Thursday, November 28, 2013

Review: Taking A Chance by Anne Brooke

Reviewed by SinChan
Taking A Chance by Anne Brooke
Wilde City Press
Short Story
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
The moment model and part-time actor Benjamin spots the sexually alluring Alan outside his local restaurant, he’s determined to get to know him better. So he takes a chance and pretends to be Timothy, the blind date Alan is waiting for.

When Alan asks him about submission, safe words and spanking, Benjamin knows the sensible thing to do would be to leave. Funny then how he finds himself eager to know more. Will it be a date to remember and, if Alan discovers his deceit, could he ever be persuaded to take a chance on Benjamin?


Short Review
I love the story set up. Alan approaches Benjamin, thinking that he's Timothy. Benjamin decides to take a chance to know Alan better and plays along. Unfortunately, Benjamin doesn't know that Timothy is into BDSM, but he's not opposed to the idea either.

Alan is very upfront and clear about his intentions for Benjamin, so much that he surprises me too. On the other hand, Benjamin is totally unprepared for Alan's questions about his sexual activity. However, Benjamin is straightforward and honest with his answers that it's refreshing to read the dialogue. It all makes this book a fun read.

This climax builds up as Benjamin's guilt over lying to Alan intensifies. But the ending doesn't finish off with a flourish despite the great start, so it isn't satisfying for me. The ending is not surprising, heart-warming, or memorable. It's just okay....

Overall, this is a fast, fun read that has an interesting mix up of identity. I definitely recommend this short read when you need a distraction and something to brighten up your day.

4 Pants Off

Review: The Gospel According to Cher by S.A Garcia

Reviewed by Whuppsy
The Gospel According to Cher by S.A Garcia
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 314pgs
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
Hindy Nardella, gallery owner and tidy leather diva, isn’t sure about love anymore. His most-recent ex-lover said “sayonara” and headed for Japan despite a week of Hindy begging him to stay. The man before that bid Hindy “namaste” before heading for Nepal seeking salvation. Hindy will accept advice from anywhere, even a tacky Cupid music box which only plays Cher's "Believe," and vivid dreams that compel him to leave NYC and head for the Adirondacks.

Cupid leads Hindy straight to a leather bar in the mountains and an exotic drag queen named Patrice O'Malley. For Patrice, who’s near-perfect beauty belies his lack of confidence, it's lust at first sight, but Hindy has doubts born of his recent run of bad luck in romance. But when Patrice saves Hindy from death by a falling chunk of airplane blue ice, Cupid slams into Hindy's heart, and Hindy begins to believe in miracles again. Dangers and challenges arise, involving, among other things, crazy ex-lovers, rampaging mosquitoes, and a phantom moose. But life together awaits back in NYC, if they can survive, trust in each other, and believe in life after love.

Review
This wonderful story starts with Hindy having one heck of a day.  He’s verbally and physically assaulted, his nose broken AND he finds out that his lover of nine months, Tim is leaving him for a job offer in Japan.  After he’s been acting weird for the last couple of weeks and Hindy thinks that he’s having an affair, he finds out while he’s hurt that he was really doing long, intensive interviews for this job.  Hindy’s boyfriend prior to this one leaves him for Nepal.  Hindy just can’t seem to win in this game called love.

When all is said and done, Hindy decides that he needs to get away from home with all of these issues and problems coming at him from all sides.  The day that Hindy was assaulted, he saw this shop that had this Cupid music box and Hindy decides that he needs a mascot for his trip.  He buys the Cupid and he’s off and running to upstate New York.

With his trusty Cupid, his Jaguar named Esmeralda, hits the road and is set for an adventure in the Adirondacks.  Once there he meets this drag queen/waiter named Patrice O’Malley.  Cupid’s arrow flies straight at these two.

Patrice’s latest lover has pulled a fast and loose one with his heart.  Laughing at him and telling him he was nothing but a good time when Patrice told him of his desire to go home to Canada with him.  He is just the latest in a line of boyfriends who have hurt his heart.

Hindy and Patrice’s relationship kind of speeds along at warp speed over the two weeks that Hindy in in the “Dacks”.  But in the two weeks that that they spend together what started off as something fun became something more fulfilling than either of them thought would occur.  There were some misunderstandings and hurt feelings, but they actually talked about things and worked them out.  Which as you know, doesn’t always happen in books.

There is at least one person who really doesn’t want things to work out between Patrice and Hindy and its Patrice’s crazy stalker ex from Florida.  Hindy’s Nepal ex, Gaston makes his reappearance when our intrepid boys return to New York City, but overall, he actually apologizes to Hindy and wants to stay on in the business.  Nothing more.  I actually liked that about him.

There is some heartache, but there is much more laughter, love and acceptance in this book.  Acceptance in yourself and acceptance in others, but most importantly acceptance in love.  This book was such a great read and I really want to read the first story as the characters are in this book as Hindy’s friends.  They always had his back regarding whatever was going on.  True Blue friends.

This book will make you laugh and it will make you think. Which in my opinion, is the very best that a book can give you.  We all want Cupid to come and shoot us with his amazing arrow of Love.  In this book, you get it with Patrice and Hindy.

4 Pants Off

Review: Ghost of a Chance by Ari McKay

Reviewed by Fehu
Ghost of A Chance by Ari McKay
Torquere Press
Short Story: 74pgs
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
Dr. Mason Beaulieu thinks rival ghost hunter Haywood “Fort” Fortenberry is sexy but too credulous when it comes to the paranormal. Fort thinks Mason is attractive but too cynical. When they’re offered a chance to be locked up in reputedly haunted Wisteria Grove on Halloween night, however, both men jump at the chance.

Storms and mysterious sounds keep them busy during the night, and they discover a mutual respect for each other’s skills. As the investigation continues, Fort learns the truth behind Mason’s seemingly dismissive attitude, and Mason finds a new appreciation for Fort’s open-mindedness. But when an unexpected intruder derails the investigation, they learn that more than just hunting ghosts can offer them thrills and chills.

Review
I didn't know what to expect with this one and it turned out to be a nice Halloween surprise!

Mason wanted to believe in ghosts, but after some youthful disappointments, he decided to tackle his obsession with the paranormal more rationally and invested in good equipment to help him search for a proof that ghosts exist. Years later, retired after selling one of his better gadgets, a special camera for a very good price, Mason retired in his 30's and joined a group which sought that tries to find logic explanations for the ghost hunting's, that people reported.

In the course of his work Mason finds himself intrigued by a hot and prickly Psychology Professor, Haywood “Fort” Fortenberry, who is his rival and is a member of a group that tries to prove ghosts exist. Unfortunately for Mason, his flirting does not seem to work on Fort, but he has another chance to get close to the man, when they are both chosen to do moderate a live show on Halloween, about ghosts in Wisteria Grove, which is rumored to have ghosts in various rooms.

I liked the pacing of this story; especially the first half was fabulous as far as the introduction of the character goes. Fort and Mason did not fall in love on first sight and one could see how Mason slowly developed an interest in the guy, which Fort begun to return only in the last part of the second half.
All in all the characters are very likeable and the dialogs don't get boring, but are engaging and well written.

However the ending and the epilogue did not work for me. They just met an old lady and were in a supposedly hunted house and they decided to have sex on the couch in the front room? Not like the sex on the former battle field was better. Honestly this one would have been perfect with all the good sexual tension and the sex might have been better left of scene or for when they got home.
For all people who like me are not fans of horror, this story is pretty perfect. The ghost is pretty friendly at least the one Fort and Mason do get to see.

4 Pants Off

Wednesday, November 27, 2013

Review: Surprise, Surprise by Star Noble

Reviewed by SinChan
Surprise, Surprise by Star Noble
Torquere Press
Short Story
3 Pants Off

Blurb:
Jason and Anthony are in a rut, and Jason can admit their love life has been less than stellar lately. But Anthony's birthday is coming up, so Jason plans the perfect party to spice up the night and their relationship -- complete with a super hot dancer.

But by the end of the night, Anthony receives more than a few surprises. He and Jason meet Ruben, a sexy sports student, and the three of them instantly hit it off. Will Ruben come between the two lovers, or will he give their relationship the boost it so desperately needs?


Short Review
Jason is overworking and not spending enough time with Anthony in order to make the money to buy themselves a home. Jason realizes this and plans several surprises on Anthony's birthday to liven their relationship. Some of the surprises are planned but others are wonderful coincidences.

I don't mind ménage stories but Ruben is a one night stand that doesn't really play a major role in the relationship or story, except provide hot sex. This is not really a 3 way relationship and his involvement doesn't connect and complement Anthony and Jason's relationship.

Jason is unusual because he doesn't agonize over his age or if Ruben will steal Anthony away (or at least not too much). He's not super jealous that Anthony may be seeing someone else. It could be that they really trust and love each other. I don't know.

Overall, this is a fun, short read about an established couple that wants to spice up their love life and rekindle the fire.

3 Pants Off

Review: Single Use Only by Pender Mackie

Reviewed by Whuppsy
Single Use Only by Pender Mackie
Loose-Id
Novel: 257pgs
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
Mike Strenton is tired of the hook-up scene. All the men he meets in the Las Vegas gay bars are interested in only one thing and only one night. Been there done that. About to turn thirty-eight, Mike avoids casual sex until his need for contact is too great to ignore. He secretly longs to meet someone who sees beyond his laugh lines and broad shoulders to the sensitive lover underneath. A man who’ll choose him over the early morning walk of shame. 

Twenty-seven year old Chris Bennington has never even been to a gay bar though he’s into men as well as women. He sees the funny side of just about everything, even his first time with Mike. Chris wants a lover who doesn’t have a problem with his quirky sense of humor, his inability to cook or his bisexuality and he thinks Mike fits the bill. All he has to do is convince the big guy he’s not just sticking around for breakfast.

Review
This is the story of Mike Strenton and Chris Bennington.  Mike works as a Stage Manager of a Male Revue in Las Vegas.  He’s getting older and realizing that he wants more than a cheap one night.  He wants the relationship that he’s seen happen to a couple of friends of his.  He wants to find His One!!  He’s done his partying and realizes that it’s not the life that he wants to continue.

Chris Bennington works as a Blackjack Dealer at one of the Casinos and is the former roommate to a mutual friend, Jesse.  Jesse had found his One and moved to New York, however, he’s left some of his costumes from working at the Revue that Mike works at in the apartment.  Chris finally decides to take the costumes to the Revue and he meets Mike.

Now, there are sparks of attraction between the two of them, but they both miss the chance to exchange numbers. But our intrepid Chris doesn’t let it stop him, he goes back to get Mike’s number or Mike, whatever.  They start off just being attracted to each other and it becomes more. There are some miscommunications at first, but things eventually even out and they settle into dating each other and being a couple.

There is of course the one person who does not want to see them together.  His name is Devan.  He works with Mike as a bartender at the Revue and boy does he have a thing for Mike.  He keeps trying to get into Mike’s pants and failing. Mike isn’t having any of that noise.  Mike is fully committed to Chris and their relationship.  Not on is Devan trying to voice an opinion regarding Chris and Mike’s relationship.  Jesse also adds his two cents in as well.  However, where Jesse’s concerns stem from a place of caring, Devan’s come from a place of selfish wants.

I liked this book.  It was sweet and funny and it made me smile.  It also made me upset when Devan was trying to hurt my guys.  I felt like these two guys belonged together and they made such a great couple.  I didn’t read the first of the two books, but this was a great standalone book if you didn’t read the first one.  I loved the characters and how they worked through their issues.

I would definitely recommend this book. You’ll enjoy the relationship between Mike and Chris. You’ll love the way that they make mistakes and find their way back to being a couple.  How they wanted to be together and made sure that they stayed that way.

4 Pants Off

Oops! Where Did My Pants Go?? (Catch My Breath)




Initially I was going to give this book a 4 Pants Off, but I spent the weekend thinking about it and going back to look over my fave scenes (which is like pretty much everything). So Sunday night I realized that I am all kinds of in love with Catch My Breath which is so surprising cus M.J O’Shea books are always a little so, so with me. This one I love so damn much giving me boy band feels causing a pants losing and so it had to be added to my “Oops! Where did my pants go??”

I’d like to tell you where my pants went…

First I was all like “this is so sweet like YA” and then boom a Mr Elliot Price started saying and doing out sexy things. At first he was awkward as fuck and out of nowhere he starts saying shit like

“you’re mine and I’m gonna put your feet on my shoulders and fuck you” 

just like Danny’s face my pants were in a state of shock and disappeared. Then I realized that I love Elliot and my boy band feels were EPIC. Like the only group I was crazy about was the Backstreet Boys (keep the backstreet pride alive) and I never once thought about any of those guys getting together (whispering: I lie I totally thought Howie and A.J were banging and no one can tell me otherwise and how hoped to be a part of their little love nest).

Then there’s the somber mood of big money management trying to keep the boys apart but you can’t stop love bitches, you just can’t stop it. There’s been times I wanted to commit character murder but the urge was strong as shit for this, strong as shit. YOU CAN’T STOP TRUE LOVE YA BASTARDS!!

The writing was sweet and I love all the boys in this story, keeping the bromance strong and beautiful. I’ve never been more in love with M.J O’Shea’s writing like I am right now. This book is surely getting  on my faves of 2013 and phew where the fuck is my pants?


Catch My Breath by M.J O'Shea
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 350pgs
5 Pants Off

Blurb:
Danny Bright was born to entertain. He just needs his big break. So when he hears that Blue Horizon Records is holding auditions looking for the next big thing, Danny jumps at the chance. It doesn’t turn out exactly as he imagined, though. Instead of getting solo contracts, Danny and four other guys are put into a boy band. 

Innocent, idealistic Elliot Price thinks he’s headed for college. An impulsive decision to sing in the local talent search changes all that. A bigwig producer happens to see him, hands him a business card, and turns Elliot’s life upside down. 

Elliot and Danny are close from the beginning. They love all the guys, but it’s different with each other. Soon their friendship turns into feelings more intense than either of them can ignore. The other three boys only want Danny and Elliot to be happy, but when their management team and record label discover two of their biggest tween heartthrobs are in a relationship, they’re less than pleased. Danny and Elliot find themselves in the middle of a circle of lies and cover-ups, all with one bottom line—money. They have to stay strong and stick together if they don’t want to lose themselves… and each other.


5 Pants Off

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

Review: A Package Deal by Mia Kerick

Reviewed by Whuppsy
A Package Deal by Mia Kerick
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 260pgs
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
Robby Dalton is the perfect all-American boy. He played the sports his father chose for him in high school, attended the college his father selected, and has worked hard to conform to his father's macho views. But emotionally he doesn’t fit anywhere, and he can’t connect with a woman beyond a few uninspired dates. Robby’s not in the closet, because he’s never guessed he’s gay. Now he owns a small commercial construction company, and one night after work he runs into Savannah Meyers. He finds her fascinating and agrees to a date, thinking maybe this woman would be different.

But Savannah has her own agenda. She is looking for a love match for her roommate, Tristan Chartrand, whom she rescued from the streets years ago. He’s like a brother, and her only family, so she wants him safe and happy. Her plan seems to begin well, because when Robby meets Tristan, he’s surprised to find it’s Tristan he wants, not Savannah. But some people in Robby’s life don’t approve of Tristan’s lowly station in life, and some don’t approve of Robby being gay. Some people are full of hate and violence, and Robby and Tristan will need courage and strength if a loving future is to be part of the deal.

Review
This is the story of two men, Robby Dalton and Tristan Chartrand and one woman, Savannah Meyers who brings them all together.  Robby who has had a pretty apathetic attitude regarding dating in the past and yet he keeps trying.   This is the story of how his life is forever changed.

Now Robby grew up with a very domineering father who never once gave Robby what he’s always wanted, his approval.  His father has steered his life the way that he felt that it should be run, never what would make Robby happy.  Robby has grown up allowing his father to have that kind of power over his own feelings about himself and what his life should be.  Now, that being said, Robby also has this friend, Mike, who he allows to walk all over him as well.  It’s almost the very same way he allows his father to walk all over him.

Tristan is this heartbreakingly beautiful character who you will just fall in love with.  His life is this sad, horrible existence.  Abused, homeless and at times a male prostitute anything in order to survive his life on the streets.  Tristan survived for nearly ten years on the streets and he didn’t come away from the experience whole.  He has nightmares about the things that he’s suffered in the past.   He survived, and yet even with that horrible past, he’s this amazing natural sweetness to him.  He is almost childlike in his enthusiasm to learn new things and experience the better things in life.  He now has an apartment with Savannah and a good job as a waiter. He is content with his life and the way that it is.

Savannah ran away from home when she was 13 years old.  She met Tristan after she’d been on the streets a short while before she met Tristan.  One of the first flashbacks that is shown from Savannah’s POV is Tristan taking a gang-rape in her place.  He did it to protect her and protect her he did.  After that horrible experience, Tristan takes her to this Outreach Place for homeless teens.  She gets off of the streets and makes a vow to herself to find Tristan again and save him the way he saved her.  Savannah kept her word, she grew up and started going to college and found him working in the diner for a place to stay.  She got him cleaned up and in better shape in order to make something of himself.  The two of them create this Family.

Robby sees Savannah at a diner that he frequents and she’s this beautiful young woman.  He’s taken by her looks and asks her out.  Savannah agrees and Robbie is thinking maybe his luck has changed.  They meet for their date and as they are getting to know each other, in walk Tristan.  Robby is taken aback by his reaction to this man.  Tristan is possibly the most beautiful thing that Robbie has ever seen.

What Robby and Tristan don’t know is that Savannah has a plan, she wants to expand their Family, but it has to be the right person.  She is vetting Robby and thinks that he’s the perfect person to join them.  Savannah wants so very much to help others who are in the situation that she and Tristan found themselves in.  However, in order to do that, she knows that she will have to leave Tristan.  This is where Robby comes in.  He’ll be the person who will take care of Tristan while she’s out helping others and finding herself in the process.

Savannah helps Tristan and Robby meet and get to know each other, slowly pushing them towards one another.  Robby is taken with both of them, but more so, Tristan.  As Robby and Tristan get to know each other and as time goes on they realize that they are falling for each other.  This is part of Savannah’s overall plan to get Robby and Tristan together and to faze herself out of the romantic portion of their relationship.

Mike, Robby’s best friend finds many numerous ways to try and come between Robby and Tristan and Savannah.  He beats up on Tristan.  Goes behind Robby’s back and tattles to his father regarding his relationship with Savannah and in part with Tristan.  He’s that stereotypical macho jerk.  I hated him, however, he was always allowed to treat Robby the way he wanted and Robby never stood up for himself with Mike, so I get why Mike is having a hard time letting go of his friend, or as I like to refer to Robby’s relationship with Mike, his whipping boy.

I also HATED (and yes I meant every capital letter in that word) how Robby let everyone walk all over him.  How he never stood up for himself and most of all NEVER stood up for his relationship with Savannah and Tristan.  They deserved that and so much more.  I had to put the book down a couple of times and curse Robby out.  Then calm myself down in order to continue reading.  I wanted to smack him multiple times throughout this book.

Tristan, on the other hand-I truly LOVED, LOVED, LOVED Him!!  I loved watching him grow and become more confident.  How he had this childlike wonder and how he fell for Robby, was way beyond sweet to me.  I swear, you will just want to hug him and protect him from anything that could possibly hurt him.

Overall, I really adored this book.  I found it quite enjoyable, aside from not really respecting and wanting to smack Robby throughout most of the book. You will see how you can be broken and put back together again. You will never the same, but different and just maybe even better.  You will see that you can create your very own family and truly love and take care of each other.

I will say that this book is far more an emotional read than a sexy one.  There was a tiny bit of sex towards the end, but it really worked in this book.  The sexy wasn’t the steamy kind, just pretty loving and not erotic.  If that’s what you’re looking for, this is not the book for you.  This book has just so much.  There is abuse, some sexual that was off pages in a flashback and yet there was the promise of so much more.  Happiness, love, hope and most of all FAMILY!!  Those of blood and those we create.

4 Pants Off

Review: Housekeeping by Kim Fielding

Reviewed by SinChan
Housekeeping by Kim Fielding 
Dreamspinner Press
Short Story: 98pgs
3 Pants Off

Blurb:
When Nicky Hauser walks in on his restaurant-owner boyfriend having sex with a waiter, Nicky loses his lover, his job, and his home all in one night. Although he’s nearly thirty, he’s never settled on a true career, and he has nothing to show for his years with Tom. Depressed and unable to find work, Nicky ends up couch-surfing with friends until he lands a house-sitting gig for a wealthy family.

When Nicky’s clients discover that he loves to clean, demand for his services skyrockets. Word of mouth leads him to Spencer Cartwright, a busy computer consultant and a slob. Spencer and his wife divorced when he came out, but he’s never found the time or courage to settle down with a man. As Nicky sets Spencer’s house to rights, the two men find friendship. But Nicky’s past experiences make him wary of risking everything on love.

Review
The story mainly focuses on Nicky. He is at an all-time-low when his boyfriend cheats on him and he loses his job and house. He gets back on his feet with house sitting. Much later in the story, when Nicky has built a reputation among rich house owners as a house sitter, he gets together with Spencer. However, he is still too jaded because of his previous boyfriend, Tom, to try for a new relationship with Spencer.

Tom actually plays a big part in the story. However, the character is not fully developed. We don't know his side of the story regarding his past relationship with Nicky. The character himself is not really important but his role as the ex is critical and so he's mentioned a lot. I feel that if a character gets referenced a lot in the story, it's worthwhile to make the character three-dimensional with his own back-story.

I love that these are very ordinary characters with ordinary lives. Nicky is a very realistic character that many people can relate to. He struggles to find a direction in life and a career path. He has simple interests but none of them are extraordinary talents. Spencer doesn't stand out either. He's an all-around nice guy, but the story doesn't give a lot of his background info. There's not a lot of heavy feelings or drama in the book even though there could have been. It's a slow, romantic build up of Spencer and Nicky's relationship, which makes this story a cute fluffy read.

Overall, this is a sweet, romantic, short story that's a bit out of the norm with little character development but is still wonderful to read on a slow day.

3 Pants Off

Review: Danse Macabre by Janette

Reviewed by Fehu
Danse Macabre (Proud to be a Vampire) by Janette
Less Than 3 Press
Short Story
2 Pants Off

Blurb:
Angelo is the right hand problem solver for Broodmaster Ardoin Baptiste. He loves the hunt and thrives on the kill. Ordered to get rid of someone making Ardoin's life difficult, he finds that the job is nowhere near as simple as it should be—and just how deadly a weapon love can be.





Review
Well this one gets points for hot sex scenes.


The first meeting with Angelo and he is already having sex with his master vampire. Said sex is a bit of dub-con and sound a bit painful, what with happening without lube or preparation, but it is all explained away, as Angelo being a vampire and not feeling thing the same way as humans.

Someone has been encroaching on Ardoin's territory and he sends Angelo to find out who it was and how it was done. Angelo finds a normal human is behind it, but he has someone in his employment, with some highly unusual paranormal abilities. Of course Angelo's boss want said paranormal individual and Angelo has to make him come to the fold.


The whole story is very focused on sex, violent sex and I know this is not everyone taste. Personally I would have not minded the sex, but sometimes the scenes felt pointless and I was just confused about what the whole story was about. I didn't feel the love or a lot of tender emotions in this story, to go with the violent sex, so that did detract from my enjoyment of this particular story. 

I like romance and this one just didn't have enough of romance to make me care. The characters were not likable, they murdered without a conscience and there was mention of statuary rape at least, in one of the characters past and said character was still attached to the guy who used him like that as a child. I would have felt sorry for him if he was not a ruthless killer without any remorse for his victims. So yes, while the story was a bit confusing and a lot about some power play, the characters didn't have anything I could have liked about them, which made me uninterested in the story they had to tell and honestly with all the sex, they were not exactly about witty dialogs.


2 Pants Off

Monday, November 25, 2013

A Book A Week Giveaway: Week #2 (Bad Idea by Damon Suede)




Blurb:
Some mistakes are worth making.

Reclusive comic book artist Trip Spector spends his life doodling super-square, straitlaced superheroes, hiding from his fans, and crushing on his unattainable boss until he meets the dork of his dreams. Silas Goolsby is a rowdy FX makeup creator with a loveless love life and a secret streak of geek who yearns for unlikely rescues and a truly creative partnership.

Against their better judgment, they fall victim to chemistry, and what starts as infatuation quickly grows tender and terrifying. With Silas’s help, Trip gambles his heart and his art on a rotten plan: sketching out Scratch, a “very graphic novel” that will either make his name or wreck his career. But even a smash can't save their world if Trip retreats into his mild-mannered rut, leaving Silas to grapple with betrayal and emotions he can't escape.

What will it take for this dynamic duo to discover that heroes never play it safe?



  a Rafflecopter giveaway

Sunday, November 24, 2013

And the winners are....



Jen
* Winner of Catch A Ghost in the Book A Week Giveaway*



Ashley
* Winner of Stung by K.A Merikan*

What's Happening This Week!

Hey folks, hope you all had a wonderful week. It was a super busy last week here on POR, lots of reviews and guest posts. This week is a little slower but just awesome as we begin our second book a week giveaway. The winner for the first one has been chosen and I will announce later on today. If you didn't win this week there is still many chances to come and the books just keep getting more awesome.

For publishers/authors, it's the holidays and we want your stories. If you have any holiday themed books feel free to send them in for review so we can start posting up some Christmas joy.

Omo, Doctor Who 50th and can I tell you guys how I was in heaven all of Saturday night. My younger sister thinks I'm completely nuts but she doesn't understand the awesome that is The Doctor. I loved it all!

Without further ado, here’s whats causing a pants losing this week...

Reviews:
Serve Me by Various Authors (DarienMoya)
Housekeeping by Kim Fielding (SinChan)
Ghost of A Chance by Ari. McKay (Fehu)
A Package Deal by Mia Kerrick (Whuppsy)
A Marrying Man by Sandrine Gasq-Dion (DarienMoya)
Surprise, Surprise by Star Noble (SinChan)
Danse Macabre by Janette (Fehu)
The Gospel According to Cher by S.A Garcia (Whuppsy)
Taking A Chance by Anne Brooke (SinChan)
Single Use Only by Pender Mackie (Whuppsy)





Other Posts:
A Book A Week Giveaway: Bad Idea by Damon Suede 
Queer Romance Blog Hop: My Interview 


Have A Great Week!!

Friday, November 22, 2013

Spotlight, Giveaway, and Review: Shock & Awe by Abigail Roux



Blurb:
After barely surviving a shootout in New Orleans, Sidewinder medic Kelly Abbott has to suffer through a month of recovery before he can return home to Colorado. He’s not surprised when fellow Sidewinder Nick O’Flaherty stays with him in New Orleans. Nor is he surprised when Nick travels home with him to help him get back on his feet—after all, years on the same Marine Force Recon team bonded the men in ways that only bleeding for a brother can. He’s very surprised, though, when Nick humors his moment of curiosity and kisses him.

Nick knows all of Kelly’s quirks and caprices, so the kiss was a low-risk move on his part . . . or so he thought. But what should’ve been a simple moment unleashes a flood of confusing emotions and urges that neither man is prepared to address.

Now, Kelly and Nick must figure out what they mean to each other—friends and brothers in arms, or something even deeper?—before the past can come back to ruin their tenuous future.


You can read an excerpt and purchase Shock & Awe today from Riptide!

Contact the author: If you care to follow me more closely, you can find me on Tumblr, Twitter, Facebook, and my website. I hope to see you around.

Review
I'm a little bit shocked at myself for taking such a long time to finally read Abigail Roux. Like fa realz, Shock & Awe might just be the sexiest thing I've read it months. I read a lot of sex and most times I'm like "that was nice" but this little story had my eyes bugging and breathing erratic because jeez never was there such a sexy bunch of talk between men. I'm behind on the back-story of these men and pretty much everything (put the pitch forks down) but I am regretting the shit out of not having read the Cut & Run series yet cus I'm like sort of in love with everything going on.

Kelly and Nick are all sorts of delicious and I'm wondering if Nick went to school of dirty and sexy times cus man I was hanging on to his every word (Kelly that lucky equally sexy injured bastard). If I could be words I would choose to be these words. Loved Kelly's discovering his affections for a friend, and Nick's "you better be sure because I will tear your ass up" is so super sweet. I just really enjoyed these guys together.

Then the ending closed in and left me with sad feels and an overload of "Bitch you better go read the Cut & Run series" and my friends that I will do. I am just hoping this wasn't a one hit wonder and I can go on to get the same excitement from all Abigail Roux's books (I own a few) because I fell in love with her writing and sex, everything with the sex x_x dead.

Should You Read It? Is the pope catholic? That might be cheesiest shit I've ever said but the gist is "Hell effing yeah!” My pants are missing they don't wanna come back and the amazing part is that they wish the story was longer.

4.5 Pants Off

Contest
  • In celebration of Nick and Kelly’s coming out, so to speak, I’ve got three of their Heart and Clover T-shirts for three lucky commenters. And I’ve got five sets of trading cards with original artwork and character work-ups, something I intend to add new cards to every year, which makes this first year’s cards pretty important if you’re an obsessive collector like I am.

Thursday, November 21, 2013

Review: No Flag by Liz Borino

Reviewed by Whuppsy
No Flag by Liz Borino
Lazy Day Publishing
Novel: 255pgs
3.5 Pants Off

Blurb:
For Mike and Will, “No Flag” meant “come home alive”, but will their love survive what happens next?

Captain Mike Kelley does not ignore his intuition, so when sexy bartender Will Hayes captures his heart, Mike embarks on a mission to win him over to a Domestic Discipline relationship. Will accepts with one caveat: Mike must promise not to renew his Army contract. Mike agrees, and they spend a year building a life together, getting married, and starting a business.

Only days before their café’s grand opening, Mike receives news that threatens everything he and Will have built. The Army invokes the Stop Loss military policy to involuntarily extend his commission and send him back overseas. Will, left alone to cope with the café, must rely on the support of old friends who may no longer be trustworthy. Through emails and Skype calls, Mike and Will keep their love and structure alive…until the day a horrific terrorist attack occurs on Mike’s outpost.

Mike awakens in a hospital with a devastating injury and no memory of the attack. As the only survivor, Mike’s memory may be the key to national security. Mike struggles to cope with his injury and Will struggles to support the man who always held him up. Both fear they have lost their previous relationship. Will has Mike back rather than a folded flag, but in the aftermath of war, can they rebuild the life they had before? Especially when those closest to them may not have their best interests at heart?


Review
Army Captain Mike Kelly meets Will Hayes at a bar where Will is the bartender. They go home that first night and…nothing happens. Nothing happens during the first two months of their relationship. Which by the way is driving Will crazy. Will finally confronts Mike regarding what’s going on. Mike lets Will know that he’s into Domestic Discipline. Will is taken aback regarding this new information, however, he’s intrigued by the thought and he thinks that being with Mike is worth it. He just has one caveat-Mike must not renew his contract with the Army, which Mike does. They sign a contract and move forward in their Love and Lives.

For a year, they’ve worked to make their relationship grow. They get married and start a business together. Everything is going so very well and then the bomb gets dropped. Mike gets called into the office and is told that they are extending his commission under the Stop Loss Policy. They are both understandably upset, but what can they do?

While Mike is away they keep in touch via email and Skype doing their very best to keep the home fires burning. Will is getting support from his friends from college-Seth and Casey. Things are moving along until Mike gets injured during a terrorist attack. Mike returns home fearing that he’s not able to be the man that Will needs him to. That he needs to be to feel whole.

Mike, however, is the only survivor from the terrorist attack and he’s being asked to give a briefing regarding what happened before, during and after the attack. Between this and Will’s “friends” Casey and Seth giving grief, how will this end?

This book was a really good read. I loved seeing the relationship between Mike and Will blossom and grow. To watch and see how they both dealt with the separation and aftermath of the attack. How friendships endure and fail. I will say however, that I wanted to smack Will a couple of times regarding his dealings with Casey. I also didn’t understand Seth’s reactions to what was going on, but I guess it added to the angst of the book.

It was a pretty well paced book. I enjoyed how it ebbed and flowed along. There was no time that I wanted to bang my head on the wall and wish it would move along. I also loved the way the book was set up. Starts with Will learning of the attack and moves back in time to when they first met. I also like that she named the chapters. It gave you a glance into what was going to happen. I liked that the book had some angst, but it was never overwhelming or didn’t drag on and on.

I would say that this is a great book to read. You’ll enjoy reading about Will and Mike make mistakes and find their balance again. If you have a few hours and want to read a book that you will fall into, this is the book for you.

3.5 Pants Off

Guest Post: From the Bawdy to the Queer - "Shakespearotica" by Salome Wilde

If you studied Shakespeare with a good teacher or acted in any of his comedies, I don't have to tell you the Bard is bawdy. There is sex throughout his plays, both comic and tragic, and his often biting erotic wit is by no means out of date. Disdainful shepherdess Phoebe in As You Like It, for example, rejects her suitor with a familiar size joke, simply telling him he lacks "the measure for pleasure." Even in the hideous tragedy that is Titus Andronicus, we find a darkly potent "yo mama" crack. When Chiron complains, "Thou has undone our mother," Aaron retorts, "Villain, I have done thy mother."

Even so, diving in and making Shakespeare's work into overt erotica takes a devoted and creative mind and pen. When I decided to make my first adventure in erotic anthology editing focused on the Bard, I knew I was taking on a rich and exciting project. For those writers who love Shakespeare, it would be easy enough to envision what happens between the scenes of a favorite play or after the curtain closes. When lovers come together after misunderstandings or if tragedies could be averted, what glorious sex scenes we might find between Romeo and Juliet, Titania and Oberon, Othello and Desdemona, and Beatrice and Benedict.

But even as I envisioned these delicious pairings, I recognized the limitations in such a project for me. If Shakespeare is bawdy, he is also invested in challenging the boundaries of gender and sex. Consider his crossdressed female characters, his fairy magic, and the deep friendships between men.

With this in mind, my call for submissions for the volume requested a heightening of the suggestiveness of Shakespeare's investment in all things queer. I sought gay, lesbian, and/or bisexual pairings and grouping as well as gender-transgressive and/or trans characters. Writers could recast and rewrite familiar plays or focus on contemporary productions. And historical stories were as welcome as fantastic speculations.

What I received exceeded my imaginings, and the editing work was a labor of love and lust from start to finish. Penelope Addams' "For Love or Duty" fulfills my fondest gay Othello/Iago fantasies, and Louisa Bacio's "All Pucked Up" mixes and matches the lovers of A Midsummer Night's Dream to rouse the greedy bisexual in me. Anna Black's "By Any Other Name" takes us back to Shakespeare's London and the pretty boys who became the stage's pretty women, and Tilly Hunter's "As We Like It" blends science fiction and trans desires to create a sensitive and titillating otherworldly romance. Other stories shift focus to the present day, telling of lesbian, gay, and crossdressed actors in contemporary performances to which we are invited to peek at the intimate interactions going on backstage.

I love the blend of ten uniquely erotic and engaging tales you'll find in Shakespearotica: Queering the Bard because I love Shakespeare, I love erotica, and I love queerness. My experience in editing allowed me to bring these three loves together to reach far beyond my own imagination and right into my heart... and places slightly lower. I am confident the collection will offer something for every fan of erotica and romance, whether you're a literary devotee or just Bard curious.


Shakespearotica: Queering the Bard is now available in eBook ($4.99) and print ($9.99) versions through the Storm Moon Press site!

Salome Wilde (@SalomeWilde on Twitter) is the author of pansexual erotica and romance in genres from contemporary to historical and from Southern Gothic to hardboiled detective. She loves hurt-comfort and naughty humor in equal measure, as long as she gets her HEA. She is thrilled to be a writer for Storm Moon Press, with whom she has published the first of a three-novella series as well as her irst edited anthology, Shakespearotica: Queering the Bard.

Review: Love's Nest by Leta Blake & Keira Andrews

Reviewed by Whuppsy
Love's Nest (Tempting Tales #3) by Leta Blake and Keira Andrews
Ellora's Cave
Novel: 161pgs
2 Pants Off

Blurb:
There’s no greater mystery in the kingdom than how Prince Mateo’s sisters wear out their shoes each night while locked away in their chambers. Using old magic, Mateo discovers their secret and follows them through a portal to an enchanted world of fairies and lusty delights.

Ópalo has waited years for his male human, and he knows Mateo is his destiny. Mateo soon succumbs to the pleasures of the flesh, but as their worlds collide, Ópalo has to risk everything to win his man forever.


Review
Prince Mateo is the youngest of twelve children (twelve!!!) and the only son of The King. There is a mystery afoot, what oh what can his 11 sisters be doing at night that their slippers are ruined? Mateo’s father has decided to find out and he’s not against using his children as a reward. ALL OF HIS CHILDREN!! Mateo included!! Mateo’s not going to stand for this, as he wants the right to live his own life, not the life that someone else requires of him.

Mateo takes it upon himself to find out what’s going on and with the help of his former maid and a magical cloak, he’s off to see what his sister’s are up too. He follows them through a portal into the land of Fairy. The same land of fairy that they heard about as children, there he sees his sisters fall into the arms of their mates. As he watches he sees another someone there alone, Opalo. Opalo takes Mateo with him across the lake and shows him the life that his sisters are so taken with.

Opalo has been waiting for years for his “bride”. The one for whom he was created to be with. He knows the moment that he sees Mateo that his wishes have come true. That this handsome man is the one!! Opalo helps Mateo to see the wonder of being in Fairy. He also shows Mateo something that Mateo has never had…Passion! Opalo teaches Mateo all about the sensual delights of the flesh. But the one thing that he requires, more than anything is Mateo’s heart, his love.

Yet, there here is the crux of the problem…Mateo refuses to fall in love. He’s seen the devastation that happens when you love and lose the one you love. He’s watched his Father become heartbroken and grief-stricken with the loss of his wife. That is something that Mateo wants to avoid at all costs.

Now this is a sweet, story. No real angst or mystery. This is just a sweet, tender love story. If you have a hankering for a story that will leave you feeling sweetly gooey, this is the story for you.

2 Pants Off

Review: Convergence by Talya Andor

Reviewed by Fehu
Convergence (Proud to be a Vampire) by Talya Andor
Less Than 3 Press
Novella
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
Chris and Ling travel the world in search of rare, exquisite curiosities, but treasure hunting is rife with danger and comes with a price. In order to retrieve a lost treasure deep within a perilous mountain, Chris hires on a vampire. But traveling with a predator comes with its own risks, and their venture may collapse into absolute loss unless they can each find the opportunity in one another.



Review
Charming characters and a nice action/adventure plot, a la Indiana Jones just with a vampire and gay blokes.
Chris works for his father on paper, but follows up his private interest in archaeological artifacts and treasures, with his partner and childhood friend Ling. A new treasure hunt in China brings with it a need for a special being. Chris can only succeed in recovering the old artefact, with the help of a dead or in this case undead person - a vampire.

Since it's not exactly easy to find a vampire per announcement in the paper, at least you cannot request one; Chris devises a plan and publishes a poem instead. The only one to answer is the mysterious, but quite charming Dorran. Dorran proves to be more interesting than Chris anticipated and soon he finds himself fighting his growing fascination with the vampire, whose interest and loyalties, Chris is still unsure of. They travel together to China and have to survive a more than one test, to get to the artefact and the last challenge might prove to be quite deadly to Chris.
I've read other book from this author, but so far no paranormal story and I hope to see more of Chris and Dorran, since their relationship just begins after they get back, at the very end.

The characters were interesting, but of course had their faults, which made them quite charming. I was a bit disappointed in how easy the guys solved the challenges and that they didn't need all that much time to do it. Action/adventure stories do need time, at least in my opinion. Thankfully the recovering of the artefact was not the end of this story and I was glad to see that Chris and Dorran did not just rush in a relationship. The slow build in the relationship was a bit of a contrast to the quick progress of the plot. Still for a story of this length, it was a pretty good in terms of plot and characters.

It's a story that leaves you wanting to read more!

Should You Read It? I very much enjoy this story and liked the characters, so I would recommend it. After said that, I'd love to see another story with these characters and where the adventure part is a bit more drawn out!


4 Pants Off

Wednesday, November 20, 2013

Review: Omorphi by C. Kennedy

Omorphi by C. Kennedy
Harmony Ink Press
Novel: 448pgs
2.75 Pants Off

Blurb:
High school senior Michael Sattler leads a charmed life. He’s a star athlete, has great friends, and parents who love him just the way he is. What’s missing from his life is a boyfriend. That’s a problem because he’s out only to his parents and best friend. When Michael accidentally bumps into Christy Castle at school, his life changes in ways he never imagined. Christy is Michael’s dream guy: smart, pretty, and sexy. But nothing could have prepared Michael for what being Christy's boyfriend would entail.

Christy needs to heal after years of abuse and knows he needs help to do it. After the death of his notorious father, he leaves his native Greece and settles in upstate New York. Alone, afraid, and left without a voice, Christy hides the myriad scars of his abuse. He desperately wants to be loved and when he meets Michael, he dares to hope that day has arrived. When one of Michael’s team-mates becomes an enemy and an abuser from Christy’s past seeks to return him to a life of slavery, only Michael and Christy's combined strength and unwavering determination can save them from the violence that threatens to destroy their future together.


Review
I am struggling how to approach this review because the book deals with such a sensitive and hard hitting topic. On one hand it’s easy to believe what was done to MC Christy because lets be real human can be great asshole and we hear about the nasty that can be done to innocent lives. So while Christy's abuse tore at my heart it’s the overall events of this book that I have a problem with.

Michael is believable as the closeted athlete and him falling for the beautiful Christy is quite nice and Christy being equally drawn to Michael. Its apparent from the get go that Christy has a lot to get over but Michael is already half in love and is willing to stick by him. It’s all so sweet already and I was thinking how much I was going to love it just reading about Michael loving Christy and finally making him feel safe. Well...things sort of went downhill for me when crazy starting coming from every side and it turned into a Final Destination (everyone must go) type of thing.

It's like whatever bad thing I was thinking would happen does, and my eye roll numerous came out in full swing. I can believe in a crazy homophobe but not 25 of them (gross exaggeration) and with a car bombing, Christy in flames, dead squirrels in lockers, gun being pulled at a club, near drowning, attack with a bat, death threat phone calls, I was over it. Its either everything was really good or very bad and I could not find a balance.

I'm all about overcoming and empowering characters but all the theatrics took away from me really enjoying this one. My highlights were the interactions between Michael and Christy, their dialogue and Christy's strength made this not totally horrible for me to read. Again, really sensitive and hard hitting content but the crazy that ensues kind of made what happened and what was happening to Christy feel light and I am sure that was not the overall intent.

Should You Read It? I can't really call this one because again I stand as the odd one out with my feelings. Omorphi just did not work for me on a number of levels but it might be the book for you (to each his/her own).

SideNote: I am a fan of a boy that dresses up and plays with gender that wins everytime.


DarienMoya

Review: An Erie Halloween by V.L Locey

Reviewed by SinChan
An Erie Halloween by V.L Locey
Torquere Press
Short Story: 79pgs
4 Pants Off

Blurb:
Templeton Reed has been hiding his inner polecat since he was a child. Keeping his animal secreted is hard for a shifter, especially when one is living in a secret community of mystical beings. It`s the wolf shifters that cause Templeton the most trouble with their darned sensitive noses.

Templeton has a run-in with the Lake Erie pack and their alpha, Mikel Lupei, at the Office for Transmogrification Registration (OTTER). Templeton has a desk job checking registration papers and dealing with wolf shifters is not part of his job description. After that upsetting meeting the meek and mild office worker suddenly finds himself in the center of not only civil unrest among the shifter community, but a violent plan for a coup aimed at rousting Mikel.

Templeton and Mikel, a skilled tracker of rogue shifters, are soon not only fighting for their lives, they`re also fighting the rigidly archaic rules of their kind, as well as the person responsible for trying to take over Mikel`s pack from the inside. Can this magical odd couple turn a passionate attraction into a full-fledged love affair?


Review
I love that there is a hierarchy among shifters and they can be discriminated by species, gender, and sexual orientation. I think this story is more contemporary in terms of the issues the characters are dealing with and how their society is changing. Women are trying to gain positions of power and shifters are fighting for gay rights. The story has a strong underlying message with its romance package.

The mystery plot is wonderfully done and keeps the reader in the dark. Some rogue shifters are murdering "lesser shifters" and Templeton narrowly escapes being killed on Halloween night. I wish more foreshadowing is done to clue into the perpetrators so they don't come as a surprise (or complete strangers) at the end of the story.

There's no mate bond with the shifters but the attraction between Mikel and Templeton is still apparent. Mikel is the popular wolf shifter who's also secure in his position as an alpha wolf in the shifter society. Templeton, on the other hand, is a skunk shifter. He dyes his hair and hides whenever there's trouble and knows he's a lesser shifter who's not on par with the popular wolf shifters. I like Templeton's inner voice telling the story and his HEA ending.

This is a short, funny, romance story with skunk shifters and a dark plan to overthrow the male dominated wolf shifter pack. I definitely recommend this for shifter fans.

4 Pants Off

Guest Post: Chat with Dale & Keyno of "The Harvest" by M.A Church


The Harvest: Taken - by M.A. Church Available at Storm Moon Press, All Romance eBooks, and Amazon!

Blurb: In the year 2050, humanity finds out they are indeed not alone.

Massive space ships appear without warning above the capital cities of all major nations. The planet Tah'Nar is dying. Chemical warfare has reduced the once-intersexed warrior race to sterility. They need fresh DNA in order to reproduce and have an idea for a harvesting program... and so they turn to Earth.

Earth governments negotiate a lottery, and Dale Michael assumes he's safe since he's under the Harvest age limit. How wrong he is. He's illegally harvested and claimed by Tah'Narian starship captain Keyno Shou. From the moment Keyno sees Dale, he knows he must claim the spirited human male for his own. What he doesn't expect is a spitfire with a mind of his own—and a deadly disease that will require a risky procedure to cure.

Hey everyone! My name is M.A. Church and I'd like to introduce you to the Tah'Narians, a novel about an alien species that took me over a year to write. Keyno, one of the main characters, is a spaceship captain. Dale, my human, will be the one Keyno takes as his mate. Sounds simple, right? Oh, believe me, this love story is anything but simple.

I'm going to let Dale and Keyno tell you their story. I think they can do it better than I can?

* * * * *

Dale: Well hey, everyone. My name is Dale Michaels, and I was harvested illegally by my loving mate.

Keyno: Dammit, Dale... Gods, nothing like just jumping right into the middle of it.

Dale: Oh by the way, I guess you could say "Dammit, Dale" is my nickname. Keyno tends to say it a lot.

Keyno: Huh, I wonder why.

Dale: *snort* We're so not going there. Anyway, back to what I was saying. In a nutshell, the Tah'Narians came to Earth, told its leaders they needed DNA, and set up a program to basically 'harvest' males as mates. A lotto was set up and numbers were drawn. I wasn't supposed to be part of the harvest; I was under the age limit that had been set. But it seems my mate had other ideas.

Keyno:*cringe* I've told you why I did what I did, why we do what we do. And you know my feelings on this. I wish...

Dale: *reaches over and pats Keyno* I know, babe. I can't help it if it took me a while to understand. What your kind did was wrong. *slashes hand through air* I know your species was dying. I get that, and get how that would make a race desperate. But keep in mind, you guys brought it on yourselves.

Keyno: We did. Attacking the Onfre was the stupidest thing the old king of our race ever did. We paid horribly and dragged many other species into our troubles.

Dale: Yes, you guys did. The people out there need to know you guys aren't as bad as you first seem. They'll see. But, this harvest was different. Things happened that changed history. Out of your offer to help the Onfre captain, you met Captain Ti of the Onfre. Look what came form that... all the things that came from that.

Keyno: True. *laugh* And Colt. Don't forget Colt.

Dale: Believe me, that's hard to do. He's... something else, and still makes my hair stand on end. But Colt wasn't the only person to be changed by what the Tah'Narians did. I found Chad again, met John... A whole race learned the true meaning of peace, too.

Keyno: All I did was offer Ti help when he was attacked. You offered friendship with a simple meal. You, my mate, made the difference and still are. You are my world, and I love you.

Dale: *rubs Keyno's pointed ear* You overgrown alley cat, I love you, too, even if I did want to tie your tail in knots in the beginning.

Excerpt

Once our meal was over we returned to our cabin so I could study more. Keyno had reports he needed to read. I didn't want to think how... homey this was. I settled on the couch and pulled the gadget on. Half way through the hour session, I pulled it off and rubbed my eyes.

Keyno looked up from the small desk. A hologram image was in front of him. He waved his hand and the image disappeared. "What's wrong? You're pale."

"My head's hurting, and I'm slightly nauseous." I patted my belly, trying to settle the grumbling down. "Is that a common side effect of this thing?"

"No. No one has ever complained about that before." Keyno frowned at me. "Maybe I should call our Chief Medical Officer, Tanlor Kere."

I opened my mouth to tell him not to worry about it when I was seized by a horrible stomach cramp. The pain in my head worsened, blindsiding me. "Keyno? Ah, shit, I feel like I'm going to—"

"Gods, you're green, Dale. Hold on." Keyno hurried around the desk and helped me to the bed. He wet a washcloth, and the coolness did help settle my stomach some. Keyno buzzed their doctor, and seconds later he arrived with a portakit.

"Hello, Dale. I'm Doc. Remember meeting me earlier while you ate? I'm going to look you over and see what the problem is. All right? I won't hurt you."

I did remember him. "Hey, Doc." I lay on the bed, being very still. The less I moved, the better.

He ran tests on me, his face carefully blank. Finally, he injected me with something to help with the pain. With a warm smile, he stepped away and motioned Keyno to follow him. Keyno and Doc stood outside the door, talking for several minutes before Keyno returned. Swear to God, were all doctors the same?

Moments later, Keyno returned to the bedside. "Tanlor—whom we call Doc— requested that you stay in bed for the next twenty-four hours. What he injected you with will stop the pain and nausea soon."

"What's going on?" I whimpered as the pain stabbed at me again and then slowly faded.

"Do you remember the conversation that you had with Chad earlier?" Keyno sighed. "Remember when he told you that you were injected with our DNA?"

"Yeah," I moaned as a bolt of nausea swept through me. "How did you know what we talked about?"

"I asked him to speak to you about certain things that you needed to know." Keyno gently settled on the bed.

"Am I having a reaction?" I gritted my teeth as my stomach cramped up again. When the hell was that stuff going to take effect?

"No!" Keyno gasped loudly. "No, you're fine. This just wasn't expected to happen quite so fast."

"What wasn't expected to happen so fast?" I was now more worried about why he was avoiding giving me a straight answer.

Author Bio:

M.A. Church lives in the southern United States and spent many years in the elementary education sector. She is married to her high school sweetheart and they have two children. Her hobbies are gardening, walking, attending flea markets, watching professional football, racing, and spending time with her family on the lake.

But her most beloved hobby is reading. From an early age, she can remember hunting for books at the library. Later nonhuman and science fiction genres captured her attention and drew her into the worlds the authors had created. But always at the back of her mind was the thought that one day, when the kids were older and she had more time, she would write a book.

By sheer chance she stumbled across a gay male romance story on the web and was hooked. A new world opened up and she fell in love. Thus the journey started. When not writing or researching, she enjoys reading the latest erotic and mainstream romance novels. She can be found on her blog, Twitter, Facebook, and Goodreads!