Friday, December 30, 2011

2011 Book Wrap-Up- The Master List!

It has been a somewhat good reading year. I had a lot of disappointments but the books on this list surely makes up for all of them. It is hard for me to pick a top favourite book of 2011, so these are the books I would recommend and gush about. If you haven't read any of these books as yet, I ask you this "what the hell are u waiting for?


 CounterPunch by Aleksandr Voinov

A newly discovered author who also makes my list as fave authors. Loved Counterpunch and if you haven't had the opportunity to read this one in 2011. Then get to it in 2012!








New author with a seriously epic book. This book was just a joy for me to read, I was in all types of love and I can't wait to see what other epicness Damon has for us in 2012.








A surprise hit with one of my fave characters. I loved everything about this book and the author is on my top list. Miss Myles I look forward to 2012!









I loved Catalyst for its dark and romantic theme. Its a true BDSM novel worth all the praises. This one shines bright when it comes to kink.







I loved this book. Offered up the things I love the most, Japanese men and interracial love. All types of fantastic!









Anthology

Weight of A Gun by Various Authors

Winter Warmers by Various Authors
The holidays are over but it's still cold outside, so go read this book!


Mentions:
Bullied by Jeff Erno
The Saturnalia Effect by Violetta Vane & Heidi Belleau 
Between Sinners & Saints by Marie Sexton 


So these books caused a pants losing in 2011, and I am hoping it causes a pants losing for you in 2012.

 

2011 Book Wrap-Up Fave Vamps, Shifters & Menage

Here are my top picks of books Read in 2011 in the following catergories (some books will be mentioned more than once)





1) Blacque/Bleu by Belinda McBride
You will be seeing this book more than once because it's awesmazing!

2) With Abandon by J.L Langley

3) Last Call Europe: Black Wolf by Belinda McBride

4) The Back Stairs by K.C Kendricks




1) Cake by Derekica Snake

2) Blacque/Bleu by Belinda McBride

3) Bound by Blood by Jourdan Lane





1) Dark Horse by Kate Sherwood

2) Telling the Truth by Lee Brazil

3) The Strongest Shape by Tessa Cardenas

4) The Forester by Blaine D. Arden


* Just a reminder, that most of these books were read in 2011 not published in 2011*

Thursday, December 29, 2011

Teacher's Pet

Teacher's Pet by G.A Hauser
Phaze
Novella: 110pages 
Rating: 2 out of 5

Blurb:
When twenty-two year old Jeremy West decided to take a few art classes in addition to his computer engineering degree, he had no idea that one of his professors would knock him off his feet. Professor Peter Foster, a young handsome and talented thirty-four year old professional artist, put Jeremy into heat every time he sat in his lecture hall or attended his sculpture class.

Soon, Jeremy's good looks caught his teacher's eye. Finding a way to meet with him after class, Jeremy learns that the object of his desire is living with a young woman he married on one drunken night in Reno a year ago.

A relationship becomes inevitable as the two find the physical attraction they share too much to deny. They begin a secret affair together until suspicion is aroused and rumors begin to circulate campus. A relationship between them was inevitable, but will Peter make the changes in his life to open the door for this new love? Or will he be simply just another favored student, the teacher's pet?


Review:
As a reader and a reviewer, I am very easy to please. I think in my whole history of reading M/M books I have given a two star rating at least three or four times. As I wrote, I am very easy to please. Therefore, it came as quite a surprise when I found myself disliking everything about Teacher’s Pet (like everything). I am a fan of G.A Hauser, but it seems her books either are a hit or miss for me.

Teachers Pet started out good enough and then turned into a story I cannot even describe without being viciously mean (I won’t be). Jeremy West is a college student getting ready for another year in school. Jeremy is gay, but hasn’t really told anyone, he uses school as a reason to why he doesn’t have a girlfriend. Until he takes some elective courses and the professor, the very male professor captures his attention.

Professor Peter Foster has the attention of all his female students, but it’s the one male student that has caught his eye. Jeremy seems interested and willing, but he is married after all. Even though his wife is a real bitch/gold digger and it’s a marriage he would rather not be apart of. Jeremy is young and attractive and he wants him, so why not have him. It would be a teacher/student relationship, but Peter is willing to risk it for a chance at sweet young Jeremy.

It sounds fabulous and wondrous, and I have been looking forward to reading it so bad. It started out wonderfully but then totally fell apart, because every character is just either too much or not enough. I liked Peter and Jeremy together (somewhat) they have an easy friendship, which I really liked. It’s the relationship aspect of it all that just seems all kinds of phoney. Peter seems to have no clue of what a relationship should be like, and I wanted him to get an opportunity to just be himself and live. He jumps into a relationship with Jeremy, after saying he also rushed into two marriages. Jeremy is believable as the young college student; I am just not in love with his character.

The sex is… I don’t even want to talk about it. Nothing about it felt right, and its coming from one of my favourite tropes (young guy gets poked by older dude) it leaves an ache in my heart. There is not one character I really enjoyed *not one*. I just wanted to love this one but I couldn’t, everything felt very contrived. I am just very disappointed, because it’s a bloody teacher/student hook-up and that’s like my thing. I can’t even bring myself to like it a lot.



2 Pants Off
I Think It's Best We keep Our Pants On!


Wednesday, December 28, 2011

The Forester

The Forester by Blaine D. Arden
Storm Moon Press
Short Novella: 50pages
4.5 out of 5

Blurb:
Kelnaht, a cloud elf, is a truth seeker caught between love and faith. Worse, a murder committed ten days before Solstice reveals an illicit affair between two tree elves he desires more than he can admit: Kelnaht's former lover Ianys, who once betrayed him, and the shunned forester named Taruif, who is not allowed to talk to anyone but The Guide, their spiritual pathfinder. When Taruif turns out to be the only witness for the crime, Kelnaht has to keep Ianys from sacrificing himself and losing his daughter, while at the same time realising he'd gladly sacrifice himself to end Taruif's loneliness.

Review: 
I am in love with this little novella; I never expected the amount of awesmazingness that was packed into such a short story. I just want to type ‘go read this freaking story’ but it’s a review after all and I believe there needs to be a little more substance to it .

The Forester is a great fantasy story, meets mystery and the sexy. Kelnaht is a Truth Seeker, which means it’s his job to gather evidence and find the answers to a crime when it is committed. When a murder is committed in the forest to a young girl, it’s up to Kelnaht to find out the murderer and bring him/her to justice. While trying to find the answers to a murder, Kelnaht also finds the truth to himself, though the answers are not always easy.

Though the mystery of murder and magic is very intriguing within the story. It’s the relationship between Ianys (Kelnahts’s ex-lover) and Taruif (The forester) that holds attention. Taruif is a forest elf that was banished, so he is there but no one is allowed to acknowledge him. To even utter his name would be a great offence.  Kelnaht finds himself wanting the man, and feels betrayed when he finds out that the ex-lover who did not give up anything for him is willing to risk everything for Taruif. Talk about a slap in the face, and to make it a bit more complicated Kelnaht finds himself wanting both men. One is forbidden, and the other has made choices/promises that make their future very bleak. It’s a complicated and beautiful love!

The murder mystery is solved in a form that I thoroughly enjoyed; it even pulled at my heartstrings. Again its the elves that steal the show. Kelnaht, Taruif and Ianys will have you spellbound. Its more than a ménage, these three men belong together. There is no rhyme or reason, it just is. I absolutely adored that about the writing. The question here is, will it work when the odds are against them? Or will Kelnaht forever watch from a distnace? I found myself wanting to cry Kelnaht, because it just felt like someone should.

I really am in love with this story, and I cursed all things when I realized ‘shit, its only fecking 50 pages. What the hell am I gonna do now’. I want more of these gorgeous elves. I want the naked time, but I also want to see how their relationship will evolve. Blaine D. Arden has stolen a piece of my heart with this story, and she can keep it… if she writes more about this magical and awesmazing little world she created.


SideNote- Bask in the glory of that beautiful cover, and enjoy the splendor that is peeping-tom Kelnaht (actual scene from book).


4 1/2 Pants Off

*book provided by publisher*

Tuesday, December 27, 2011

2011 Book Wrap-Up- Butt Virgins or Overall Virgin

This was the year of the butt-virgins. I must have read over forty books with one of the MC’s being a virgin. It’s like a serious wicked goodness when you get a virgin, especially if it’s a very naughty one ^_~ so here are my top fave virgins of books I read in 2011.



1) Blaque/Bleu by Belinda McBride

Virgin: Lucas Blaque
I loved Lucas soo.... much! He was all sexy, all wolf and all virgin. I loved his intensity and the fact that he didn't sleep with a woman to prove anything to himself or to anyone. Lucas is lava hot and I love him. Check out review Here

2) Conquest by S.J Frost
Virgin: Jesse Alexander

I loved this book and I loved Jesse. He is hellaciously hot, but waited for that perfect someone. This virgin is a winner, and makes no apologies about asking for what he wants. Check out review Here

3) Concubine by Jill Knowles
Butt-Virgin: Prince Kael

I wasn't a fan of Kael until close to the ending of the book, but I loved him in the end. Plus man, you gotta love the things that get done to this butt-virgin. Check out review Here


4) Taken by J.C Owens
Butt-Virgin: Landon

I loved this book and I loved Landon. I can't express the awesomeness that is Landon, he truly is a surprise. Check out review Here


5) My Summer of Wes
Virgin: Mal

I loved Mal in this super sweet story about a young and blossoming love. Mal is shy but becomes all types of sexy. You will fall in love with this virgin. Check out review Here



Monday, December 26, 2011

You, Me & Yaoi! Cut #1


So this will be the first post of many posts for You, Me and Yaoi (yes the cheese factor is high). I am so excited to be doing this, reading yaoi is my drug of choice and there's always something to talk about. I am no yaoi expert, but they are fun and the artwork is beautiful. So I hope fans, and others who aren't familiar with the genre stop by and have a look.


                                         
ZE Vol.1 by Yuki Shimizu
4 out of 5
Blurb: 
If Fruits Baskets was done as a yaoi manga, it might look something like this... Raizo has recently moved into a strange mansion upon the death of his last living relative. Given room and board in exchange for taking over the household chores for the half dozen residents, Raizo slowly comes to realize that the house is hiding some pretty dark secrets. Are his housequests more than what they appear? And will his attraction to the lord and master Kon prove hazardous to his health?

Thoughts:
Like 'what the feck'! I don’t know why it took me so long to read this; I should have taken the hint because it’s by the same Mangaka who created one of my all time faves ‘Love Mode’. So I dived into this one with a somewhat high expectation of awesmazingness, and I freaking got it.

Raizo is trying to make it after losing his beloved grandmother. He takes the position as a housekeeper in a house full of some unusual but very attractive men ‘and women’. The job is easy enough, cook, clean, and keep things organized. If only simple meant that there was no man in the strange creepy mask, no crazy talk about curses, and the fact that he just watched someone’s arm get ripped off and put back together again ‘huh’. Talk about an unusual household.

So Raizo is in over his head, seems that everyone is sort of doll and is used to heal the person they belong to. It becomes all sorts of crazy from there, and Raizo is wishing his grandma were there, to keep the crazy away.

I loved this unusual little manga. I found it hilarious and definitely, a series I will be continuing.  I can’t wait to see what becomes of Raizo and his potential mate. Though it feels very light and easy now, I have a feeling things are gonna get tense and interesting. Happy I took a chance on this manga!

4 Pants Off

Get Interested
: Paper People, 100% Natural Pulp, House full of Men.
 

Friday, December 23, 2011

Happy Holidays!!!!

Wishing you all a happy and safe holiday. Eat a lot, drink a lot and lose your pants somewhere; then come back and tell me about it ^_~


Wednesday, December 21, 2011

Strawberries and the Beast

Strawberries and the Beast by April Moone
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 190pages
3 out of 5

Blurb:
Reckless, flamboyant Keigo is bisexual. Blunt, aloof Masaki is straight. Their conflicting personalities make them unlikely friends, but after some careful maneuvering on Keigo’s part and one strawberry-flavored kiss, Masaki gives more of himself to Keigo than he ever thought possible. More than he’s willing to share with his girlfriend. But Masaki’s fear of commitment threatens to shake their rocky relationship to pieces.

Keigo’s new feelings for Masaki are confusing enough even before his on-again, off-again lover, Kaname, blows back into town. Kaname is a manipulative beast, demanding Keigo’s undying fidelity in return for his cruelty, and Keigo’s fragile relationship with Masaki cracks under the weight of his presence. If Keigo really wants to build a life with Masaki, he’ll have to discover the strength to free himself of Kaname and convince Masaki to be with him forever.


Review:
I am a huge fan of yaoi (broken record). It’s something I read often so I know the similarities of plot lines that can be found in each one. I know that when writing yaoi, some authors try to make it their own because it can become quite repetitive and predictable. This book falls under both those categories. There is a strong part of me conditioned to love it on the yaoi way alone, but this was a novel and I just wanted more. It was like reading a schoolboy yaoi manga and I find that I don’t enjoy it as much in a published novel.

Masaki is the loner, the guy that nobody messes with and wants to become friends with. He’s irritable with a bad temper and constantly gets into fights. While having lunch on the roof, Keigo invades his space begins to chatter and over time the two become friend (somewhat). So one day while sharing lunch on the roof Keigo kisses Masaki, and their relationship escalates into something more. Masaki is the straight man with a girlfriend and Keigo is bi-sexual and carries strong feelings for Masaki.

What happens next, any fan of yaoi would be able to tell you. They have sex, Masaki doesn’t hate having sex with Keigo but he is straight and sticking to that orientation. Keigo feelings goes beyond sex and feels that Masaki won’t be able to reciprocate. Just when things are going smoothly in comes the bad ex-boyfriend of Keigo from years past. He is a sadistic and an abusive bastard with a hold over Keigo’s feelings and gets off on torturing him. I think this is where my feelings for the book started to change.

I began to guess every situation from that point on. As a joke I said to a friend of mine who is an avid yaoi reader ‘that all I am waiting on is for one of the characters to go back to their hometown. Get taken care of by an elderly neighbour and be fed watermelon’. Lets just say I was wrong about the watermelon. It just felt like the author read some yaoi mangas and went with writing this story from there. Its hard to distinguish this one from the rest.

I don’t completely dislike the book. The writing is good and the characters are likeable to a certain point. Its just that everything else felt too simplistic and safe. I wanted it to go further and away from all the stereotypes that can be found soemtimes in yaoi. 


SideNote- Love that cover, so very pretty! 

3 Pants Off


Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off


Strawberries and the Beast was provided by netgalley.com and Dreamspinner Press

Tuesday, December 20, 2011

2011 Book Wrap-Up Fave Young Guy Gets Poked by Older Dude

As apart of my 2011 Book Wrap-Up, I will be talking about some of my favourite books under some of my categories/labels. This one is all about my favourite books read in 2011 where the characters have an age gap, ranging from ten years and up. This makes for some very hot reading, the naïve and young man who fall for the very experienced older man (not always). Wowza, its one of my favourite tropes.  So here are some books placed in my YGGPbOD (young guy gets poked by older dude), that I really enjoyed and recommend if you haven’t read them.






1) Slow Bloom by Anah Crow & Dianne Fox

Age difference: 30 years


Slow Bloom will be one of my favourites forever. The age of both men might push some readers to avoid it, but I believe you should give this book a chance. Its wonderfully written, the sex is exciting and plentiful, and you will fall in love with Jack and Ricky. You can check out my review Here for more details. Also I can say there is all types of kinky fun (Mmm kinky fun).

2) Pharaoh's Concubine by Z.A Maxfield
Age Diffrence: 16 years

I loved this one, what else can I say *Its freaking Z.A*. Though there is a bit of a switch in this one, where the young guys does some poking of his own. Its still all about the older and experienced man. Dylan is sweet, but for me William stole the show 'Ay Papi' you just gotta love William. Check out my review Here

3) My Fair Captain by J.L Langley
Age Difference: 10-12 years

I am not 100% sure about the age difference but I know Nate is at least 10 years older. I loved this one, it was *hawt*. The overall package of this book is exciting, its historical meets science-fiction, its sexy who met hot and had a go smoking. Theres a little kinky fun in this one, and all the characters are a joy and more. Check out my review Here

4) Some Kind of Stranger by Katrina Strauss
Age Difference: 11 years

The cover is hot and the book is super cute and its so Yaoi. I am enjoyed this little D/s story and I am looking forward to diving into the rest of the series. Blue and Derek are hot together. Check out my review Here

5) Bound and Determined by Jane Davitt & Alexa Snow
Age Difference: 15 years

I did have my issues with this one, but its a great book. The young guy and older man dynamic is strong in this book, because with age comes experience. For BDSM you need experience, so it still makes my list of faves. This young guy gets poked good ^_~ Check out my review Here

*So join me again. For I am counting down my fave butt-virgins, the list might be slightly longer because this was the year of the butt-virgins my friends. They were everywhere!*



Monday, December 19, 2011

Puppy Love 3

Puppy Love 3: Reawakening (Puppy Love #3) by Jeff Erno
Fanny Press
Novel: 315pages
5 out of 5

Blurb:
Puppy Love is the story of Matt and Petey. Not only do they identify as a Dominant-submissive gay couple, but they also defy many of the stereotypes o...more Puppy Love is the story of Matt and Petey. Not only do they identify as a Dominant-submissive gay couple, but they also defy many of the stereotypes of this type of relationship. They rarely dress in leather; they don’t hang out at sex clubs, and they have little interest in many of the heavy BDSM sexual practices. There is no denying, however, that Matt is the Master and Petey is his pup. Reawakening, book three of the Puppy Love Trilogy, is the muchawaited conclusion to Matt and Petey’s story. After the tragedies of book two, more agony and ecstasy await Matt and Petey—a shooting, an unexpected pregnancy, a big gay wedding, and tons of passionate, kinky sex scenes. Will they find their happily-ever-after ending together, or will Petey’s reawakened independence lead him down another path entirely?

Review:
It is with a sad heart that I write this review but I am also very happy at the same time. My favourite couple’s story has come to an end, and what an ending it was. As I have mentioned before I was a little skeptical about reading the series, and I blame that on my preconceived notions of what a D/s relationship was really like. I have always had an aversion to someone telling another what to do and running his/her life. That was my single story of a D/s relationship. No one is more surprised than I am by how much in love I am with Petey, Matt, Alex and Drew. I now know that, any part of sexuality is never wrong as long as both partners are willing. Let me tell you this series will make you laugh, cry and have supreme bouts of anger at least that was my experience.

The third book in this wonderful series, and man was this one a joy ride. I am talking shocking moments, moments of laughter and oh so much love. We know that Petey and Matt met under bad circumstances, when Petey was getting beats by some punks, and Matt came to his rescue. After that meeting, a special relationship was developed and both provided what the other needed. The first two books we got to see how this relationship was progressing, and even though there were so many ups and downs both Petey and Matt remained true to their characters. Petey and his unwavering loyalty to Matt, and Matt and his very assholish ways. We had to watch Petey suffer and experience pain for his master to learn a lesson in humility. Even through all this, one thing remains clear; this is story about love, pure genuine,I would give up the world for you love.

After the ending of Puppy Love 2, we know that Matt and Petey had a situation that they needed to get through, the third book provides a clear look into this wonderful couple overcoming the odds and remaining a rock in each other’s lives. I can say that there is a happy ending, but there is also some jaw dropping moments and a big WHAT THE F*CK, at this very moment I still cannot understand why. I guess it is the talent of the author remaining true to his characters, or he really is one optimistic person. If I were in their position, I would not be so forgiving. We get to meet the parents and that was not as horrible as I expected, we get to see Matt struggle with his position as a Dom, not necessarily a struggle but his more stern ways are put to the test.

The friendships are just pure wonderful, for all the things that Alex, Matt Petey and Drew have been through you would think that they would hate each other. No way is that an issue, all four remain loyal to each other and I strongly believe without the presence of Alex and Drew there would be no Matt and his pup.  They are like the pieces to their puzzles they make them fit. I love Drew and he is just a brave and truly unique friend. Its time for my favourite part, the wonderful sex. Even though it is not in abundance, there are some breakthrough moments, like Matt giving oral, talk about knocking my socks off. I died all kinds of death when I read that and if I were a dude I would have been all kinds of hard. There is also a bit of pain in this book, and it includes a new friend of the paddle. I am talking red butt cheeks and crying, mmmmm delicious. Never thought I would be one to enjoy the pleasures of pain, then again never thought I would enjoy reading about a D/s relationship. This book was just all kinds of good y’all.

Told in first person, we get to experience all the pains and joy of our Petey pup. The book moves quite well as to be expected of Jeff, I will be a fan of the author for a while to come. I am just a huge fan of love conquers all and beautiful boys, and Puppy Love got beauty. I am very happy with how the series has ended and I am sure you will be also. I was a little scared at one point when I thought Matt was going soft, but he hits us with his I am so awesome and I realize no need to worry asshole for life and I love him (A lot). As you can probably tell it was worth five stars and more, might not be your cup of tea but it says this, when it comes to sexuality nothing is ever wrong when you are happy. I love my boys!


5 Pants Off

Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

Sunday, December 18, 2011

Whats Happening This Week!

Coming This Week
I am genuinely excited about this week. I have a few reviews, introducing a new post segment, and I will be sharing my fave Young Guy Gets Poked By Older Dude in books I read this year as apart of my 2011 Book Wrap-Up. So here's what will be causing pants losing this week.


Monday- Review for Puppy Love 3 by Jeff Erno (I love this series, one of my all time faves)

Tuesday- My fave young guys that get some serious loving from their older and sexy partners.

Wednesday- Review for Strawberries and the Beast by April Moone (I hope I don't come off too mean)

Thursday- I am doing something new that I will be calling You, Me and Yaoi (cheesy I know). I read a lot of Yaoi Mangas, so why the hell am I not sharing my thoughts on them. Its gonna be super fun. You, Me and Yaoi will happen every two weeks or so.

Friday- Review for The Forester by Blaine D. Arden.

The Weekend- I am just gonna shoot the shit. No clue what will happen I might post something (no promises).

Friday, December 16, 2011

The Saturnalia Effect


The Saturnalia Effect by Heidi Belleau & Violetta Vane
Short Novella: 52pages
4 out of 5

Blurb:
Troy Khoury is serving a life sentence in Westgate prison for a robbery gone wrong. He just wants to keep his head down and do his time, but he runs afoul of an old-timer named Franchetti. Franchetti offers Troy a simple choice: kill fellow inmate Daniel Amato by Christmas in exchange for protection, or be tortured and raped to death by Franchetti's heavy, Pliers. Troy's no killer, though, and Daniel is as gentle and calm as can be. But a prison is a small place, and time is running out. Troy must decide how much he's willing to sacrifice before the choice is taken from him.
Review:
I spent hours in complete *ponder* over this novella. I don’t know if I will get this review right, but I will express why this unusual and deeply intense story is worth being read. I expected there to be the dark, because what else can you find in prison right? I expected a lot rape, violence of the worst kind, and some hope that this book would end happily. I was proven wrong in two out of three of them.

Troy Khoury is serving life in prison for a crime that isn’t even worth that much. That is what happens when a cop is killed and you were somehow involved. He is to suffer for his twin’s wrongdoing and the problem is his other half isn’t even there to serve the time with him. So he is in the worst possible place without the one person who made him whole. Troy is a bit on the pretty side, and he is fresh meat so the inmates are gunning for his ass (quite literally). When Troy is ordered to kill someone, he has decisions to make, either take someone’s life or become whore to the worst sort of men. Killing isn’t his MO but survival is.

His target Daniel is attractive, and luring him in with sex will not be the hard part because Troy finds himself attracted to the man. Its when Daniel starts to become more than a target, is where it gets hard. Their meeting is anticlimactic but it’s when they get together in the shower that I fizzled and burned in the chair I was reading in. My thoughts (shit this scene is hot and man it’s in the prison showers). So lets just say all the romantic shit ceases to exist in this book.  Troy is second guessing himself wondering if he has the guts to kill a man he might care for, but somehow his own life seems more important.
 

This story is only 50 pages long and there is a completely novel length of things to think about. Like Saturnalia a time celebrated just before Christmas, a time for lawlessness and opportunity to have something more if only for a time (basically a time to switch things up). I could believe in Saturnalia or I could question Troy’s mental stability after being incarcerated. He is a lonely kid who has to kill to survive in prison; he lost someone very close to him and has to spend the rest of his life in prison. Living in ones mind where there are, ‘pretty things’ is not so bad.

This is a book you will think about, and I guess the authors have done their job. I thought I got a neatly wrapped HEA, and I would have been happy with it. Though I would have just marked it off as *just another story*. Then it surprises you with a WTF moment, and you know it’s not just another story. Whether you love it or hate it. The illusion of a happily ever after is there but in the end it’s just that an illusion (maybe). What could possibly be a good outcome for two men who will live the rest of their lives behind bars. There is no light at the end of the tunnel for Daniel and Troy, no matter how much you wish otherwise. This makes the reading experience all that much harder, because you come to care for the characters. It’s a grim story but beautiful in its own way.
 
Overall, I really liked the story and the characters and though I want happiness for them. The reality is their might not be any, but at least they have each other (in a sense). It’s dark but offers some romantic and a little sweet. Its sexy in a straight-up push you against the wall and take what I want sort of way. Its many things but its what you the reader makes of it.  Every moment in this story could have been a fantasy of a scared and messed up boy, but what it makes you feel is entirely your own.

SideNote- As a cover slut, this one just makes me super happy *gawds I love it* 
4 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off


 

*book provided by publisher*

Thursday, December 15, 2011

Coming Soon: My Year End Book Wrap-Up


So this year has been a somewhat great reading year for me. There were a few books that blew me out of the water, and others that left me completely disappointed. Therefore, I will be sharing my top fave books in some of my outrageous categories. It would be completely hard for me to pick one book I loved above all else this year *freaking impossible*. To avoid me doing the impossible, I will be picking my top books from some of the crazy labels I put each book I read in and the regular ones.

So from next week and on I will be picking my top books (amount will vary) of 2011 from each of these categories.

Butt Virgins or Overall Virgin

Young Guy Get Poked by Older Dude

Gay Wolves-Shifters

Best Vampires

Tie Me Up and Use Me aka BDSM


Three is Never A Crowd (Ménage)


My Fave Books of 2011




* Be sure to stop by and see what books caused a pants losing for me in 2011*

Wednesday, December 14, 2011

The Closer You Get

The Closer You Get (The Distance Between Us, #2) by L.A Witt
Samhain Publishing
Novel: 163pages
4 out of 5

Blurb:
The virgin isn’t the only one with something to lose...
Self-described manwhore Kieran Frost is loving the single life. Two years after moving to Seattle, he still has his friends with benefits, Rhett and Ethan, plus a never-ending supply of gorgeous, available men wandering through the bar where he works. A relationship? Spare him the drama and heartbreak. He’s got no complaints about his unattached lifestyle.

When Rhett’s daughter introduces him to newly-out-of-the-closet Alex Corbin, Kieran’s interest perks up. After all, the quiet ones are always the freaks in bed. But Alex isn’t just shy and reserved. He’s a virgin in every sense of the word, having never even kissed anyone else.


Kieran is no one’s teacher, and his first instinct is to run like hell in the other direction. But his conscience won’t let him throw the naïve kid to the wolves for someone else to take advantage of. The plan is to introduce Alex to his own sexuality, pull him out of his shell, then go their separate ways.

It’s the perfect, foolproof plan…assuming no one falls in love.


Warning: This sequel to The Distance Between Us contains a curious virgin, a shameless slut, a trip to a sex shop, and one stubborn heart. Oh, and a dildo.

Review: 

I will start by saying that Kiernan was not a fave character of mine. Nothing to do with him being a self-proclaimed slut, and in a somewhat relationship with Rhett&Ethan (read first book). My dislike came from, he got terribly upset when he figured out he was being used by both men (no shit Sherlock). I just couldn’t wrap my mind around how he thought it was all about him when it came to the relationship he shared with both men. Moving on, because this review is not about the first book. I am not the type to read books in a series back-to-back, but I felt the urge to this time. I can say folks I am not disappointed.

So Kiernan ‘the slut’ is a nice guy, he makes no apologies about who is and what he likes to do. He doesn’t do relationships but he can handle the casual hook-up. He lives a life of sex and fun, and it’s not necessarily a bad thing. He still does the ménage thing with both Rhett and Ethan and it seems to be on solid ground.  You can tell that all three men are friends. When Sabrina the daughter of Rhett asks Kiernan for a favour, he blows off a night of hot sex with her father to be guide to a recently out gay kid. The upside is that Alex is gorgeous, and Kiernan is expecting his hot night of sex.

Well Alex comes with a few surprises. His complete lack of sexual experience, and his shy and sweet personality. Definitely not what Kiernan is use to but he is willing to give it a try. Kiernan fears he might be the wrong person to explore things with Alex, never wanting to be the person who introduces anyone to sex.  Both men set the rule that it’s all about sex, and nothing more will ever come of it. Kiernan fears that no one else will take the time to make it good for Alex, and he knows personally what its like to go into something and being hurt.  He becomes teacher to a shy boy with the gorgeous eyes and a mouth made for cocksucking (yep I just wrote that).

What unfolds is pure awesmazingness. I am a fan of Kiernan’s honesty, he makes no apologies for who he is and doesn’t try to be someone he’s not. Alex gets the genuine Kiernan. Alex is so believable in his innocence and shyness, yet so very eager to learn. He’s a lost boy on the road to self-discovery and he found the right man to help him along. I loved finding out about Kiernan and why he doesn’t trust relationships, I would have felt the same if I were him. The sex was written wonderfully with the right amount of pacing and when it happened ‘it happened’.

I am happy with this offering by L.A, she wrote a beautiful story about a slut and his virgin. How finding the right person to love can change your outlook on many things. I am glad Kiernan got his story cus I would have disliked him to the end. He is everything you never get to see in the first book. He is sweet, caring, and offers so much more than ‘I am a great lay’. I loved him and Alex together they deserve their happiness and so much more. I recommend this read, it will cause a pants losing and leave candy cane feelings in your heart.


SideNote- I recommend reading the first book so you can fall in love with Kiernan in this book. Check it out HERE
 


4 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

 

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

The Hired Man

The Hired Man by Jan Irving
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 274pages
4.5 out of 5

Blurb:
Reverend Ian Kenyon knows the harsh sting of life and how a man can suffer a loss of faith. The death of his wife and newborn son shook him to his foundations, and he's been drifting ever since. Bryn Morgan has returned home from prison to the only family he has, an abusive father who abandoned him to the law when Bryn was unjustly accused of rape. Still poor, lost, and shunned, Bryn searches for work, any work that will allow him to survive.

Reluctantly moved by Bryn's plight, Ian hires the young man to work on his farm despite Bryn's prickly, defensive nature. Soon Ian fears his growing feelings of grace and compassion might be something else, something more... heated. Whatever the cause, he knows they are impossible to pursue, because Heaven only knows what would happen if a man of God began to have forbidden feelings for his hired man.


Review:
What can I say I loved it. Jan Irving is now on my automatic buy list, liked her work from when I read The Janitor and this one was no disappointment. My first historical M/M loving, and that just makes it all the more enjoyable. Lets just say I will be reading this genre in the future.

Reverend Ian Kenyon is having it hard, slowly drifting through life without actually seeing it. Suffering years after from the loss of his wife and young son, he feels like an imposter going around and preaching the word of God to his townfolks, when he has lost his faith. How horrible is that he has lived to serve him and in the end all that he loved was taken away. He has lost his faith and sees no way that he will redeem it. Until Bryn Morgan returns to town and he finds him sitting on his doorstep.

Bryn knows what a hard life is, he has lived it. Growing up with an abusive father, dirt poor, the town thinking he's trash and to later be charged with a crime he did not commit. After spending four years in prison he is back and just as lonely and unwanted as when he left. He thinks of one person that might be able to help him, and thats the Reverend. What he never expected was to find complete acceptance and love with the man.

Man this book was a beautiful romance, so sweet and yet laced with pain. You get a glimpse of life for Bryn when he was in prison, and a person who had to face something like that should be covered and cloaked in bitterness; yet Bryn is compassionate and able to see the beauty in everything. By no way is he a pushover, but a fighter who just wants to be loved. What Ian suffered broke my damn heart, for him to get through that speaks highly of his character. He is suffering, but he is also caring and has a deeply rooted dominant and protective nature. The chemistry between both Ian and Bryn was just downright perfection.
Yet as sweet as it was both characters had a lot to overcome, and had to reach an acceptance for their budding relationship.

The writing was a little hard to understand at times, I dont know if it was faulty editing or it was just the speak at the time. That was one of the small problems with the book, the other was just some unusual encounters between the lead male characters and other people in the book. I felt that all those little interludes was unnecessary and instead of adding drama it took away from the book. Otherwise a solid read, with interesting characters and sexy dialogue which I truly enjoyed. The love scenes were few and not overly explicit but I find that made them extra sexy. This Hired Man was a good investment. 

 
4 1/2 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

Sunday, December 11, 2011

Winter Warmers


Winter Warmers by Various Authors
Anthology: 148pages
4.5 out of 5

Blurb:
Baby, it’s cold outside! Beat the chill with Winter Warmers – a seasonal anthology

Mulled wine. Butterscotch kisses. Hideous sweaters. Candy at the beach, or a trip to a sex shop in Amsterdam. And the man of your dreams, wrapped around you…

Winter warmers come in many shapes and sizes, from the tongue-in-cheek to the hot-as-hell. Enjoy a quintet of heart-warming tales of men loving men from Clare London, Chrissy Munder, JL Merrow, Josephine Myles, and Lou Harper that are guaranteed to leave you with a smile on your face.

One thing’s for sure—it’s going to be a red-hot Christmas!


Review:
I am so happy I read this book, even though anthologies are my least fave to read. Well I have no complaints, I loved this book every freaking story had me grinning, and getting feelings in my heart. A perfect Christmas read, about the joys of the holiday. It could have been all ‘happy love is all we need’ but each story had a little something more. Every story has a uniqueness that stand on its own. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this one.

Lucky Dip by Clare London
We find Andrew Jackson a teacher preparing for the school’s annual Christmas party. The stress is high and the kids are rowdy but he can’t disappoint them. When he is paired with his ex-boyfriend Gregg who dumped him a few weeks before. Andrew is feeling like things can’t get any worse. When both men get locked in a storage closet they both have to face the feelings they still have for each other, and Gregg has some grovelling to do.

This story was super cute. I loved the kids and Andrew is this clumsy and sweet man. Greg seems like a go-getter, all suave and charming. I really liked the theme of this one, lovers finding their way back to each other over the holidays. It’s definitely the tamest story when it comes to sex, but what it lacks in hot sure makes it up in cute.

Butterscotch Kisses by Chrissy Munder
Mathew Morrison is the shy guy, not as outgoing as he wants to be. He is determined over the holidays to get over his fear of heights. He feels that he can make the climb to the top of the hill and kick fear in its butt he will finally get the confidence he lacks. A series of attempts prove unsuccessful, but the 'cute ticket guy' surely lifts his spirits. Mathew decides to try his fear conquering on one of the coldest and its cute ticket guy to the rescue.

I enjoyed Mathew. He is such an endearing character, he will so definitely capture you heart. I wanted him to have everything he wanted. His determination might even have given him a chance at love. This story was super sweet.

Wintertide by Lou Harper
Two men have a meeting at a Santa Monica Pier just weeks before Christmas. Jem a young man finding his way in the world, and Oscar the older man slowly making his way from losing his partner of many years. Their meeting leads to a night of hot sex, and a little misunderstanding on Jem’s part that might keep them apart. This novella stood out to me, it has a small paranormal aspect to it but nothing that is too unbelievable. I loved that Oscar’s POV was included, it made the characters richer and in the end, you wanted them to both find happiness and love with each other. This story made me sad and happy at the same.

When In Amsterdam by Josephine Myles
I am seriously jonesing for this one. I loved this sexy little Christmas kink story. Brandon is visiting Amsterdam with his new boyfriend Jos for their Sinterklass celebration. It’s a new and budding relationship but you can tell that both men feel strongly for each other. There is the shyness from Brandon who feels that he might not be able to offer what Jos needs sexually, but he blows that out the water.

It is…. I can’t even find the words, but it’s my absolute favourite in the entire anthology. I loved the diversity with which you always find in Josephine’s writing. I love the interracial love, just makes the story so much more.
I am just in love with this one, an awesmazing job.

A Pint of Beer, a Bag of Chips and Thou by J.L Merrow
Last but certainly not least is my second fave short in the anthology. It’s quirky and its fun and I love the witches. Liam is the only man in a house full of women, making it by playing the sax at King’s Cross-station. There is a man who always captures his interest, but can never find the opportunity to make a move. When his mom and Aunt’s give him some crazy Christmas gifts, Liam might actually land the man he has had his eye on.

This was super cute and funny, with a mix of sexy. I loved all the quirky characters and the playful dialogue, definitely a winner by J.L Merrow. It was a joy to read.

Overall, this anthology was super awesome. There is a story in here for every reader. Each one offers its own unique writing style and though the theme here is all about Christmas, none of the stories can be compared to each other. It’s the erotic, meets the sweet and in comes the sexy. This one caused a whole lot of pants losing, and I am still at this moment searching for them. It will warm your heart and have you burning in other places. Fantastic!



4 1/2 Pants Off