Thursday, January 31, 2013

And The Winners Are...




Storm Moon Press Giveaways

Midia (Kelly Rand Giveaway)

Nancy ( $25 Gift Card)

~Woohoo, Congrats to the winners, hope you guys have some happy reading. Thank You to all who entered and commented.~

Dreamspinner Press: A Very Special Sale


A few days ago, Becky from mrsconditreadsbooks.com sent us this e-mail:

"We've created our first Special Event for this book. One of our reviewers has a teenage son who was assigned by his teacher a year-long project to study something of concern to society. He chose gay marriage. Part of this assignment was to read a novel on the topic. As you can imagine, his mother had quite a time finding an age-appropriate novel that she felt comfortable letting him read, but another author recommended The British Devil and both of them enjoyed it very much.

I've posted the mother's comments as well as the teenager's review. It does contain some spoilers but that was part of his assignment so we put a warning on the review. We are donating $50 to the It Gets Better Project in honor of this young man's hard work, and are encouraging others to donate to the gay rights cause of their choice.



We at DSP are extremely humbled and honored that one of our books was chosen for this cause. That is why we are offering 30% off both the e-book and paperback of The British Devil from Jan 31- Feb 3 to encourage people to read it for themselves. All the royalties from this special sale will be donated to the It Gets Better Project.

We want to thank Matthew and mrsconditreadsbooks.com for this special event.

The DSP Team.


Review: The Lightning Struck Tower by Theo Fenraven

The Lightning Struck Tower (Precog in Peril #3) by Theo Fenraven
Voodoo Lily Press
Novella: 120pgs
3.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
Gray Vecello and Cooper Key are back in the last book in the Precog in Peril series. Snatched by PsiOps, a covert arm of the government, they’re offered training in exchange for their psionic help. Will they take the deal, and if they don’t, what will PsiOps do to them?

Gray and Cooper meet new friends and enemies in this final chapter of the trilogy. The story takes the reader from New York City to Ely, Minnesota, and back to Gray and Cooper’s marina in Red Wing, where they will face the ultimate test of their powers. Someone will live… and someone will die.



Review:
The final book in the Precog in Peril series, and I am happy to report that I quite enjoyed it. Truthfully, the final two books didn't capture me like the first book in the series, but overall they were all pretty enjoyable. The Lightning Struck Tower brought everything to a neat close and left all the characters in a good place.

The Rundown
Gray Vecello inherited a house boat from his grandfather after he was killed, which comes a surprise because Gray was never close with his granddads. He picks up and leaves his job to move in on the houseboat, but the houseboat came with his own tenant. Cooper lived on the boat with his granddad, and with nowhere else to go he stayed on. The two men hit off, and sparks fly. Too bad there are psychic abilities to deal with, and the fact that someone is trying to kill them, and recruit them to a PsiOps ninja team.

Present
This book picks up right after where the second ended, when Gray and Cooper are kidnapped while vacationing in New York. Someone wants to use Gray's power as a Precog to something that seems very impossible, and on the other side there’s a government agency willing to give anything to train him and Cooper to their full potential. Let's just say that Gray and Coop have their hands full, and will go with the obvious choice. Joining PsiOps government program and getting trained.

With reluctance they decide to join, but it’s easier just accepting or forever spend their life running or trying not to die. Having to leave their houseboat is the hardest part, but with new surroundings there is the start of new beginnings and friendships they never expected. That doesn't mean they're out of the wood yet, there is still some crazy wanting to use Gray for his power and is willing to kill to get it done.

Alright, I did like this one a little more than the last book but I had a hard time with believing the whole story. What started out as interesting became sort of fantastical and over the top. Along the way I also started to not like Gray and Cooper very much (especially Gray). His personality kept switching up, from caring, to obnoxious, to caring again so I have mixed feelings about him. Seems like all he cared about was money, then that would switch to something else, and then he loved Coop so much, then doubted about being happy in the relationship (frustrating).

What I enjoyed in this book was the introduction of a Trans* character. There's books featuring Tran* character as the lead, but I liked that Wendy was a friend and apart of the story. I wish there was more books like that.

Should You Read It? It’s a light fun series, and could be enjoyed in a few days. As I said, book 2&3 weren't as awesome as the first book for me but I still found it all in its entirety an entertaining read. I would give the entire series 3.75, very entertaining and fast paced.

3.5 Pants Off


You, Me, & Yaoi #8: You Make My Head Spin by Kazuhiko Mishima

by Kazuhiko Mishima
4 Pants Off

Blurb: Shindo has just transferred into an extremely individualistic school. The ideal honor student, Shindo appears to sparkle with his perfect poise and presence. Yosuke, on the other hand, is the school delinquent preferring to spend his time hanging out on the school roof. But, Yosuke has a dark secret. The stereotypical tsundere, he may appear hostile on the outside, but his gruff hides a very sensitive interior - an interior that Shindo is determined to uncover!



4 Pants Off

Thoughts: I first read this manga online, but with the awesome prices from Yaoi Club, I knew I had to get my own copy. I am such a fan of high school romances in yaoi, its always cute, and with so much unnecessary angst that always makes me smile. You Make My Head Spin offers up just that.

Yosuke who thinks he’s all big and bad and Shindo who just comes in with his honesty and captures Yosuke’s heart. Throw in a couple crazy friends, a paranoid Yosuke (thinks someone’s trying to steal his man) and it’s just a down right good time.

It’s a light fun read with the craziness that can found in yaoi, and most of all it will make you smile. This manga would be perfect for beginner Yaoi readers, very light with the right amount of tenderness.

SideNote- Also comes with a bonus story


Get Interested


So Cute!

Review: Black Magic by Megan Derr

Black Magic by Megan Derr
Less Than 3 Press
Novel: 265pgs
4.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
When High Paladin Sorin discovers the brutally dismembered body of his cousin Alfrey, a much loved priest in the royal palace, he is left baffled as to who would do so terrible a thing to so good a man. But to find the answer to that question, he must cooperate with one of the highly despised necromancers, men who practice black magic, sleep in graveyards and feed upon souls …

The necromancer Koray, however, is far from what he expected. He is beautiful, stubborn, and possessed of a tongue sharp enough to cut down even the High Paladin himself. Koray is also possessed of a strength like nothing Sorin has ever encountered, and the power of the Goddess herself.

It does not take them long to realize that solving a murder is the easiest challenge they must face, and in order to save a kingdom they must first unravel centuries of lies and misunderstandings.


Review:
Megan Derr has done it again, and I am always amazed when I read one of her books. Black Magic pulled me in from the very beginning, and the author manages to bring another world to life with characters that are unforgettable.

Reviewing a Megan Derr book is always a challenge for me, because there is so much awesome happening that I want to talk about, but then I don't want to give spoilers and ruin the overall enjoyment of the book. Because a fantasy book by this author, the reader should be in the dark when starting. I am going to go ahead and call this one an epic adventure, with sweeping beautiful romances. The blurb gives the impression that it might go one way, but reading it was a completely different experience. The book is divided in three parts, all connected and all dealing with three romances. The romance plays the key role in unlocking mysteries and bringing together a people long divided by hate and miscommunication.

The story consists of Paladins, which are like knights blessed with their goddesses gifts. There is the High Paladin which is Sorin, and he is both ruler and there for guidance. Then there is the High Priest whom speaks directly to Goddess, and the Priests who have the healing energies. The first part of the story deals with Sorin discovering the death of his close friend and priest Alfrey, and that of High Priest. In comes Koray a necromancer whose help is needed, but Sorin believes Koray to be a practitioner of dark magic, but his goddess is saying that with Koray is where the answer lies. Part 2 and 3 brings in discovering of an Alchemist and Warlock and together they are powerful. Now they must catch a villain that is determined to destroy and kill.

The story is filled with magic both good and bad, and the set up of it all coming together is another area in which the author shines. Plot lines all intricately woven, and characters that all manage play a role somehow. Its non-stop entertainment filled with action, and delightful bickering between the MCs. Sorin, Koray, Cerant, Niekirk, Emel, and Brekk will capture your heart.

My only beef is that I wished for Brekk to remain looking like a demon. I was feeling all black skin, wings, and tail *sigh*. Then he went back to being human, not ordinary but still looking all human. I was like NOOO000oooo!

Should You Read It? Yes, all fans of Megan Derr must jump on this one. For its entire dark theme it mostly a romance and I just freaking loved it. I would love more from this world, but if there isn't more I am very satisfied with how it ended and where the couples are in their relationship. Another winning read, by the fab Miss Derr.

4.5 Pants Off

Wednesday, January 30, 2013

Review: Secret Chemistry by Chris T. Kat

Reviewed by Fehu
Secret Chemistry (Shifters #1) by Chris T. Kat
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 220pgs
3 Pants Off

Blurb:
Not all werewolf societies are created equal. The one Tim Evans grew up in detests those not of “pure blood”—so when Tim discovers his mate is Jay, a male fox-wolf hybrid ten years his junior, it shocks him, to say the least. Too young to claim his mate and too weak to protect him from the rest of the pack, Tim fears for Jay’s life. When a human gets hold of Jay, Tim believes he has lost him forever.

The next eighteen years are hell. Tim devotes his life to his family and running their stable, but anger and depression threaten to consume him. Then fate brings Jay back into his life. Tim knows Jay feels the same attraction he does—mates always do. So why won’t Jay act on it?


Review:
So I choose this one because I liked the cover, yes I regretted doing so in the past, and no I haven't learned from past experience. :)

Well the first part and in this case I am dividing the book into the past and present. Past is the first part of the book and that was actually pretty good! Tim is one of the Alphas sons but of course prejudice is everywhere and when fox-hybrid cubs are found in their pack territory the situation in the pack escalates. At the same time Tim who is thirteen, is pulled away from his siblings by a strange, alluring scent. It turns out the scent belongs to a male fox-hybrid Jay, who is 10 years Tim junior and apparently Tim’s mate. On the run from one of his packs fractions, it's upon Tim to rescue his mate, but unfortunately things don't go as planned and the two kids are separated after their brief time together. The humans take away Tim's mate, while Tim is in his wolf form and is unable to do anything against it.

Tim and Jay are really cute together, Tim being protective and Jay playful not fully aware of the danger he was facing. I was sad to see the boys torn apart. Still that was a very promising beginning, well written, story flows nicely and I liked the two main protagonists. All was well.

Part 2 - Present: 18 years have past

After Tim returned home he had some nasty surprises waiting for him, for one his Alpha was mad at him for disobeying an order from his mother and going off on his own. Second his mother was badly hurt and lost her ability to walk. Third, while being a natural Alpha this role has been denied to him, due his reckless actions and now his father feels a lot of resentment against hybrids, since if it wasn't for them the whole incident would not have happened.

Tim works for his parents and is rather withdrawn and sad by the loss of his mate. He is also aware that the prejudices are still there and that people would still want to hurt his mate even if he did find him again. Tim mostly despairs’ of finding his mate until a new customer comes to buy one of their horses for his son. Mhm, surprise it's Jay! My biggest surprise was what happened next. Tim can barely control himself, Jay as well, and after 18 years not seeing each other, they have sex the second they can get away from their parents. Yup, on the same day they met up again and there is shifter sex as well to look forward to! Was that my surprise? Nope, it wasn't even the somewhat painful sounding sex scene. They actually say that they have fallen in love with each other, after well maybe hours of seeing each other again and it's not like they were the best of buddies as children.

Brief argument and the father comes around, mother is healed by Jay, who is licking her in his fox form (still sounds kind of gross to me but oh well). After a promising start, instant lust and love ruined the good premise.

Should you read this story? Ok, the first part was quite good and I liked the supporting characters, like Tim's brother Robin. I'm interested in his story now, but afraid that it will go down the same way as Tim's story. The world building and the whole shifter society is interesting, so there was that. If you like instant love stories, with drama that reminds you of a soap opera, then this is just the book for you and of course if you are like me, are drawn to cute cover art.

3 Pants Off

Fan-Art Segment: Pants Losing Art (Kumagorochan)

~ I am really excited about PORs first ever Art post *Squee* and this artist is incredible  First I wanna thank Kumagorochan for giving me the opportunity to post his work on my blog. Will give more details at the end of the post.~



Teen Wolf: Calming Sounds of Nature

Teen Wolf: Run With The Wolves



















Supernatural: H8






















Supernatural



*I love the very first STEREK drawing so much, and all the other art is just so fantastic. Kumagorochan has a wide variety of art, and you can check out his stuff on deviantArt (Thor, Loki, Sherlock, etc). Once again thanks to Kuma for letting me pimp his stuff on POR. Also, if this makes you wanna read some fanfic, check out Fanfiction Friday. *

Sunday, January 27, 2013

Review: 40 Souls to Keep by Libby Drew

40 Souls To Keep by Libby Drew
Carina Press
Novel: 253pgs
3.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
Seven years ago, Jase awoke with the mystical power to heal people—and no memory of his past. The only clue to his identity is the number forty tattooed on his arm. Driven by a mission he doesn't understand, Jase follows his visions to those he's meant to save. He is convinced that the fortieth person he's drawn to—a little girl named Macy Pearl—is the key to finally learning the truth...

Social worker Lucas Jacobson has made a promise to protect Macy, orphaned when her parents were brutally murdered. So when Jase shows up in Naples claiming he's there to heal the child, Lucas is wary, despite his attraction to the enigmatic stranger.

Then Macy is abducted, and Lucas has no choice but to trust in Jase. Scouring the city from its glitzy resorts to its seedy underbelly only deepens the mystery—and draws the two men closer. But Jase is certain of one thing: if Macy dies, a dark fate awaits them all.


Review:
This is going to be one of those books that you really love or sort of hate; I am somewhat stuck in the middle. The idea behind the book is somewhat brilliant, and the writing is excellent, I am just very dissatisfied with how it all came together, even though it does have the power to keep you from stop reading. A great effort by Libby Drew, but by the end I kind of stopped caring for the MCs.

A man awakes in a park with no recollection of how he got there, or who he is. A young boy is also at the park with his grandmother and they care enough to take him home and feed him. They pick the name Jase for him, and Jase struggles with the fact that he can’t remember anything about himself. What he does discover is that he has a tattoo (a number 40) and he has the power to heal. That little part comes a surprise but Jase knows what he must do, and that tattoo is about to become the bane to his existence.

Lucas Jacobson is with Child Protective Services, and he’s just been called to his worst case yet. Seems the little girl he’s supposed to pick up might have witnessed the murder of her parents. The fact that they lived in poverty and might be surrounded by gators is another sad fact to add to the equation. Lucas Knows one thing, he’s willing to protect the little girl Macy with all he has, and that is exactly what he has to do.

7 years later Jase has saved many a souls and he is down to his last one a little girl called Macy, and then it will all be over and he can go back to the life he forgot. However, Lucas Jacobson wasn’t supposed to be a part of package but he seems to Macy’s protector. The men are thrust into keeping Macy alive while trying to figure out who’s after her, and realizing not everything is, as it seems.

As I said, the idea behind the book is great. The setting is so rich I was instantly caught up in what the author created, from the lavish setting of the rich, to that of the poorest of poor. It was like one giant awesome road trip (with an ominous countdown). That was my fave part of the entire book, them driving around and the description of the scenery. That part is very well done. It’s another one of those books where it’s longer than it needed to be and by time the ending rolled around my interest was gone. I liked Lucas and Jase a lot, but not that much time was spent on them together, so I can’t call them a couple but as individuals I really like them. Again, lots to like, the plot is interesting and as much as I liked the driving and running around this probably will turn some readers off.

Should You Read It? Yes, if you want to read suspense with a nice paranormal twist. I legit will be reading more from Libby Drew; this book has captured my interest with her obvious talent for spinning a tale. 40 Souls To Keep will be a hit or miss for most readers, but for me I liked it.

3.5 Pants Off

What's Happening This Week! Jan 28-Feb 2

Hello my friends, hope you guys had a fab week? My week was pretty good, read some awesome books and I am happy. Feeling a bit under the weather today, but it's nothing I can't handle.

Lots of fantastic things coming this week *fantastic*. The first post for my Fan-Art segment goes live and I am just happy. I'm also gonna be hitting you with some yaoi, and FanFic Friday. Doesn't that just sound perfect?

Here's what's causing a pants losing this week...


Reviews:
Black Magic by Megan Derr
Secret Chemistry (Shifters #1) by Chris T. Kat (Fehu)
The Lightning Struck Tower by Theo Fenraven
Love You Like A Romance Novel by Megan Derr
My Roommate's A Jock, Well Crap by Wade Kelly






Other Posts:
FanArt/Art Segment (I am so incredibly excited for this)
You, Me, & Yaoi (You Make My Head Spin by Kazuhiko Mishima)
FanFiction Friday




~Have A Great Week~

Friday, January 25, 2013

Review: Sinner's Gin by Rhys Ford

Sinner's Gin by Rhys Ford
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 260pgs
4.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
There’s a dead man in Miki St. John’s vintage Pontiac GTO, and he has no idea how it got there.

After Miki survives the tragic accident that killed his best friend and the other members of their band, Sinner’s Gin, all he wants is to hide from the world in the refurbished warehouse he bought before their last tour. But when the man who sexually abused him as a boy is killed and his remains are dumped in Miki’s car, Miki fears Death isn’t done with him yet.

Kane Morgan, the SFPD inspector renting space in the art co-op next door, initially suspects Miki had a hand in the man’s murder, but Kane soon realizes Miki is as much a victim as the man splattered inside the GTO. As the murderer’s body count rises, the attraction between Miki and Kane heats up. Neither man knows if they can make a relationship work, but despite Miki’s emotional damage, Kane is determined to teach him how to love and be loved — provided, of course, Kane can catch the killer before Miki becomes the murderer’s final victim.


Review:
Miki St John is well on his way to super stardom with his band Sinner’s Gin, until faith steps in and takes them away before they have any real time to celebrate their success. They were his family, and in the blink of an eye they were gone. This is just another blow in the life of Miki, coming from a background filled with sexual abuse at the hands of monsters, and the abandonment that left him wondering the streets as a baby (life for Miki hasn’t been easy). His psyche is broken with some of his body, and he just wants’ to hideaway in his warehouse away from the pain and drink himself away.  When a hunk of man shows up on his doorstep yelling at him about a dog, Miki’s life when will never be the same from that point on.

Kane Morgan is sick and tired of a this damn dog stealing his wood (not that kind of wood you perves) and he is about to have a few words with the owner. What he never expected was the beautiful boy with the broken soul to open the door but still he’s gotta do something about that damn dog. Days go by and the beautiful boy is still a fixture in Kane’s brain but once again the dog strikes and Kane has some yelling to do. What he never expected was to find a mutilated body in the man’s garage. So now Kane has to put his cop face on, and deal with the fact that Miki might be a killer or someone he’s going to do all to protect.

The men find themselves thrust into a friendship they never expected and an attraction that would be best avoided. As the murder investigation unfolds Kane finds out more about Miki than he ever wanted to know (or should know) and the information tears at him. Being with Miki is not a good idea, but he’s drawn to him in a way that is unexplainable and judging from the look in Miki’s eyes the feelings are mutual. Now they must figure out who’s leaving body parts on Miki’s front door and throwing things through his window. Seems someone has got a murder agenda and Miki is the key to that lock.

This book is a series of twists and turns, and heartbreaking shit. The angst is so super high my heart was breaking through most of it. The hardest thing for me to read is about the abuse of children, and Ms Ford wrote it in away where I was willing to go and commit murder for these hurt boys. Miki breaks my wee little heart; he’s skittish, feral, and so broken that I just don’t know what will become of him. Yes, he has Kane but he also needs some serious help (something he’s been avoiding). I understand his reasons for not seeking help; it’s his way of coping because going for therapy will open up wounds that he would rather keep closed. I get it, it is not a smart move but I totally get it.

Rhys Ford really knows how to start a book, and how to end it cus “gaaaaaaaw” I am freaking losing my mind with the ending of this one. I was feeling dissatisfied with that scene of Kane and Miki at the end there, but then the author threw a curve ball and I was like “Yes, I like this!” and now I want more. What I didn’t like so much was all the pain and suffering, seriously too much bad is just never good.

Overall, I really liked this one and gobbled it up till my eyes started to hurt. I like Miki cus he’s so broken, and I love Kane and his family. Dude the dog is also made of awesome; he’s a matchmaking genius (I am on to your game Dude).

Should You Read It? If you are a fan of Rhys Ford, yes. I am also down for interracial love in my books and the author is a master at this. I like that she writes Asian characters, and she writes them well.

4.5 Pants Off

Guest Post & Giveaway: Lor Rose and the Battle of the Muses



Any author, writer, poet, songwriter, ect. has their domain. A place where their creativity happens. Mine has a desk: beautiful dark wood with all the things that make a desk organized and lovely. A sofa lines the adjacent wall with a low coffee table full of magazines and loose papers. A music player plays creating the perfect atmosphere for writing, plotting, or blogging. My cat sleeps in the corner atop her cat climb, her tail hanging over the edge with a slight sway.

Then, it happens.

"LOR! Lookie what I have for you! Come here." There he is. Animus the Muse storms in, and my door banging against the wall startles my cat. Some days, Animus and I get along, and some days I wish to flog him, tie him up, and toss his fine ass in the closet for a few hours. Animus is loud, obnoxious, overbearing, egotistical, snarky, abusive, flamboyant, rude, annoying, hostile, and a penis wrinkle. He's also very fond of heels and crossdressing. Did I mention he's bleach blond, silver eyed, and a twink? No? Oh, well. I just did. "I need to give you something!"

I inwardly cringe... Animus is never gentle when "giving" anything. It's always a painful slap across the face. Not that I mind such treatment, but every day? My face is sore.

"An, don't bother her! She's working." Dear little Epicene runs in after Animus, tugging the renegade muse away. It doesn't work. It never does.

Poor little Epicene is quiet, cute, sweet, compassionate, and subtle. I'm also very unsure of Epicene's gender. Epicene is probably the most androgynous being I've ever met. I'm much too polite to ask about the plumbing below (for now). Epicene's hair changes as much as my Twitter stream; some days it's blonde, purple, green, light/dark blue, or any combination of any color Epicene decides. Today, it's red with hints of a blond so blond it shines gold. I kinda like it.

"Uh, excuse me. I've something to share, and it will be shared, dammit!" Animus yanks his arm away with a sour face only a mother could kiss. Okay, that was a lie. "Mind your own business for once."

"But-"

"No!"

I sit and blink at the two arguing in my office. My cat does little to nothing except blink and roll over to avoid them in a way only a cat can. I wish I could avoid them so easily. Dare I say I envy my cat?

The two continue to argue over the process of delivering information to me. Animus feels smacking me is very appropriate, not to mention it leads to "other means". He's referring to our "therapy" session courtesy of a friend, but all it did was prove Animus is a good kisser, among other things.

"She's an author! She likes the pain. Duh. Hence the whole authorly thing." There he is folks. Animus, my muse.

Epicene growls, and it's sort or cute coming from her--or, uh, him. "She's our voice, not some thing to beat into high hell." There it is again, Epicene's fall back argument. I appreciate the sentiment.

The two argue and argue over a topic so beaten into submission I'm surprised it even has an once of life left. I ignore them for the most part and opt to write this post instead. I'm so used to the two fighting it's more second nature-ish now to write in the insanity that is my two muses... or crawl under my desk. The latter is more likely to happen.

Almost all of my writerly friends have admitted to having a muse (or several) or hearing "voice(s)" who tell them what to do. I think I'll email a few friends asking about their muses and see what they say. My friend Patricia Lynne replies first, "Nope, I don't despite saying I do. Usually when I say I do, it's just to put a metaphorical person to my writing woes." Since she's my friend I'll let her get away with denying that she's crazy.

S. L. Armstrong, one of the owners of Storm Moon Press said. "I don't consider myself to have a muse." She's already denying she's crazy. "I find inspiration everywhere -- a song, a line of dialogue in a movie, overheard conversations, whatever -- without attributing it to a muse whispering ideas into my head." Why is everyone denying they're crazy? "I will say that when I'm writing, I can see the characters in my mind and hear their voices in my head, but I consider that to be different than a muse who is separate from the story." As you can tell S.L. is denying the crazy factor. Maybe K. Piet, another owner, will admit it?

"When it comes to muses, I wouldn't really say I have one." K. Piet has let me down... "I don't have a named muse in my head when I write. I sometimes describe my thoughts as tied up with the character that I'm currently writing, but I never feel like there's a phantom-like entity that pokes me into writing anything." Are muses phantom-like entities? Animus says no... "I might not have a muse, but I tend to have inspiring music. A song can make me really eager to write a certain story or character. The two musicians who currently get the creative juices flowing are Ben Jelen and Adam Lambert."

In a way I think both S.L. and K. Piet have admitted to having a muse but just different variations. They don't have someones like Animus and Epicene but they do have something.

"EPICENE!"

As you can see, I've two warring muses on my hands. Right now, I'm playing it cool because I know you're all watching me, but let me assure you, I want to fall into a hysterical mess and pound my head against my desk.

It's exhausting, having two muses who fight all the time. They pull me back and forth, leaving little room to breathe. Animus switches things on me, and Epicene jumps his case for doing so. Some days, I want to kill them both. Which is swiftly followed by me blowing up... Poor Epicene flees to a place only muses can access, and Animus puts his hands on his hips and glares at me, making me feel like a big pile of poop.

The world of a muse is something Epicene told me about, giving me a very subtle idea for a WIP. My other muse may or may not have been furious about this, and this "incident" may or may not have erupted into another fight.

The two are so opposite that I feel torn. Maybe they need to get a room somewhere and let "things" unfold between them, because for me, it all seems like sexual tension at this point. But what do I know? I'm just an author of male-on-male smut. I know nothing.

Since I know nothing, I'm going to sit here, my head resting on my hand and stare at them arguing.

Muses... We writerly folk can't live with them, but I fear we can't live without them, either.

Lor Rose is an upcoming author at Storm Moon Press. Her short stories will be featured in various anthologies, including GLBT Coffee Break Quickies, Dracones, and Serve Me. She can be found on her website, on Twitter @Lor_Rose9009, or her Tumblr account, where she often shares commentary on erotic photos with her room-mates.



Giveaway Opportunity!

This guest post is part of Storm Moon Press' 3rd Anniversary Blog Tour! Comment on this post or any other post on the blog tour with your e-mail address, and you'll be entered for a chance to win the Grand Prize of receiving 1 FREE e-book each month of 2013 from that month's new releases for a total of 12 free e-books! Runners up will receive a $25 gift certificate to their choice of Amazon or All Romance eBooks. For more details and to find out about our 3rd Anniversary, head over to Storm Moon Press' Official Blog. Thanks for joining us!

Thursday, January 24, 2013

Review: Weight Of A Gun II

Weight Of A Gun II Edited by S.L Armstrong
Storm Moon Press
Short Story: 88pgs
3.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
Everyone knows that guns are dangerous; they have long been a subject surrounded by controversy. Combine them with sex and you have a subject that is virtually taboo, but smoking hot. Our second gun kink anthology continues to push the envelope of combining sex and guns with three more stories hot enough to cause powder burns.

Continuing in the world of The Machinist, Avery Belfour and his captor/lover Lord Harrow now face the threat of The Inquisitor. But Harrow is very possessive of his prize and has no intention of turning Avery over without a fight.

Then, a routine black market bust goes wrong for Officer Caleb Baker. He ends up Playing With the Big Boys when the thieves get the drop on him and decide to have some fun with their new catch.

And finally, Cole Beauchamp is the greatest pistoleer of all time; he's also thoroughly unpleasant and has a habit of scaring away his assistants. But when he is sought out by a devotee with a love of guns that matches his own, Cole finds a new respect for Benjamin Pepperwhistle and the Fantabulous Circus of Wonders.


Review:
I was really looking forward to read this one, because book one was so awesome I wanted to experience more gunplay. The amount of stories is significantly less than the first book, but not to worry the quality is still up to par. I wouldn't say I am blown away with this anthology, but it was still enjoyable.

The Inquisitor by Gryvon
First, I am always a fan of anything written by this author. Always dark and so wickedly erotic I am caught up in whatever world I am reading. The Inquisitor is the sequel to The Machinist that was apart of the Weight Of A Gun anthology (book 1). Where I found the first story to be quite good, The Inquisitor seals the deal for having my attention. Avery and Harrow's relationship is so complex, and with a shocking turn of events, I'm just wanting more from this world. The gunplay is raw and dirty, and these guys play it hard (I'm talking safety off).

Overall, I liked this one and I am impatiently waiting for the next instalment because I have lots more questions this time around.

Playing With the Big Boys by Scarlet Blackwell
Alright, I don't even know how I feel about this one. Caleb is a cop and about to bust some punk ass thieves (my description of the thieves) instead he is captured and becomes their sex toy. They tie him up, take the gun out and get all down and dirty with Caleb who likes to be in the drivers]’s seat but doesn't like to be driven (that was clearly a pun).

This is pretty much a PWP, because I consider it one giant sex scene. I like Scarlet Blackwell's writing but this one failed to "wow" me. I did like that a possible relationship could come of this, even though it started out non-con and impossibly crazy. I think the absurd factor kicked at the end of this one, I would have probably liked it more without the involvement Caleb's partner.

Benjamin Pepperwhistle and the Fantabulous Circus of Wonders by Cornelia Grey
Wowza! I was very iffy about this story when it started but then it became all kinds of fantabulous. Benjamin Pepperwhistle (what a name) wants to join the circus and he wants to work with world famous pistoleer Cole Beauchamp as his assistant. See, Benjamin likes guns he likes them a whole darn lot.

The gunplay in this one is different, and so sexy. Benjamin and Cole seem so destined even in such a few pages. I really like how Cornelia Grey writes and this is the second story by the author that has both surprised and captured me. Life in the Circus of Wonders is exhilarating and interesting, would love to read more about these characters.

Once again, SMP manages to put interesting stories in another anthology with authors who don't mind pushing things a bit. While not as awesome as book one Weight of A Gun II still delivers. Plus that cover is made of all kinds of awesome.

3.5 Pants Off


Excerpt & Interview: Perfect by M.A Church



Sequel to Priceless
The Gods: Book Two 


Youtube book trailer for Perfect


Blurb:
Jaded billionaire Jeff Mayfield loves only what his money and power can buy, but the Fates have plans for him. First a player in Jeff’s casino hits a huge jackpot and things turn hectic. Then, in the middle of the chaos, Jeff lays eyes on the unbelievably sexy Cam Smith—Cupid in his human form.

Seized by lust, Jeff makes a move, only to find himself on the receiving end of a blistering wave of sexual intent. Cam disassembles Jeff’s self-image and puts it back together upside down. But Jeff isn’t the only one struggling with control. Cam’s alter ego is Jealousy, and if he loses his composure, the consequences will be deadly.


Excerpt:
The arid, hot air of the desert swept across Cupid’s body and sucked the breath from his lungs as he stepped off the shuttle bus in front of The Palms casino in Las Vegas. Running his
fingers through his short, curly blond hair, Cupid walked into the coolness of the lobby. He scanned the area, hoping to see the owner of the place—a certain gentleman named Jeff Mayfield—and resisted the urge to rub his hands together gleefully; he had big plans for Jeff.


“Ah, it’s good to be back,” Cupid said quietly. He was disappointed he didn’t see the one he wanted, but a small smirk lifted his lips. “Lay a monster challenge on me, will you? Claim you don’t believe love is for you? By Zeus, I’m going to have such fun proving you wrong. Jeff, you poor human, you don’t stand a chance when the god of erotic love is involved.”

Four months had passed since Garrett and Randy, his most recent targets, had confessed their love to one another. A pleased smile crossed Cupid’s face as he thought of the night he had spotted those two. He’d had every intention of planting one of his golden arrows into Garrett or Randy while they were at the craps table, but the oddest thing had happened.

His bowstring broke each time he lined up a shot. This had never happened to him before. He was known by many names, but he preferred Cupid, the name his mother had given him. Greek mythology, Roman mythology… he shrugged. Little did the humans know just how badly they had messed up the pantheon, not that it mattered. He knew the truth, as did others of his kind. Later, while he and his sister, Psyche, watched the light go out in the window of the Peabody Hotel, he had idly wondered if the Moirai, also known as the Fates, had intervened. As curious as Cupid was, it was in his best interest not to question why. Those three gave new meaning to the words hazardous to your health. Thanks to them, the most widely-known image of him included a diaper.

“Well, let’s get this show on the road.” Cupid strolled across the lobby to the check-in desk, getting his license out of his billfold. He knew Reception would card him because he looked so young.

After a long debate with the girl behind the counter on whether or not he was old enough to rent a room at The Palms, much less use the casino—and the fact he had such a common last name like Smith—he stood in front of his room. It was one of the casino’s standard hotel rooms, nothing special, but it had what he needed: privacy. He dropped his suitcases near the door and walked into the bathroom. Taking a deep breath, he gazed in the bathroom mirror at his reflection.

He planned to do something that defied logic and would make his dear sister laugh hysterically. Cupid had debated doing this on Mount Olympus, but Zeus would’ve noticed the surge of energy, and the last thing he wanted was interference from the god of all gods. As it was, when Zeus figured out what he planned, the big man wasn’t going to be happy. If this worked, he would be weak and need to rest where he’d be safe. There was those on Mount Olympus that would take advantage of his weaken state, so this was the best place to attempt what he planned.





Hey everyone! My name is M.A. Church. Instead of me going on, lol, I thought I’d have Cupid and Jeff tell us some about their story, Perfect. And oh look, there they are now! *waves* Hey guys, over here. Thanks for letting us do this at your casino, Jeff.

Jeff: Not a problem. Glad you could make it.

Cupid: *shakes head* M, you know I go by Cam when in this form.

M: Oh Lord, don’t you start with me, you little imp—

Cupid: Hey! I may be a lot of things, but I am not an imp.

M: Don’t give me that innocent look, Cam, it won’t work, especially in this form. You tend to forget I know what you look like in your god form too, even though Jeff hasn’t seen that form… yet.

Jeff: *rolls eyes* What’s the big deal about his other form?

M and Cam together: You’ll see!

Jeff: Huh. Well, it can’t be any worse than his other form.

M: There is that. Anyway, back to the point I was making: You about drove me nuts while I was writing Priceless. That was supposed to be a standalone story, and you just went on and on about how you wanted a mate.

Jeff: *grabs Cam’s hand* You did give her lots of trouble, babe. And you certainly turned my world upside down. There I was minding my own business, then you showed up and knocked me on my ass. You took a top and helped him become a bottom.

Cam: Speaking of your ass… *leers* I loved every minute of it too. I knew you were the one for me the moment I heard the challenge you issued. *sigh* I just wish you hadn’t had to meet… my other side.

Jeff: We’ve been through this. I love you and I love him, even if Jealousy does scares the living daylights out of the other gods.

Cam: Well, you certainly tamed the beast, that’s for sure.

M: Want to tell us a bit about Jealousy?

Cam: Simply put, he’s the other side of love—the dark, dangerous, obsessive side. Wars have been started when Jealousy makes an appearance. He shows up in the story because something happened with Jeff.

Jeff: And you know now what you saw was all a set up.

Cam: *frowns* Yeah, and I know who set it up too. Don’t think that this deal with me and the big cheese is over, not by any means.

M: Um, you’re talking about the God of all Gods, right? If I remember correctly, that term confused Mo too, so you might want to clarify.

Cam: Oh good grief, everything confuses Mo, but you have a point. Yup, I’m talking about Zeus, and his no-good sidekick. Who also makes an appearance in Mo’s book, Pure.

 Why don’t you tell everyone who Mo is?

Cam: *grin* He’s Morpheus, God of Dreams, and a good friend to me… a cute, sweet, shy little guy. He’s in Perfect quite a bit. And hey! He wanted a mate too, so why aren’t you not on his ass? Hmm?

M: Well jeez, Cam, by then it was a moot point! I’d already decided to do all three books. But yeah, Mo is really something sweet. Quite the opposite of you.

Jeff: Oh, there are parts of him that are very sweet. Want to talk about the pineapple incident? *laughs*

Cam: *blushes* Thank the gods for Google, that’s all I’m going to say. I mean, really, I couldn’t tell you what I ate at Mt. Olympus affected how my—

M: Ah yeah, how about we save that, hmm?

Cam: *grins* That might be a good idea. We’ve got to get going anyway. We have a lunch date with Mo and Zygi. *stands up* Thanks for letting us stop by and talk though!

M: Take care, guys. We’ll be seeing y’all again soon. ;)

Jeff: Yeah, Pure comes out in the summer, right? Bye, everyone.


M.A. Church
M.A. Church lives in the southern United States and spent many years in the elementary education sector. She is married to her high school sweetheart and they have two children. Her hobbies are gardening, walking, attending flea markets, watching professional football, racing, and spending time with her family on the lake.

But her most beloved hobby is reading. From an early age, she can remember hunting for books at the library. Later nonhuman and science fiction genres captured her attention and drew her into the worlds the authors had created. But always at the back of her mind was the thought that one day, when the kids were older and she had more time, she would write a book.

By sheer chance she stumbled across a gay male romance story on the web and was hooked. A new world opened up and she fell in love. Thus the journey started. When not writing or researching, she enjoys reading the latest erotic and mainstream romance novels.

My Links: 
Blog http://machurch00.blogspot.com/
Twitter @nomoretears00
Facebook: M.A. Church http://www.facebook.com/pages/MA-Chur... 
Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5141393.M_A_Church 
DSP author page: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/store/index.php?cPath=55_650 

Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Review: Bite Your Tongue by E.A Clarke

Reviewed by Fehu
Bite Your Tobgue by E.A Clarke
Less Than 3 Press
Novella
3.75 Pants Off

Blurb:
Returning home after a decade away to collect the inheritance left to him by his famous mother, Jude does not expect to actually attend her funeral—his family has always preferred him out of sight, out of mind. The very last person he expects to encounter is Connor, an old lover. Now a priest, Connor is stuck in the middle of an ugly scandal that is only one of several problems facing them as they struggle to hold their lives together and rekindle an old flame.




Review:
Jude goes back home for the funeral of his mother, who he still hasn't fully forgiven for throwing him out of his home, because of his sexuality and for forcing him into every acting gig possible. Now years later, Jude is a scientist, doing what he likes, though his love life is still lacking. Meeting his old best friend, to whom he has written letters after he was forced to leave, but has never gotten one back.

Connor was not only Jude’s best friend but also his lover, but Connor comes from a catholic family and his mother didn't take kindly to their friendship. Imagine Jude’s surprise when he finds out that Connor is now a priest and in the middle of a scandal, concerning Connors mentor, who was found to be a pedophile. The press is hounding Connor, since he suggested the community should keep the matter quiet, because of the children, who were violated, but of course, this is taken the wrong way and blown out of proportion by a journalist. Meeting his ex-lover and confronting his feelings for him, is the last thing Connor needs at this time. Jude is not exactly happy about the presence of the press either, since he took care to hide his background and changed his name, to be left in peace.

The book has potential. Sadly, it also had one of my pet peeves - flashbacks and there were quite a few of them in this book. Oh and I don't like open ending or one that leaves me confused and here, that was the case. On the plus side, I liked Jude, though I would have liked to know more about his reasons for hating his parents the way he did. What exactly did they do in his childhood that was so unforgivable?

Connor, well the way he acted I am surprised he became a priest. Also, his reasons for becoming a priest are not exactly clear. So he loved Jude and after Jude left, Connor decided to become a priest to appease his mother? Doesn't exactly scream devotion to me and honestly he is cussing, drinking, having sex with Jude, all very unpriestly behaviour, plus he sounds like he hates his life and his job. For
Example, there is a very important confession going on and he was so focused on Jude and his love life, he didn't listen, at all. So I feel very ambiguous about him, he seems weak and I don't mind that he has his faults but he clearly wants Jude, but then he tells him to leave, after the sex and blames Jude for everything.  I didn't understand if this was a paranormal story and he was a shifter or if it was all in his fantasy/dream and it's based on him feeling caged in a life he hates. Connor is having very vivid dreams of blood, hunting, some very erotic ones about possessing and claiming. In the mornings, there are bodies of dead animals near his place, so Connor starts to believe he is doing this that he runs as
an animal at night.

The writing is quite good, the dialogs are interesting, the story is engaging, but the flashbacks, slow the plot down, when I want to know what happens in the now. Also the most interesting part would be exactly where the story ended, and which left me with more questions than answers. On the plus side, this story was quite a ride and didn't lack in excitement.


Review: The Boys and the Bees by Mari Donne

The Boys and the Bees by Mari Donne
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 212pgs
5 Pants Off

Blurb:
The only interesting thing about Why Yell, Iowa, is its name, so when Mark Johansen left for college, he didn’t plan to return. But his family has other ideas: his father manipulates him into a job he hates and his mother uses him as a patch for coping with his siblings’ problems.

When Mark runs into Jamie Novotny after a particularly bad day at work, he’s surprised to find the quirky kid he knew in high school has grown into a driven ecowarrior. But the shock of finding Jamie working in the local co-op pales compared to his astonishment when Jamie confesses he’s had a crush on Mark for years.

Their first night together leaves Mark happy but disoriented, but their second leaves him bereft. He's unable to find Jamie because he refuses to use cell phones, fearing their environmental impact. Mark’s usual stoicism splinters, and he can’t stop himself from tracking Jamie down. When their lives collide, Mark makes room in his heart and his house for Jamie—but what Jamie really wants is for Mark to man up.


Review:
Ever read a book you wish you could go back and unread so you can experience it for the first time again? That is how I feel about The Boys and the Bees; I loved every word of it and would not change a thing. I found it perfect and the message resonated strongly with me.

Mark Johansen lives in a small town called Why Yell, Iowa which is like pretty much a description of Mark's character. He's a gentle giant whom goes through life making the motions and living to help others. He has a job he doesn't love all because his parents told him to take it, he can't seem to make a connection to the opposite sex or even of that of a same sex relationship. He's just there helping with a slew of nieces/nephews and immature siblings. Mark finds himself at local co-op picking up groceries with plans of making himself a fabulous meal when he runs into Jaime. He remembers Jaime from high school as being out and proud, and 100% himself (a quality he always liked) since he's practically uncomfortable in his skin. Accidentally Mark leaves behind his wine, and Jaime brings it too him. Jaime admits he had a crush on Mark in high school, Mark invites him to stay for dinner and the sexy time commences. For the first time sex becomes something for Mark, he feels a connection to Jaime and wants too see more of him.

The book gives the slow progression to Jaime and Mark's relationship, and you get to know their characters in-depth. Both their lives are filled with this richness of family, but also with heartache that comes with it. Jaime must care for his ailing father, which puts a strain in their budding romance, and Mark must deal with the reality that he might lose his family for being gay.

Mark's family is a big part of the story and a strain to read because they are just a draining bunch, but is it’s with them I realized how strong Mark is. It boils down to the fact, that Mark does not need them, they need him. He seems like a pushover because of his selflessness but Mark can walk away and thrive, even with his coming out and facing their harsh dismissal (he was the glue).

Mark and Jaime together are so sweet; it makes my heart super happy. They are both so different but provide a wonderful balance for each other. Jaime the fanatic for the environment, and Mark who’s willing to put up with his crazy ways. I just loved the development of their relationship, the pacing and timing is so perfect that you will just believe in their love.

As I said, I really love this book and it will be going on re-read shelf (I wanna go read it again right now). It's a very romantic read, with some hard-hitting realistic elements (unaccepting parents and the religious crazies that fuel them) and unforgettable characters; Mark is going down as one of my faves. I loved his gentle ways, and he seems one dimensional on the surface, but you find out he’s brave and just loves with all his heart.

Should You Read It? Yes, do not even walk to get it run and get it. I am looking forward to more from this author, because The Boys and the Bees is really something special.

5 Pants Off



Guest Post & Giveaway: Something New Under The Sun by L.A Witt



Welcome to the Riptide Publishing/L. A. Witt blog tour for Something New Under the Sun, the sequel to my vampire/cyberpunk novella, A Chip In His Shoulder!

Every comment on this blog tour enters you in a drawing for a choice of two eBooks off my backlist (excluding Something New Under the Sun) and a $10 Riptide Publishing store credit. Entries close at midnight, Eastern time, on January 27th, and winners will be announced on January 28th. Contest is NOT restricted to U.S. entries.


An exclusive little nibble of Something New Under the Sun… 

Wearing a borrowed duster, I followed Liam out of his apartment and into a hallway lit by a buzzing half-burned out bulb. As he locked the door behind us, he said over his shoulder, “I know you don’t like the idea, but this is going to get dangerous. You need—”
“No mods.”
“Daniel—”
“I’m not getting modified.” I waved the idea away. “It’s out of the question.”
Liam shoved his keys into his pocket. “You want to see this to the end? You do what you have to do to stay alive.”
“I understand that, but I want to stay human.”
Liam’s eyes narrowed; mine flicked toward the camouflaged mod on his temple.
“That’s not what I meant,” I said. “You know it isn’t.”
He set his jaw and brushed past me down the hall. “Let’s go.”
“Liam, I didn’t—”
“I know what you meant.”
Mouthing a silent string of profanity, I started after him. “Goddammit, you can’t honestly expect me to let go of my issues with mods overnight.”
He spun around and stabbed a finger into my chest. “I can, and I do. Don’t think for a second your pretty little principles are going to keep you alive anymore. People want you dead, Daniel.”
“Yes, I know they do,” I said through my teeth.
“Which means you get to make hard choices and sacrifices, just like—”
“Don’t fucking talk to me about making sacrifices.” I batted his hand away and stepped closer until our faces were nearly touching. “Just because I’m not a fan of mods, don’t you dare stand there and assume I haven’t had to sacrifice anything. You know nothing about how much I’ve sacrificed the last few years.”
“Oh, I’m sure you’ve made sacrifices,” he growled. “Wasting away in luxury—”
Liam caught my fist before I even realized I’d thrown the punch. He didn’t blink, didn’t break eye contact, just kept on looking right at me as his fingers dug into the back of my
hand. “You done?”
“Don’t you dare lecture me about sacrifices, you son of a bitch. You have no idea.”
His lips pulled back over clenched teeth, revealing the edges of his unnaturally sharp canines. “Enlighten me.”
I jerked my hand free from his grip, but the sudden ache in my throat stopped the words from coming. I managed to snarl, “Fuck you,” and then shoved past him and kept walking.


* * *

L.A. Witt is an abnormal M/M romance writer currently living in the glamorous and ultra-futuristic metropolis of Omaha, Nebraska, with her husband, two cats, and a disembodied penguin brain that communicates with her telepathically. In addition to writing smut and disturbing the locals, L.A. is said to be working with the US government to perfect a genetic modification that will allow humans to survive indefinitely on Corn Pops and beef jerky. This is all a cover, though, as her primary leisure activity is hunting down her arch nemesis, erotica author Lauren Gallagher, who is also said to be lurking somewhere in Omaha. 

L. A.’s backlist is available on her website, and updates (as well as random thoughts and the odd snarky comment) can be found on her blog or on Twitter (@GallagherWitt).


Blurb:

Liam Lansing is heir to a prominent family of bio-modified vampires. That is, until he chooses the wrong lover and is cast down to the Gutter to scrape for his life.

Daniel Harding is heir to Cybernetix and a prince of the corporate Sky. That is, until his ideology drives his father to put a price on his head, forcing him into the Gutter.

But Daniel and Liam won’t vanish meekly into the smog. Together, they plan to rip open the hidden corruption that runs the Sky—for vengeance, for justice, and for hope. They strike against the corporations in a daring raid. When everything goes wrong, Daniel must betray his core beliefs to save the man he loves and protect his dangerous secret. Only through courage in the face of death—or worse—might he and Liam change the world they live in and create something new under the sun.


Something New Under the Sun is available January 21st from Riptide Publishing. Also available: the prequel, A Chip In His Shoulder.






Sunday, January 20, 2013

Review: Foxe Tail by Haley Walsh

Foxe Tail (Skyler Foxe Mysteries #1) by Haley Walsh
MLR Press
Novel: 288pgs
4.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
Gay teacher Skyler Foxe thought teaching English Lit was murder. Wait till he falls into the real thing.

Skyler Foxe is a brand new English teacher in his hometown of Redlands, CA. He loves literature, loves his students, loves his friends, especially his best friend Detective Sidney Feldman. But he doesn't love keeping his orientation a secret, afraid of the backlash in this conservative county. But will murder thrust him into unwanted limelight? Who killed his principal's son outside a gay dance club? And what's the connection to James Polk High? Is the macho football coach or his mysterious and gorgeous new assistant coach involved? Can Skyler trust anyone at the high school when there seems to be conspiracies around every corner?


Review:
I was expecting to like Foxe Tail but man I didn’t expect to love it, and guys do I love it. For the first time in a long time I am tempted to read books in a series back to back (my schedule won’t allow it) but I am thinking of breaking all the rules and buying them all and reading it over wine.

Skyler Foxe has fulfilled his dream of being a teacher in the town he grew up. He got a job at his old high school (which is like a dream come true) so life couldn’t be more perfect. Too bad he’s gay and has to keep that part of his life a secret, and too bad there’s a flamboyant trick outside beating the shit out of his car with a baseball bat. If that doesn’t out him, then he’s one lucky SOB. Needing a little time to unwind (and perhaps a nice hard fuc…) you get my point. Skyler decides to hit the club with his best friend Sidney who happens to be detective. While getting some fresh air Skyler discovers the body of young man, and opens a whole can of worms.

Suddenly Skyler is caught in the midst of murder investigation, and he wants to figure out who that killer is. Because said murderer has made it personal by shooting at him and his friends. As much as Skyler thinks he’s some sort of Sherlock Holmes, he needs to realize that he’s more the Pink Panther type of guy, and should leave it all up to the professionals but Skyler isn’t known for his listening skills or being smart skills. Factor in the weirdness going on at the high school and he has crazy coming from both sides.

There is just so much to love about this book, just so freaking much. I think my top is Skyler’s friends the S.F.C (The Skyler Fuck Club) his previous lovers turned best-friends even the crazy car bashing trick. They all have so much personality and never once felt like character filler. The budding romance between two of Skylers students was so awesomely sweet. I think he really shined as a teacher/person with the handling of his students. Just so much happening, this means there is so much to love.

Foxe Tail can’t be called a romance yet, but hopefully that is where the series is leading in the future. Skyler is getting his slut on just a little too much; then again he’s young and hasn’t found the one person he wants to be with. For a teacher, he never seems to take his work home with him, dude clubs just a little too much. I believe those things sort of irked me but not enough for me to dislike his character.

Overall, I really loved reading this book. It was so entertaining, fun, and the writing is awesome. I can’t wait to read more.

Should You Read It? One word: YES, so freaking awesome and so much fun. I am totally surprised I didn’t come across this one on my own, there should be a lot of buzz about this series, cus it just became crack for my soul.

4.5 Pants Off



What's Happening This Week!!

Hello folks, I hope you guys had a wonderful week. I had a week full of allergies, and this week isn't look so good either cus right now my eyes feel like they have sand in them. The weather is being crazy here, one minute it's freaking cold as hell and the next feels like a spring day (mother nature make up your mind).

Remember that time when I took a break to help my son with his reading, which wasn't that long ago. Well my little man is a star, he can read everything now, and has this skill in breaking down a word he doesn't know and bam he knows it. He has just been shining, been student of the month, and I peeped in on him reading Dr Seuss to his little brother. Lets just say, that this mommy is proud as hell. Anything have you guys feeling all proud?

Alright, time for blog things. There is still time to win Drama Queens with Love Scenes contest runs until the 21st.

Storm Moon Press anniversary tour (lots of prizes to be had)

Here's whats causing a pants losing this week...


Reviews:
Bite Your Tongue by E.A Clarke (Fehu)
The Boys and The Bees by Mari Donne
Weight of A Gun by Various Authors
Sinner's Gin by Rhys Ford
40 Souls to Keep by Libby Drew







Guest Post & Giveaways:
Perfect: Excerpt & Interview by M.A Church
Excerpt & Giveaway (Something New Under The Sun) by L.A Witt
Storm Moon Press Anniversary Tour




~Enjoy Your Week~


Saturday, January 19, 2013

Review: Afflicted II by Brandon Shire

Afflicted II (Afflicted #2) by Brandon Shire
Self-Published
Novel: 214pgs
4.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
Hunter and Dillon finally came to terms with the idea that they wanted more than just hot sex with each other. Dillon decided to quit hustling in order to invest his time and energy in building their relationship, and Hunter let his barriers down and opened his heart. But fear has a way of creeping up and dismantling things that we hold precious. Dillon’s family isn’t quite finished with him yet and Hunter is torn about whether he should step into the fray.

Their journey together comes to a thrilling conclusion.



Review:
Hunter and Dillon are back in this wonderful book, and trying to make a go at real relationship. With Dillon once being, a prostitute and Hunter a blind man who likes to hold his own reins the man have a lot to overcome. They both have a lot to overcome, and baggage weighing them both down.

From Afflicted Dillon found out his cousin was dating Hunter's mom (his very young cousin).As someone carrying a lot of pain from his family, after they threw him out for being gay. He still carries the scars of life on the streets, and knowing that after 10yrs, no one in his family came to find him and that includes his cousin Travis. Having to see Travis for the first time in so long is opening old wounds that had just started to heal with Hunter being in his life. Now he must decide if after all this time, is he willing to completely walk away from his family and face the hurt of his past.

Through all this, Hunter is dealing with his emotions of finally letting someone else in. He knows Dillon’s feelings for him are strong after such a short time, and he struggles with the possibility of feeling the same. He fears that being in love means giving up his independence and becoming dependent on Hunter. When he has always held his life on such a tight string (translations he is major control freak). Noticing his own changes, causes him to re-evaluate his relationship with his mom, and realize that maybe she isn't so bad after all.

Together the men are hot, hot, and hotter. They have this hot chemistry, and even hotter sex that will melt the pants off your body. They have an emotional connection, something they have never had with anyone else. Both try to spare each other pain, and they mess up sometimes but the reason behind it is never lost.

I do believe Hunter has taught me how, if I ever I have to interact with a blind person, I now know what not to do. Yes, he cannot see but he is so attuned to everything around him that he probably sees it better than any sighted person can. His other senses are the key to his survival, and Shire does a wonderful job of integrating it all throughout the book.

I really enjoyed this book a lot more than the first. I was happy that the prose was less lyrical (ugh I never ever wanted to say that) so it made my reading experience all the more warmer. The bathroom scene damn near killed me, so I should probably say my reading experience was all the hotter. I have yet to be disappointed with anything by Brandon Shire. My only beef is that I am still waiting for Hunter and Dillon to have that safe sex talk (that serious sex talk).

Should You Read It? I recommend you pick up book one and get lost in these wonderful characters. As I said I really enjoyed this one, and recommend you pick up a book by this author. Afflicted 2 is a great conclusion to these men love story.


4.5 Pants Off