I recommend you read the first book in the series, because they both move together. Just a really cute fun time, and if loving your twin brother is wrong then I don’t want to be right (cheeziest line I'v ever written).

My only beef is that I wish it were longer.

4 1/2 Pants Off
 So I say this my friends "Go ahead and take those Pants Off"!


Reviewed for Three Dollar Bill Reviews

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

The Gentleman and the Rogue

The Gentleman and the Rogue by Bonnie Dee & Summer Devon
Loose-Id
Novella
4 out of 5


Blurb: 
A lad from the streets meets a lord of the manor...

When Crimean war veteran Sir Alan Watleigh goes searching for sex, he never imagines the street rat he brings home for one last bit of pleasure in his darkest hour will be the man who hauls him back from the edge of the grave.

A night of meaningless sex turns into an offer of permanent employment. As Alan’s valet, Jem offers much more than polished boots and starched cravats. He makes Alan smile and warms his bed. Just as the men are adjusting to their new living arrangement, news about a former soldier under his command sends Sir Watleigh and Jem on the road to save a child in danger.

The journey brings them closer together as they travel from lust toward love. But is Alan's love strong enough to risk society discovering the truth about him? 



Review:
I am a huge fan of historical romance and a huge fan of M/M loving, you put them together, I become extremely happy, and I was extremely happy about this book. It has a bit of everything, the evil villain, the brooding hero and his upbeat and beautiful lover. The sex is just sweet and erotic at the same, plus our upbeat and beautiful lover has to come in and save our brooding hero, I call that a very good read.

Sir Alan Watleigh is home from the war, and as to be expected from most soldiers of war, he is plagued by nightmares and his reality is all kinds of hellish. He decides he is going to end his life with a bang, by giving into his forbidden desires for another man. All he wants is just a night of good sex and he is calling it quits. He spots his target a beautiful male prostitute and takes him home. What he does not expect is to be charmed, and to start liking the very young man, who makes a living by selling his body.

All Jem has known is the streets, the streets is where he lives and makes his living. Until he gets picked up by a very distinguished looking gentleman with the sad eyes. Jem swears to give him the best night and to make the broody looking gentle man smile. What he never expected is to want to stay in Alan’s company and never leave his life. All that is gonna take is to convince Alan he is right for him, put a smile on his face, and to erase him of his guilt because he likes cock, phew seems likes Jem has some serious work to do.

Throw in both Jem and Alan on the open road on their way to rescue a girl caught in the clutches of a mad man, and you have yourself a well-balanced book. This little journey is the defining moment in their relationship, there is sexual tension and the occasional “this is not right” from Alan, this dude just never quits. He is the ultimate brooder I tell ya, after sex, this guy thinks about the war and how it’s his fault, he got everyone killed. Right after sex come on, at least catch your breath first.

I love Jem; he is just a ray of sunlight. This man single handily knows what pain is but he continues to smile and wants nothing more than Alan to smile with him. He makes this book entertaining with his bawdy jokes and witty sense of humour, and even though he was a prostitute, he is quite innocent in his flirtations, but when it is time to be dirty, Jem gets down like no other. That Sir Alan Watleigh never had a chance. The two together is just a great balance, and it becomes a beautiful story about finding love in the least unlikely of places.

I really liked this book; the villain was a sick bastard. My fave thing was the word “bugger” we have come along way if that word use to be a swear word for men who like other men. That’s child play now but I find it so entertaining “bum buggerer” classic fantastic. I loved Jem and this is a book I will be giving another go in the long run. The sex was hot, I like when people are vocal during sex and Jem has that down, ah the dirty thing he says. If you like M/M romance check this one out, the writing is superb and there is never a dull moment, unless you count in Alan, ha kidding I like him.


4 Pants Off

Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off


Monday, October 24, 2011

Aidan and Ethan

Aidan & Ethan (Seeking Redemtionm #1) by Cameron Dane
Liquid Silver
200 pages
4 out of 5

Blurb:
Redemption, Maine. Never had the name of a town been more apt or mocked a person more.

Aidan Morgan made many mistakes in his young life, but moving to Redemption gave him a chance to wash away his poor choices and repair his relationship with his siblings.

Ethan Ashworth had the blond good looks of a hometown football star, but the picture didn’t match the heart and mind of the young man living inside.

The new kid in town with a history of getting into trouble and an unlikely geek don't often make a match, but a unique friendship forms. With one searing kiss on graduation day, promises of a future are made. One day later Aidan is gone, and Ethan’s heart is left broken.

Redemption, Maine. Never had the name of a town been more apt or mocked a person more … twice.

Thirteen years ago Aidan disappeared in the dead of night, but he is home now. Aidan has come home to take the job of chief of the fire department and to reconnect with his brother and sister. He wants Ethan back too. Unable to forget their kiss, Aidan wants to explain why he went away, and he wants a second chance to win Ethan’s heart. 


Review:
Holy mother of pearl, diamonds and earth, this book lighted my fire quick and then outed it with some cold ass water. Dont get me wrong I loved the book, Cameron knows how to write intensity and wild sex. My beef is the so called detrimental reason why one man ended up leaving the love of his.

So Aidan and Ethan meet why some snooty rich kids was bothering Aidan on the job, Ethan steps in and BAM! instand friends. Well the friendship lasts a few years with each guys sharing their dreams and hope for the future. What Ethan feels for Aidan isn't just friendship but love, he is in love with his bestfriend if only he could share his feelings. Well graduation day comes rolling around the boys meet in their usual lets hang spot, and what was supposed to be playful frolicking turned into you get to know my body and I get to know yours. They confess their undeniable love for each other and plan to run off into the sunset. The next day Ethan goes to see Aidan and BOOM his brother tells him and then shows him a note, Aidan was gone.

Thirteen years later Aidan is back hoping to pick things up with Ethan and gets a lovin. He finds out thats its gonna be harder than planned, the man he sees now is nothing like the boy he left behind. Aidan has never known the touch of another man and maybe he never will with the way things are going between them, well there is always his hand and toys.

Merde, I thought Aidan's reason for leaving would have been some huge thing, but its barely even moved me. I though he left because someone caught them getting to know each other man to man in the bushes and threatened his life or even kicked his ass.Nope! not as if his reason was less important because no harm was done to him, but the bulid up to him revealing said reason was kinda intense so I expected something huge.

Good points; the begginning was super sexy, all trembling hands, sloppy kissing, trees and sunshine. Where as on a personal level I felt nothing for the two male characters the need in the bedroom was Oh God *drool*. I can understand need. Not my fave book by Dane but her characters are always manly and super alpha all the way.

4 Pants Off

Sunday, October 23, 2011

Cumming Up This Week!

So this week is an exciting week. I am revealing the Winners for my Halloween giveaway, and some exciting reviews from books that I love. There will be no Menage Monday this week, because I haven't read any new '3 is never a crowd' books for the past week. I have some ramblings coming up, and that my firends is equally scary as it is exciting, my mind has no filter *wink*.

Monday Oct 24th- Winners of Pants Off Halloween Giveaway!

Aidan & Ethan (Seeking Redemption, #1) 





Tuesday Oct 25th- The Gentleman and the Rogue

Wendesday Oct 26th- Telling the Truth



Thursday Oct 27th- Men of Tokyo: Sudden Bliss


Friday Oct 28th- My Ramblings: Yaoi Crazy
Junjou Romantica = HEAVEN

The weekend posts is still up for debate.

Thursday, October 20, 2011

Blood Moon

Blood Moon by M.J O'Shea
Republica Press
Novella
3 out of 5

Blurb:
There’s something different about Noah….

Zack Parker met his best friend Noah at his lake cabin when they were only five years old. He realized he felt more than friendship for him by the time they were in junior high school. One fateful night when they were eighteen Zack couldn’t take it anymore. Fueled by love and lust and need, he finally kissed Noah like he’d wanted to for years…and Noah kissed him back, returning every drop of Zack’s passion.

The next morning, Noah ended their friendship for what Zack believed was forever.

Now twenty-one, Zack resents being dragged by his guilt-tripping mother every summer back to the lake cabin where every leaf and rock and turn in the road reminds him of Noah and the love he felt for him three long years before. He hates being reminded of what he lost and more than anything he wants his best friend back.

But this year things are different.

Noah has returned, apologetic and more gorgeous than ever. Amazingly, he seems to want Zack as much as Zack wants him. He’s sweet and attentive, sexy enough to make Zack’s thighs quiver, but there’s something not quite right…

What secret is Noah hiding? 


Review:
Blood Moon started out real interesting for me. It had a bit of mystery, sounded dark and sexy, and our main character was pining for his best friend. Therefore, I was really enjoying it, until it became a mush fest wrapped in more mush fest.

With a title like that, I was expecting blood, sex, and hot vampire action. I felt like I was reading about teenagers getting it on for the first time. Zach is back at the family cabin for his vacation, a place he would rather avoid. It brings back memories of his best friend, who was his first love and all that. One night of a hot kiss, and feelings confession he thought he would have spent the rest of his life with his best friend, and then he ups and disappear. Crushed by Noah’s rejection, the memories at the lake aren’t so good anymore. Well this year at the cabin is different, Noah is back and he wants to pick up right where they left off.

It seems that Noah is a vampire hunter (doesn’t it just sound exciting), and a stakeout gone badly leads to the death of his parents, and Noah becoming a vampire. His family is known for their vampire hunting skills, and they kill without asking questions. Imagine if they found out that one of their own was a monster, it would be lights out for Noah. So he hides until he can’t hide anymore, he can’t forget Zach and so this year he must have him.

What happens later is quite predictable. It’s all “I am a vampire but I love you don’t be afraid”, “I will be afraid for five minutes but I love you anyways so I can accept that you are undead”. Sex, lots of talking to get to know each other followed by sex, and meeting all the other things that go bump in the night. Throw in some family drama, a not so shocking moment and vampire turning that you saw coming and you have Blood Moon.


I really expected more angst from this book, I guess it was a romantic story, but I found the writing quite juvenile. I just felt like all the things that could have happened; did. I wanted more excitement, and I really wanted to like Noah and Zach a lot more, I just felt like they were the same character but with different names. I will read the second book in this series and am hoping it’s a lot better.


SideNote- Loved the second book in the series Hunter's Moon.


3 Pants Off

 

Wednesday, October 19, 2011

Puppy Love 2

Puppy Love 2: Building a Family (Puppy Love #2) by Jeff Erno
Fanny Press
Novel
5 out of 5

Blurb:
Matt and Petey are a young gay couple in love. They're a Dom/sub couple. They're an Owner and his pup. In Puppy Love 2, the couple begin to build a life together. The close knit relationship they share with another D/s couple, Alex and Drew, begins to flourish. The four find their lives interwoven with each other, and ultimately the foursome become a family. The tragedies and struggles they go through are remarkable, and the emergence of Petey's sociopathic nemesis Ryan Connors only heightens the drama. Will Matt and Petey's love for one another be strong enough to weather the storms they are forced to face? Will Matt revert to his selfish habits of infidelity and womanizing? Will he demonstrate the maturity that is required to be a responsible Master to his pup? Will Petey ever realize that he has genuine worth, and will he find the confidence within himself to be the hero he was born to be?

Review:
So Puppy Love 2 picks up right where the first one left us, Petey and Matt have just enjoyed  a pleasure filled cruise and they are making there way back home. A quick get together with friends Alex and Drew they begin their journey home, Petey is on a love high and everything just seems perfect. Well this book is one surprise after another, and I will say this all the surprises makes this book a lot better than the first. There is character growth, a more exciting plot, a bigger than wow climax and the sex is hotter than ever.  It’s a tear jerker and you will experience every known emotion in the few hours it takes to read this book; because once you start, you won’t put it down.

As I said before this book started with a reunion of Petey, Matt, Drew and Alex. On the journey home they get caught in a huge pile-up, Petey becomes the hero of the day he is then rewarded by his master. This where your actions leads to consequences becomes apart of the book.  Without giving too much away there is a humiliation scene which is humiliating in a big way. It shows exactly the power Matt wields over Petey, and after it also proves the power Petey wields over Matt. This scene in my opinion is what causes Matt to go on a power trip, the rush of telling one what to do finally goes to his head and he pays for it in a big way.

 The level of maturity in the writing has improved drastically, and the characters have become more multi-dimensional and its freaking hard not to fall in love with them. With Petey he has grown up exponentially, he cries less and even gives a little back talk. He is even more aware of who is and you understand why he was meant to be a submissive and if you pay close attention you see the power he holds. He is a small boy with a big heart, and I was so sad through the second half of the book, because Petey has to suffer a bit to teach his bigger than the world ego master a lesson in humility.

What and who makes this book what it is, is the character of Matt; so much character growth. I have a love/hate relationship with Matt he makes many mistakes but manages to pull himself and everyone out of it. I like to call him the redeemer, he always manages to come back a little more shiny in my eyes. Matt gets a wake up call in a big way, there is something he continually says through out the series that “every action has consequences” and his actions leads to dire consequences. This golden boy gets thrown off his white horse, but it adds more dimension to his character. He becomes more human and you realize the depth of his caring for those around him and the love he has for Petey, and let me tell you he has mad love for his pup.

The writing is just smooth it moves from one crisis to another with wicked fluidity. The relationship dynamic between Petey and Matt is super sexy and sweet, the urgency of their love making was lava hot, and where the first book was them getting to know each other and creating a relationship. PL 2 they know each other very well and they both provide what the other needs to be happy in their relationship, and it’s the best D/s relationship out there. The supporting characters create a nice well rounded story, that fuels the fire and makes our heroes shine. The friendships are a lot stronger and they will be tested but everyone comes out on top. The final pages to this book is so explosive and filled with angst, it was just brilliant.

I could go on forever about how awesome this book is, I could go on about how hot and steamy the sex is ( take my word its effing hot). I could tell you that Petey and Matt are bloody awesome, but its up to you to discover this for yourself. I can say that there is no pee drinking so that’s a plus for people who were avoiding it for that reason. Jeff has done a splendid job on this book and I will forever be a big fan of Matt and his pup. I am very excited for Puppy Love 3 and I just know its gonna be awesome. One of my favourite gay series.


5 Pants Off
Reviewed for Three Dollar Bill Reviews

Tuesday, October 18, 2011

Trifecta

Trifecta by Kate Sherwood
Loose-Id
Novella
3 out of 5

Blurb:
Mark and Alistair think they’re happy with their open relationship -- they can have all the anonymous sex they want, and still come home to each other for love and affection. That changes when they discover that they’ve both hooked up with the same guy, and, worse, that they’re both falling for him.

Tyler is a take-it-as-it-comes type, happy to coast through life on his good looks and charm. He doesn’t have ambitions and doesn’t make plans, but when he finds himself involved with Mark and then Alistair, he starts wishing that he could have something more long-term.

Nobody has any doubt that sex between the three of them would be fantastic, considering how hot things are when there’s only two involved. But can they make it something more? Is the threesome destined to be a scorching memory, or can they find a way to overcome their challenges and hit the trifecta?


Review:
All the ways I was excited to read this one. A book from one of my favourite authors, and about the genre she is excellent at. I was like “bring on the ménage a trois” halfway through the book I was literally in tears of frustration. With all honesty I thought ‘Kate Sherwood did not write this’ there is just no freaking way. I am supposed to be loving the hell out of this book that was shelved as ‘Can’t wait to read and lose my pants’. I just wanted to cry. Please don’t misunderstand Kate is an excellent writer; I just did not love this one.

Mark and Alistair is a couple with an open relationship. Mark is a pilot and is frequently away from home, so it was decided up on that he would sow his wild oats when he is away. Though one condition is very clear, it will only be for sex and both will come home to each other. I totally didn’t mind that, both men were aware of it so it was just apart of the story. Mark who is recently gay, and divorced his wife to finally be truly happy. He is still taking baby steps to living life as a gay man. The journey hasn’t been easy, but he is coping and coming into his own.

When Mark decides to hit up a gay club, looking for a little action. He realized that the club scene isn’t for him and he feels like a fish out of water. The night isn’t a bust, and Mark hooks up with a hot little thing. The sex is mind blasting, but the run in they both have with Alistair isn’t (seems Alistair was away and Mark brought his hook-up home to play). The hot little thing turns out to be Tyler a stable boy/horse trainer (isn’t that just so cliché). When his horse is injured he once again runs into an awkward situation with Alistair yet again. It doesn’t remain awkward and uncomfortable for long and Tyler becomes the centrepiece for both Mark and Alistair.

All right folks, it sounds interesting and exciting, and it sorta is, but my ire lies in the fact that Alistair/Mark become skeevy. They both swore to never mix feelings with sex but throughout the whole book, Tyler becomes an obsession for both men. I thought they were supposed to be in total love with each other, but I never once felt it. All thoughts were on stable boy Tyler. Ahem, Tyler he is a piece of work. He just came on to both men like white on rice, not wanting to cause ‘problems’ but did so at every turn. I could not love him or even like him, the smooth talking f*cker.

I will end this one now, and as you can see all characters are on my chopping block. Even at their HEA, I was cursing them to hell and high-water. Kate is a talent but this book did not sit well in my heart, still love her writing style and I don’t doubt her skill in writing a wicked ménage. If you are a fan, please do pick up a copy of this book; who knows you might love it.



3 Pants Off


Wild Passions

Wild Passions (Anthology) by Various Authors
Storm Moon Press
85,000 words, 195 pages
4 out of 5

Blurb (just as long as the review):
Other worlds, other planes of existence, other places where humans are not the only type of creature to walk and talk. Human-like animals populate the pages of Wild Passions! These are not shifters, but humanoid animals that experience love and lust in their sometimes wild, sometimes civilized worlds.

City of Foxes by Cornelia Grey
Meet Liam, a half-fox in a world where 'urban jungle' isn't a metaphor. When trouble comes in the form of an organized militia looking to experiment, Liam must put his trust where he never expected: in the hands of a human.

Trust Me by Elizabeth Hyder
Koit is a Shterpi, a reptilian alien with a reputation for womanizing. A dare from a friend has Koit changing his target to other men, and he finds that variety really is the spice of life.

Alpha's Pride by S.L. Armstrong & K. Piet
Alec and Nahale are feral-Maith, genetic offshoots from a fantastic race. Under pressure, Alec challenges Nahale for leadership of their clan, threatening to destroy the relationship they'd been building for years.

I Do Like To Be By the Seaside by Wayne Mansfield
Panos only wants to live a normal life, free from the secret that's kept him isolated from others. However, he still needs a roommate, and his attraction to the other man has him wondering if opening up might not be so bad after all.

Opening Worlds by Cari Z.
Ferran is making his last trip away from his home planet of Perelan before duty calls him back. But a rakish spaceship captain tosses a wrench into his finely crafted plans, and his world may never be the same.

Songs for Guitar and French Harp by Angelia Sparrow
Gordon and Arthur work in the freak-show at a traveling carnival, wowing audiences with their half-animal physiques. But when animal constructs are second-class citizens and legal property of others, falling in love is the most dangerous act of all.


Review:
Anthologies for me are not always a great experience. I am always disappointed in a few stories, and wish others were a bit longer. This anthology had the disappointment, but with some good news. I am totally in love with the last two stories in this book; it’s as if they saved the best for last. The whole book deals with interspecies hook-ups, animal/human hybrids, and if I am not stretching too far some social and political issues. It all could just be my interpretation. Therefore, I will break down my review in terms of each story.

City of Foxes by Cornelia Gray
I liked this story, and yet I feel a little disappointed with it. Though it did offer up a nice plot, I wanted it to go a little further.  A dystopian society, filled with animal/human banished in a world of the lowest sort. This story takes a look in their fight, and the rescuing of their humanoid species. I liked Liam he sound spectacular and I am sort of in love with his tail (I have a thing for tails). Its one of those stories that would have been better if it were its own book, just too much going on.

Trust Me by Elizabeth Hyder
In Trust Me, we meet Koit who is a reptilian like alien. He is bit of a womanizer but the women flock to him, because his species are known for their big assets.  When his female friend challenges him to check out his own gender, Koit takes the challenge. The results are eye opening for Koit, and he realizes what he has been missing. His eventual partner is an asshole, but overall his little experiment leads to good things.

Alpha’s Pride by K.Piet & S.L Armstrong
This story was about a power struggle between two males of a fantastic race. What makes it unique is the love that both males have for each other, but pride and power will eventually pull them apart. They both believe in the survival of their tribe, but in the end opposing ideas leads to a fight of power. Its easy to resonate with both Alec and Nahale, they both wanted what was best for their people, and each other. One of my favourites, because I just wanted great things for both characters.

I Do Like To Be By the Seaside by Wayne Mansfield
Panos lives his life isolated from others. He has secret that he never wants anyone to know, but he does need a roommate that comes in the form of Jason. Panos’s turtleneck wearing is suspicious when it’s freaking hot as hell outside, plus whenever Jason offers up to go swimming with him he gets uncomfortable if not irritable. He is definitely hiding something. The truth leads to hot relationship, and a close call. What we do know is that humans can be intrusive and way too curious for their own good. One of my least favourite in the anthology, its was just all too predictable, though I understand why.

Opening Worlds by Cari Z
This was my favourite story in the entire anthology. It just felt right and complete, and made me happy with its conclusion. A captain of a passenger freighter, and the alien from another planet. A human and alien love story in the greatest form. Jason Kim the captain swore never get involved with his passengers, but there is something about Ferran that calls to him. He is willing to break all the rules at a chance at happiness, but there is more to Ferran and will Jason be able to live with losing him. Just really adored this one.

Songs for Guitar and French Harp by Angelia Sparrow
The darkest themed story and my absolute favourite of them all. This one tackles many issues in the form of half-human half-animal beings. The way humans can mistreat others deemed as different. The way stronger individuals take advantage of those that are weaker. This mini story dealt with rape, drugs, and a slew of social issues. Join Arthur and Gordon, in their world as slaves, and a love so innocent and pure yet deemed forbidden. Watch as Arthur would sacrifice everything for the boy he loves. I guarantee you will fall in love with this one.

Overall, a book worth your time. It’s quite colourful and different from anything I have read before. This book reflects on how I view life and its people. I don’t think race, sexual orientation, and social class should stop love but keeping in theme of the book. I don’t think being human and alien should stop the love or being a bear and loving a cat, or just being a man and loving another man. All this and more in Wild Pssions,plus a strong message of love and acceptance hidden in all the stories.

4 Pants Off
Reviewed for Three Dollar Bill Reviews

Monday, October 17, 2011

Pants Off Halloween Giveaway!

Welcome, to my Halloween giveaway. It might be your lucky Halloween to fill up that kindle you might have or order that book you have been dying to read. Enter Here to win one of two $20 Amazon Gift Card!


U Know You Want It!!

Happy Reading And Good Luck







*Please, remember to leave a blog post comment; to keep the contest fair to those who actually did*



Menage Mondays!

Photobucket 

 Welcome to Menage Mondays. Where I share my menage reads of the past week. So last week I read two books dealing with '3 is never a crowd'. Its quite coincidental that I didn't really love them. Don't get me wrong these books were incredibly hot, but in both books the characters weren't all that good. I wanted more from our main characters, but in the end I was disappointed in them. 

The overall story telling was knockout, but I just had some serious issues with the situations in both books. So without further rambling I introduce to you the two books of this weeks Menage Mondays.

Island Heat lives up to its name, but the characters were a bit shallow and sometimes incredibly stupid. I was so frustrated it brought me to tears. The sex was hot, and the menage great. I just didn't like the circumstances that the mange took place under.
3.5 out of 5
3.5/5 PL Scale

Trifecta is by my favourite menage author, but somehow this book lacked all the things I liked about her previous work. Another book that brought on tears of frustration, and a whole lot of "are you f*cking kidding me". Will express more in my review. Check out review for this book on Tuesday!
3 out of 5
3/5 PL Scale

Buy Island Heat Here
Buy Trifecta Here

Sunday, October 16, 2011

Cumming Up This Week!

Menage Monday- This one has two books that grinded my gears


October 17-21st  My blog Giveaway-  So be sure to check it out Pants Off Giveaway The prizes are fan-freaking-tastic.


October 18th Review for Trifecta- A book I liked but absoulutely loathed at the same time.

October 18th  Review for Wild Passions- A book in a league of its own. We meet Aliens, humanoid animals and so much more.


October 19th Review for Puppy Love 2- One of my fave series EVER.

October 20th Review for Blood Moon- I book I enjoyed but didn't really love, the sequel though is awesome.


.

Saturday, October 15, 2011

Nine-Tenths of the Law

Nine Tenths of the Law by L.A Witt
Samhain Publishing
Novella
3 out of 5
3.5/5 PL Scale

Blurb:

Without trust, common ground can get pretty shaky…

“I believe you have something of mine, Zach.”

Zach Owens doesn’t even know who this angry stranger is, let alone what the man is talking about—until he learns what they have in common. Their boyfriend, Jake. Once Jake’s out of the picture, Zach’s apology to Nathan Forrester leads to a long conversation, a kiss, and a chemistry that goes far beyond revenge sex.

Nathan can’t help but fall for the sexy movie theater owner, but it’s a long way from sheet-tearing sex to mutual trust. And a series of “coincidences” that throws Zach into Jake’s company leaves him unconvinced Zach was the complete innocent in their previous love triangle.

Zach can’t seem to make Nathan believe that Jake is up to something. But protesting his innocence isn’t working, and Jake’s carefully orchestrated campaign to destroy their love could leave them both with nothing…



Review:
This book was awfully frustrating to me, at points I was so in love and then I would find myself getting equally pissed off. The subject matter was serious, how is one able to trust again after being cheated on, and can you come to care for the person who was the one your boyfriend was cheating with. Some reader might be appalled at the way both our main characters were quick to jump into bed, I on the other hand found it kind of refreshing, it sort of like sticking it to the man. They both made a sad situation very sexy.

The story begins with Zach in a bar meeting with his boyfriend, he is all happy because he knows its going to be a goodnight. All of a sudden a stranger interrupts and confronts Zach, seems his boyfriend doesn’t only belong to him. Well they both get rid of the cheating bastard who goes by the name of Jake, well Zach is feeling guilty and he decides to explain that he had no idea Jake was seeing someone else. He introduces himself and finds out the name of the other man, Nathan has been with Jake for four years, and that is like a knife to Zach’s chest. With the intent to talk things over, Zach invites Nathan to have a beer, with the betrayal fresh they decide to get back at Jake, with hot sex.

From there things become all sorts of complicated, when a one night stand between two guys who had been hurt by one man, turns to something more. The hooking up part was easy, it’s the feelings that start to happen that makes things hard. Told in first person we experience everything Zach is feeling, his doubts, happiness and his growing feelings for Nathan. From the very first scene between Nathan and Zach we get the idea, that Zach will fall hard. That one hook up leads to many nights together, and it is all about sex, the relationship was built off someone else’s deceit and trust is a hard thing come by especially on Nathan’s side of things. Not the best way to build a relationship, and trying to make things work overshadows every aspect of the book.

The characters are likable, but that all depends on the connection the reader will have with the book. Nathan’s worries became annoying, yet it is understandable the reasons behind his paranoia, he has been cheated on by someone he loved, and he happens to be in a relationship with the person, who was the other man. Very likely there would be lots of confusion. I found their inability to talk really had me grinding my teeth. It’s like they know a conversation is needed but they avoid it for a few hours of hot sex, and then they have days of worries.

Overall it was an alright read for me, the premise had potential but the constant bickering between Zach and Nathan really irked me, and at the end there was never any solutions. They at some point expressed themselves but never to the fullest, a whole lot needed to be said and it just never happened. The ending was just that, an ending, I am still feeling incomplete. I don’t know if this was done purposely, for maybe a sequel I just personally needed a little more. Once again this book is one of those that might be perceived differently from every reader, you have to call this one on your own. I just could not wrap my mind around Zach and Nathan, I liked them but they annoyed me more than anything. I will say this I did like the writing style, and there was some really sexy scenes, to be expected cus all they did was have sex. I am intrigued enough, to go and check out the author's other works.


Reviewed for Three Dollar Bill Reviews