Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Interview & Giveaway: Anne Brooke (Featured Author)

I am super excited to welcome Anne Brooke to the blog. As our author of the week, and interview seems fitting. So I am sitting down with Anne, and we are chatting it up.

Hi Anne and welcome to Pants Off, it's great to have you here.

 Tell us a bit about yourself and how long you've been writing? 
Hello, great to be here! I’m a slightly insane redhead, I live in the UK and I work part-time as a PA in my local University. I’ve written poetry for years, but only started to write fiction in Y2K when I ran out of rhymes. The poetry did come back in the end, but the rhymes are fewer. I love theatre-going and all chocolate except Ferrero Rocher (can’t stand them, for some reason …), so I’m not sure I could live in a world without chocolate or plays.

 * I also dislike Ferrero Rocher. Like seriously, it's not that good*

 Was gay romance something you always wanted to write? Or did you develop an interest over time? 
Oh yes, I’ve had the voice of a gay man – or more likely several gay men – in my head from a very early age so writing from the male viewpoint always seemed to be the most natural way to do it. If I write from the female point of view, I have to really concentrate, or alternatively the voice becomes lesbian or bisexual, which somehow makes it easier.


I've read a few of your stories now, and each of them are very unique. Some are fun eg 'The Delaneys'. Some are filled with angst and the tortured hero like in 'The Heart's Greater Silence'. Can you share with me about where your inspiration comes from? How your stories get their start?
Some of my stories are inspired by particular invitations from publishers, for instance my upcoming gay short Where You Hurt The Most will be part of the Riptide Publishing Love For Sale anthology. Others are stories I might start dreaming about and then have to write them down when I wake up just to see what happens next (yes, I’m a seat-of-my-pantser and never a planner!).

At other times, I might look and see what kind of submission themes publishers are interested in and then try to write one of those. The story itself might not get submitted to the publisher in question if I’m still working on it when the deadline passes, but I can always try other markets once the story is ready. You never know your luck! Other great sources of inspiration are news programmes, magazine articles and even things people say – people have such fascinating lives that they always give me something to think about.

 I see that you love poetry. Has one of your poems ever been the inspiration behind one of your stories, or vice versa?
I’m not sure! It’s funny how my fiction and poetry writing tend to run in parallel and don’t meet that often. Though, now I think of it, very occasionally I’ll find myself writing a poem from a character’s viewpoint, and readers do say that there’s a sense of the poetic about my more literary fiction – so perhaps they influence each other more than I realise. In some ways, it’s more of a personal preference, as I’d really miss one genre if I had to give it up for any reason – practising the two together seems to make sense, for me anyway.



Is it hard to write all that hot and sexy man love in your books?
Absolutely. It’s a real trauma and you can’t begin to imagine how difficult it is, tee hee. Still, someone’s got to do the tough jobs, and it may as well be me! Seriously though, I must admit I enjoy writing the sex scenes and the scenes of violence (if any) best of all – which probably says something really worrying about me, but let’s not go there … It’s the scenes in between those that can be tricky.




So fresh from the release of The Heart’s Greater Silence. Can you share with us your future plans in writing?
At the moment, I’m just about to enter the editing phase for Where You Hurt The Most with Riptide. I’m also writing the fifth of the Delaneys Series for Amber Allure, which is called The Delaneys At Home. And I’m slowly getting my thinking cap on for a sequel to gay BDSM story For One Night Only. In the middle of all that, I’m continuing to work on my gay novella, The Taming of The Hawk – but that’s very slow progress, I have to say.



Will we ever get to read a novel from you?
Actually, I currently have two gay novels, both dark-themed thrillers, available. A Dangerous Man is published by Cheyenne Publishing and Bristlecone Pine Press, and The Bones of Summer is available from Dreamspinner Press. I’ve also written a gay romantic comedy, The Hit List (Amber Allure), a romantic comedy based in a gay nightclub, Pink Champagne and Apple Juice (Bristlecone Pine Press), and a bisexual thriller, Thorn in The Flesh (Bristlecone Pine Press). You can find details of all these books at my Gay Reads site. In addition, I’ve also written a fantasy trilogy with a gay scribe as my main character, and the first of these, The Gifting, is available from Bluewood Publishing. The second and third of the series are due out later this year or in 2013, and more details of these can be found at The Gathandrian Trilogy site.

*My research clearly sucks, judging by the question ^_^*

Mark from The Heart’s Greater Silence. Will he ever have his own book? 
Not sure he’ll ever get a whole novel, but there may well be a sequel somewhere in the offing. But I’m afraid there are other stories to tell before I can get there – though you never know …

The gay Twilight, would you write it?
I wish I could! But I’m not sure I’d have the energy!

* I am starting to lose hope*

Pants, is it better to write with them on or off? (for research purposes only)
Ooh, I couldn’t possibly say – it’s entirely up to the writer in question, but I happen to think that French knickers are the best invention ever! Say no more...


If readers want to contact you or learn more about your books. Where can they find you?
I have a main website, and one at Gay Reads UK. You can find me on Facebook and Twitter, and I also have a Facebook Fan Page. All visitors are very welcome indeed.

Thank You Anne for being here today. It was lovely having you and chatting it up!
Thank you for inviting me – I’ve really enjoyed being here today! As a special treat, anyone leaving a comment on this post together with their email details will be entered into a competition to win ONE free ebook from my backlist – good luck, all!

So Yes There is a giveaway! Contest runs until March 6th 12:00AM EST Just leave a Comment with your email.

- must be 18 or older
- leave email address with your comment
- you have 48hrs to reply to email or another winner will be chosen (make sure my email doesn't become spam)
- winner will be chosen by random.org/rafflecopter

Tuesday, February 28, 2012

Author Week: The Art Of The Delaneys by Anne Brooke

The Art of the Delaneys (Delaneys #3) by Anne Brooke
Amber Allure
Short Story: 46pages
Rating: 4 out of 5

Blurb:
Liam is determined to prove to the Delaney twins that he’s more than just a good bed-partner for them. His chance to show them what he’s worth comes unexpectedly soon when his boss at the art gallery, Melissa, is asked by the Delaneys to take part in an art scam, and Liam agrees to help her.

When the Delaneys turn up with their henchmen on the night of the scam, Melissa and Liam are startled to discover that it will involve a painting by one of their best artists. Can Liam make sure the gallery doesn't get too seriously involved and keep the Delaneys satisfied, in the only way he knows how, at the same time?


Review:
Art of the Delaneys finally gives us some insight into the Delaneys dodgy business and a development in the relationship between the twins and Liam. It was great to see some sort of progression in the plot, offered up with hot sex.

Liam works at an art gallery, and his boss notices that he seems pretty out of it. A talk in the office has Liam expressing how he feels about the twins and where he wants the relationship to go. He also wants o impress them, and his boss gives him the opportunity to do so. It’s all about the shady art deal, and will Liam have the skills to impress them, and come out unscathed from his first taste of crime.

So some new developments in the relationship, and I am excited about things to come. I just have some small peeves. I love Liam’s voice, he is snarky and funny but I feel he’s becoming just too submissive. I hardly recognize him from the first book. Mark is also becoming too much with the ‘I am in charge’ crap. He’s really starting to grind my gears *hard*, I want a softer side from him.

Overall, another great addition to the series. The tone is light and sexy funny and it’s just a great way to spend a few minutes. The sex is hot, and I am just loving how it’s becoming more spicy. As I always say “3 is never a crowd”.

SideNote-
I recommend you read this series from the beginning, if you’re a fan of ménage fun.

4 Pants Off


Author Week: Entertaining the Delaneys by Anne Brooke

Entertaining The Delaneys (The Delaney #2) by Anne Brooke
Amber Allure
Short Stort: 41pages
Rating: 4 out of 5

Blurb:
Since his initial encounter with the Delaney twins, Liam's thoughts have turned back to them time and time again, and he can't help hoping for another meeting. His chance happens one night when Mark Delaney rings and tells him to get into the car waiting outside. Liam does so at once, eager to see the twins again.

Once at the Delaney estate, Liam is at first overawed by the grandeur and style of his surroundings, the lush gardens replete with nude statues and the opulence of the residence itself, but seeing Mark, together with Johnny, focuses his mind on the entertainment to come. And it looks as if entertainment is certainly what's in store. A business associate of the Delaneys, Mr. Buchanan, has agreed a deal with the twins, and part of that deal is Liam himself!

How will the evening end, and will Liam be able to handle the salacious challenges thrown at him this time?


Review:
I have two words to describe this series so far ‘Sexy Fun’.  It’s like the best sexiest fun ever. It has two of my favourite things in the M/M genre, twins and a ménage. Though the twins aren't getting all up close and personal, it is still one hell of a freaking good time.

Liam is back with his crazy, and he cannot wait to see the Delaneys again. He is anticipating when they will call on him and he doesn’t have to wait long, because he is invited to their mansion for a little playtime. Liam is freaking out, because he doesn’t know how everything will go down on their turf.

It seems Liam must be the entertainment for the twin, and one of their business partners. That’s not too bad, because Liam is great at putting on a show, and what a show it is. Liam also expresses the things he wants, and proves he’s not just a body. He doesn’t mind being used, but it only has to be by the Delaneys. The Delaneys personality also starts to emerge in this story, and instead of being one entity they become Johnny and Mark.

The story is extended sex scene, but we learn a lot in this sex scene. There is so much that is explored and it has me anticipating the things to come. I want to know Mark more, the domineering and the one in control. Johnny the buffer between Liam and Mark, and he is incredibly sweet. I also want to know the story between Mark and Johnny. There has to be a story, their relationship is brotherly, yet it’s a bit more than that.

Once again, Anne proves her mastery at writing stories, and hot man loving. I want to know more about Liam and his two lovers. Will there be a relationship? On the other hand, will he just be a fuck they call, when he is needed? I am just anticipating more serious pants losing and murky waters ahead.


4 Pants Off



 

Monday, February 27, 2012

Author Week: The Delaneys & Me by Anne Brooke

The Delaneys & Me (The Delaneys #1) by Anne Brooke
Amber Allure
Short Story: 35pages
Rating: 4 out of 5

Blurb:
When Liam makes a scene in the middle of a restaurant after his boyfriend, Brandon, dumps him, he knows Brandon’s cousins, the Delaney twins, will be after him. The Delaneys head up the local gangster scene and are not to be messed with. Liam knows their retribution is imminent, especially since, in the heat of the moment, he threatened to take what he knows (and, really, he doesn’t know much) to the police.

It’s a recipe for disaster.

But when the Delaneys confront Liam, they give him a choice between being shot or having sex with both of them, and Liam senses that his evening might turn out to be rather more interesting than originally expected...


Review:
This was one fantastic short, and I am not surprised because the author sure knows how to write them. It has filled with wit, drama, and a whole lot of sexy. The Dalaneys & Me is a whole lot of awesomeness packed into 35 pages.

Liam is making a scene and it could cost him his life, but he doesn't care because his boyfriend Brandon is dumping him in the middle of a restaurant. Liam knows better than to cause a scene and embarrass Brandon, because he is the cousin to the Delaney twins. The twins take family seriously and Liam just seriously ofenced (I am so sure that is not a word, but it's my word). You see folks, the Delaneys are major crime bosses and Liam is about to have his kneecaps broken.

 Liam knows they are going to get him and it's only a matter of time before they dish out his punishment. What he never expects is the offer to sleep with both of them, and how can he say no when the other option is being shot (not to die only to maim). Yep, the choice is easy. It's super sexy twin sandwich time.

I really liked this one, though I was expecting some kind of twincest (yes I like that sorta stuff) but rest assured there is no hot twin hook-up. However, I get the feeling that the brothers feelings runs deeper than brotherly love. I am really excited to see what Liam and the bros get up to, and with three more books in the series to go. It's gonna be one heck of a good time!


4 Pants Off




 



Sunday, February 26, 2012

What's Happening This Week: Author Week

Howdy folks!I can't believe another week is beginning, where does the time go? I want February to be over, because it hasn't been the greatest month for me, but I am hoping March brings good things.

I have a crazy awesome week planned. It's Author Week on Pants Off, and I am reading/reviewing books by the awesome Anne Brooke. Also, Anne will be stooping by for an interview and giveaway. So its gonna be fun, so be sure to stop by and get in on the fun. So here's whats causing a pants losing this week.





Monday- Review for The Delaneys & Me. I really liked this short, so funny and sexy time.

Tuesday- Review of Entertaining the Delaneys & The Art of the Delaneys. These three men sure know how to have a good time.

Wednesday- Anne Brook is stopping by for an interview and giveaway. So stop by and see what Anne has to say.

Thursday- Review for Give and Take. I liked this short, about a man starting to get out in the world again after losing his partner to cancer.

Friday- I review, for One Night Only. I really wished this one was longer.

Saturday- Dating the Delaneys. It must be so tough to date, the sexy crime twin.


Check out my review for The Heart's Greater Silence


So stop by and check out Author Week, I hope it's the beginning of many author weeks to come.

Have a Fab week folks ^_^

Friday, February 24, 2012

SHORTS by Arthur Wooten

Arthur Wooten's Shorts
Galaxias Productions
Short Novella: 74pages
Rating: 4 out of 5

Blurb:
ARTHUR WOOTEN'S SHORTS
A Stroke Of Luck: a short story

Chip Lowell is a sexy, spicy and self-confident celebrity chef who is just about to debut his first television cooking show. But in the blink of an eye, a life-altering incident forces him to change his menu and reevaluate himself and the people in his life.

The "Dear Henry" Letters

For two years Arthur was the humorist for the London magazine, reFRESH. In each issue of this gay publication he wrote a letter to his exasperating and fictional lover, Henry, explaining the never-ending reasons why they must end their relationship.

But as we all know, sometimes breaking up is really hard to do.


Review:
I was never expecting the amount of awesomeness in this short little book. It’s the most laughs I have had since the year started. I am so happy; I took the chance and decided to review this book. These Shorts will have you in stitches.

The first story, A Stroke of Luck was a sweet look at having a second chance at life. Chip Lowell is in the prime of his life; he is a top chef and has boy toys of all ages to play with. He has no one significant person in his life, he's an in and out type of guy. The men he sleeps with they know the deal, and Chip knows he’s a catch. With a new cooking show in the upcoming, life can’t be more fabulous for Chip, until the most unaccepted incident befalls him.

Chip has suffered a stroke, and it comes as shock because he has never been sick a day in his life. He ultimately suffers alone, and in the midst of it all, he realizes that he had no true friends. With the help of Allie his nurse, Chip is able to make it through his days in the hospital. When its time to leave the hospital, he needs in home care and he takes the one person he has come to depend on, Allie. It seems Chip has been dealt a good hand, because he gets to start over and found someone in the process.

I really enjoyed reading this story. It’s a case of anything can happen, and you never know when it will.

Dear Henry

 
This is where the awesome comes in. A series of letters written over a few years by Arthur, breaking up with a fictional boyfriend (refer to blurb). These letters cover kink, all the things that can go wrong in a relationship and the fact sometimes we just keep going back to douche bag boyfriends.
 

A laugh riot of epic proportions, Henry had me in stitches. I think if he were real… I would have really liked to be his friend. The author has an uncanny skill of writing humour, and just a way with words. The letters are the highlight of the book, and for that reason alone, you should go check it out.
"I should have written sooner to thank you for my birthday present but truth be told you had the wrong day and the wrong month. And you sent it to the wrong address. You’re an ass.Are You an Inny or an Outy-Dear Henry Letters

I will be reading this one again, because I just have to experience the letters over and over again. I am still cracking up.



4 Pants Off


Thursday, February 23, 2012

And The Winners Are!!


*Mimi & Natasha won the Naughty Blog Hop. Emails have been sent, you have 48hrs to reply or another winner gets chosen.*

Thanks for participating guys, and I hope you stop by again.

Few Are Chosen by Storm Grant

Few Are Chosen by Storm Grant
Riptide Publishing
Short Story: 46pages
Rating: 4 out of 5

Blurb:
Sparks fly between virgin teenage demon hunters when the Chosen One turns out to be the Chosen . . . Two?

Apprentice warrior Blake St. Blake is the Chosen One, raised by an ancient order to defend the world against evil. Well, maybe not the whole world, but at least his neighborhood in downtown Detroit. When a dreaded reflux demon is sighted in a local cemetery, Blake is sent off to his very first battle, armed with his sword, his super-senses, his black leather duster, and a few well-rehearsed one-liners.

But another Chosen One gets in Blake’s way—an apprentice wizard named Shadow. While the boys argue about who’s the more chosen of the two, the demon escapes.

Blake wants to be angry, but it turns out he and Shadow have a lot in common. Besides, Shadow’s pretty cute, and Blake can’t help but think that the wizard’s skills (and hands and lips and other bits) might make the perfect complement to his. Blake and Shadow are brave enough to challenge the reflux demon in a second battle, but will they have the courage to tell each other how they feel?


Review:
With a name like Blake St. Blake, how the hell can I not love this cute and funny story. Blake the demon slayer out on his first mission to rid the world of evil, with his well practiced lines and sword skills (not that sword, get your mind out of the gutter). He is also the chosen one, destined to save the world, but first he has to figure out this whole demon-slaying thing.

When an acid spitting demon shows up at the cemetery, he is patrolling. Blake is ready to put his skills to the test. Just when he is ready to do a showdown, another demon slayer jumps out wielding an awesmazing glowing stick and possesses power Blake only wish he had. It kinda pisses him off but he can’t help noticing that Mr Glowing Stick is a hottie.

What Blake later learns is that he is not the only chosen, he is one of the chosen ones (talk about feeling less important) and glowing stick boy is called Shadow. It seems Blake and Shadow have a lot in common, and a mutual attraction might be one of them.

This little short was super hilarious, because Blake is super hilarious. He was trying so hard to be all tough demon slayer, but in the end, he is just a kid learning the ropes. Blake and Shadow are a pants losing waiting happen, their fumbling into the sexual domain was just super sweet. I do declare they will be one kick ass team.

Let me just say that this story has the potential to be one great series. I want to see Blake and Shadow again as they grow into their demon ass kicking ways. I want to see their mistakes and triumphs and I just know it will be one great hell of a time. These boys will make you smile, and Blake St. Blake is one heck of a scene-stealer.

‘I proclaim thee worthy to be read’


4 Pants Off



Wednesday, February 22, 2012

You, Me & Yaoi: Cut #4

By: Kiriko Fuwa
Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Blurb:
Koutaro is a carefree young temp worker, while Asahi is seven years older and an elite salaryman. Due to Asahi's busy schedule, the two men can only be together for two weekends every month. When Koutarou accidentally breaks Asahi's glasses, the incident reveals Asahi's vulnerable side, and he realizes that the glasses are something his lover needs "so much that he can't live on normally without them"; now Koutarou wishes he could be that important to Asahi...


 Buy Manga Here

3 1/2 Pants Off

Thoughts: I really wanted to give this one more than 3.5. However, in the end most of the stories were just ‘Meh’.

The first three stories: Weekend Lovers, Selfish Weekend, and Selfish Weekend Extra. Focuses on the same couple, a temp worker (Koutarou) and top business salary man (Asahi). They both have different work schedules, so sometimes they can only meet up on the weekend. When Asahi ask Koutarou to bring dinner for him one night. Koutarou finds out that his lover hasn’t been keeping late hours by himself and maybe their relationship isn’t as strong as he thought.

I liked this story, but I didn’t really love it.

Fragments of Glass and Dark Wate
r, is a somewhat dark one-shot. It deals with two men who work at a video rental store. Oikawa-san the store manager is having some serious erotic fantasies about his employer Yuuji. Yuuji is completely unaware of his boss’s feelings. Until one night in the video store, all becomes clear.

I was mildly surprised by this one O_O.

Cage gives us a little blackmail and payment in sex. When an employer catches his boss cozying it up with another employer. He decides he wants a little nookie for him to keep his silence.

This one was ok. Nothing really impressive.

Right of Passage, Road to Love
, is definitely my fave in the entire book. It is also a little outrageous and so funny. I freaking wished it were longer. I am a huge fan of school life yaoi.

Servant and Service, has some cross-dressing and a butler. Really cute and sweet story.

Overall, an all right amount of stories. The boy love was medium, and the upside of this is that it’s only $6 bucks on the retailer site. Can you say Deal!!!

Image from the story Cage


 

Tuesday, February 21, 2012

Dark Soul #3 by Aleksandr Voinov

Dark Soul Vol.3 by Aleksandr Voinov
Riptide Publishing
Short Novella: 84pages
Rating: 5 out of 5

Blurb:
In "Dark Lady I," as Silvio Spadaro plans to take on the Russian hit squad that kidnapped his boss, he decides the best way to deal with four extremely dangerous men is to become an even more dangerous woman.

In “Dark Lady II,” Stefano discovers yet another disturbing – and arousing – truth about Silvio and how easily Silvio uses a man’s weakness for his own ends.

“Dark Brother” brings another player to Stefano Marino’s household. Franco Spadaro has just been released from the French Foreign Legion and is catching up with his little brother. In the middle of a war, a skilled sniper comes in right on time – but two Spadaros might be more than Stefano can handle.


Review:
 I don't think I want to make an attempt at writing an intelligent review, because I doubt it would express my serious feelings for this book. If you remember, I gushed about Vol.1, Vol.2, and I doubt I managed to express the awesomeness that is this series. I am just going to tell you why you need pick up every volume of this series and not wait a damn minute longer.
 "It’s simply the best, better than all the rest"

Yeh it's a song but it works. This volume was a little different from the first two, because it has three stories instead of two. That means triple the power in overall pants losing.

In Dark Lady, we have the very sexy Silvio still hell bent on making the Russians pay for his hurting his boss and potential lover Stefano (read vol.2). And as the blurb says, he goes in all-hardcore as a woman. Silvio is sex on legs in a suit, biker gear, so just imagine the walking wet dream he is as a woman. 


"If it’s worth it, let me work it. I put my thing down flip and reverse it. It doesn't matter if I have a penis" 
Not actual words from the song, but you get my point. He rocks the Russian's world and then proceeds to take them out of it. Like a boss!

Dark Lady II, Silvio and Stefano get up close and personal. The men share a sexy erotic interlude, that had my iPad overheating and my pants doing the "bye bye bye" dance.

Now the third story was a total surprise, and it brought the heart failure. Dark Brother introduces us to Silvio's brother Franco, which had me thinking 'oh hell naw' I can't possibly handle two Spadaro brothers. No need to worry because Silvio is like a fingerprint, there's only one of him. This story manages to push the series in another direction, and it's a direction I like. Dark Brother brought the brotherly love, and I don't mean the baseball playing kind.

Just when I think I have cracked the code that is the Dark Soul series, Mr Voinov karate chops me in the face with a 'you don't know shit'. I feel like I am right on the edge of knowing, but somehow it isn't enough. If that isn't superb writing, then point me in the direction of what is.

This series might be about the mob, and crime and violence and all that, but it's driving force is Silvio. This phantom of sex on legs, and an insatiable appetite for fucking. Yet, I found myself sad for him, because I feel there is more to him than 'he is what he is'. Silvio just isn't that easy. He might be this sexual carnivore, but sometimes I felt like I was reading about a lost little boy (I could just be cracked in the head).

Overall, it's great! If you're a reader, that likes the darker side of things and enjoys a story that pushes the boundaries. Then this series is for you. I cannot rave about it enough. 




5 Pants Off


Monday, February 20, 2012

Protection by S.A Reid

Protection by S.A Reid
Self-Published
Short Novella: 103pages
Rating: 4.5 out of 5

Blurb:
When Gabriel MacKenna enters Wentworth Prison in 1931, he promises himself two things: never to be buggered and never to turn prison queer. Tough, smart, and ruthless in a fight, he quickly makes a name for himself inside. But Gabriel, saved from the noose by a social crusader, is serving two life sentences. And life is a very long time to endure Wentworth with no comforts but prison food, card games and cigarettes. To survive endless days without the touch of another human being...

Five years after Gabriel’s incarceration, Joey Cooper arrives at Wentworth. Every convict claims imprisonment through a miscarriage of justice, but Joey is truly blameless. Trained at Oxford as a physician, the young doctor is innocent of prison culture and too handsome for his own good. Facing eighteen years behind Wentworth’s towering gates, Joey cannot hope to survive without protection. And protection is just what Gabriel MacKenna offers. At a price...


Review:
S.A Reid is definitely a fave author of mine, and this heartbreaking tale makes her an author to watch out for. Something Different was the first book I read by this author and I loved it so much. Protection is another winner, though both books are as different as night and day.

Gabriel Mackenna is serving two life sentences, with no chance of parole.  He knows he will live and die in prison. He decides he's going to rule his permanent home, because he refuses to become bitch to any man. He is both respected and liked by guards and inmates, and they know you don't mess with anything that Mackenna owns.

When new inmates arrive, Joseph Cooper is a part of the new arrivals. He is completely unaware of the effect he's having on the men, especially that of Gabe Mackenna. He is completely unaware of the things about to befall him.

When the men meet for the first time, it's no sunshine and rainbows. Gabe is violent and evil and Joseph suffers in a way no man should. He becomes victim to a man, who protects victims. All this happens because of Gabe’s anger towards himself for feeling something for Joseph, something he said he would never feel for another man.

The story progresses by showing the relationship between Gabe and Joey. Though not an easy start, it does become a genuine relationship. I am just all sorts of impressed by the realism in this story. Everything is believable, and nothing ever becomes too over the top. Though it depicts the harsh times of prison life, there is an undertone of lightness in the writing, and found myself smiling and wanting the best possible outcome for the lovers.

I loved Gabe, which is unbelievable because he isn’t the most likable person in the beginning. I fell in love with him, and I am just so happy he had Joey and they had each other (cries). It was beautiful and let me just throw this out there *some kind of seriously hot*.

Overall, I loved this book! The story will not be for everyone because it doesn't have a HEA, but why avoid a great book to avoid disappointment and sadness (it would be your loss). The writing is excellent, and the story beautiful and it's what I think jail life would have been in the 1930s. I wrote this review without giving away spoilers, and now it's up to you to experience Protection, you will cry the saddest/happiest tears (though that just might be all me).



 

 

Sunday, February 19, 2012

What's Happening This Week!

Its been awhile since I did a What's Happening post, due to the fact that I had some computer problems. Well, I am back and hoping my laptop doesn't give out again. So this week is big, basically because I have some wonderful reviews from some awesmazing books. I buckled down and decided I was gonna get some serious reading and reviews done, and man do I feel all productive. I got stuff done like a boss ^_~. So here's whats causing a pants losing this week!


Monday- I have a review for Protection by S.A Reid. I wanted to write this review without giving too much away, and giving you enough to get you interested. I think I did a good job. I absolutely loved this book!


Tuesday- Review for Dark Soul Vol.3 by Aleksandr Voinov. This one is awesmazing and a pants Scorcher!!!


Wednesday- Time for You, Me & Yaoi! I love my Yaoi and I love to share it.


Thursday- Review for Few are Chosen by Storm Grant.


Friday- Review for Arthur Wooten's 'Shorts'. I have a signed copy of this book 'I like signed books' ^_^

I told you, I got things done like a boss!

*Remember to enter the Naught Blog Hop giveaway to win some great prizes. Go get your winning on HERE *

Thursday, February 16, 2012

Hot Hands by Erica Pike

Hot Hands by Erica Pike
No Boundaries Press
Short Story: 28pages
Rating: 4 out of 5

Blurb:
For weeks, college student Casper has been the victim of sail-by goosing and groping. The problem is that Casper would very much like to get more than groped by those wonderful, big, hot hands. With a journal full of clues, he sets out to discover who his mystery groper is. However, he may be in serious trouble once he discovers the ominous identity, and it’s not because of the light bondage the groper seems to prefer.

Hot Hands is the first of five in a series of short stories. Each story is independent of the others and each covers a deep issue. Hot Hands focuses on the effects of high school bullying for being gay.


Review:
Erica Pike is becoming a new fave author of mine. I love her writing style, and the stories she writes with such awesmazing characters. After reading A Life Without You, I knew that I couldn't hold off on reading Hot Hands. It's such a darn shame it wasn't longer, because those few pages made my heart feel super happy.

Some stranger is groping Casper, and he is on a mission to find the culprit. The mission is harder than he imagined because it could be anybody, when so many students surround him. Casper is in college, leaving his hometown to escape the memories of being bullied and is trying to make fresh new happy memories. So who could be taking advantage of him again? Moreover, why do the hands groping him feel so good, and is making him want things he is afraid to have.

So Casper is out to catch his 'Hot Hands', but his avid sexy feeler upper wants his identity to remain a secret. The idea is but frightening and thrilling for Casper but he is willing to trust and take a chance because being groped as never felt so good. When Casper finally gets intimate with Hot Hands he picks up on some clues, and the truth might just destroy him. Because sometimes the past catches up with you.

Hot Hands offers up such a great little read, the author took chances and I really liked that. The story touches on the serious subject of bullying, and can the victim and the bully as adults form some kind of relationship. It's a hard hitting, sexy romp of a read.

I would love to read about Casper and his 'Hot Hands'. I would really like to get to them better and they have so much to overcome. 


4 Pants off


 

Wednesday, February 15, 2012

Interracial Love Week

So it's just a few more weeks until IRL, and I am just sick with anticipation and excitement. This is so super important to me, that I am treating it like a baby, and planning the shit out of it.

The interracial trope is one of my all time faves, and not because its hellaciously hot but also because its incredibly beautiful. I have my own personal stories when it comes to this topic, and I will share it in a post during IRL week. Lets just say I was living in a dreamland where I thought the color of my skin didn't matter when it came to liking a boy, until one day in high school I was cut down to size (one of my worst days ever). I will also share about the people in my life that have been affected.

Its not all about the sad and struggles here folks, this week is a celebration of the awesomeness that is interracial love. I have looked at many books with interracial lead characters, and most of the stories does not focus on the race aspect of it all. In my heart  that makes me happy, because love shouldn't be about what ethnicity you are, and how dark or light your skin color might be. It should just be about love, just like it should be for everything!

So I am giving a sneak peek of some of the books I will be reading and reviewing, and who knows might also be giving ^__~



Breakfast at Tiffany's by Lynn Lorenz








 Foundation of Love by Scotty Cade










Rushing Towards Perfection by Mya










Plus so much freaking more! Jesu, I am freaking excited.

*Authors if you would like your books featured to be reviewed and/as/or giveaway? Please feel free to contact me and lets get it done. Any recommendations or requests are always welcome, so let me know.*

Stay Tuned Folks!!

Naughty After Dark Hop

Keeping It Naughty


Thanks to Close Encounters with the Night Kind for hosting this blog along with her co-host Natasha Blackthorne. So I am being naughty and giving away prizes, it's easy to enter and here is how you do it.

  1. Must be 18 or older
  2. The Giveaway is International
  3. Be sure to check out all the other participants for great prizes (Go Here)
  4.  Enter all your info in the Rafflecopter widget


Prize #1: $10 Amazon Gift Card

Prize#2: Nowhere Ranch by Heidi Cullinan (kindle copy). This is the naughtiest book I have read so far this year. It's a M/M novel with BDSM content and all the kink you can think of. I loved it so much and I hope the winner does too!


There will be 2 winners. One gets the gift card and the other gets the book. Have fun hopping and Good Luck!!



a Rafflecopter giveaway

Tuesday, February 14, 2012

Pack Of Lies by Vanessa Vaughn


Pack of Lies by Vanessa Vaughn
Ravenous Romance 
Novel: 185pages
Rating: 4 out of 5

Blurb:
When Jack is attacked by a powerful werewolf one moonlit night, his world is forever changed.

Marcus is that wolf, the strong leader of his pack, who never imagined a mere mortal could ever escape him, much less ever become one of his kind. And yet, as time passes, he can't deny the handsome human is slowly beginning to change.

No longer the civilized architect he used to be, Jack feels a new power coalescing inside of him. He barely even recognizes himself as he becomes more sexual, more impulsive, more wild in every way.

But as the bite transforms him, it also binds he and his attacker together forever. The two share a powerful unbreakable link, no matter how forcefully they may each try to deny it. Marcus is already hiding secrets from the other wolves, and his position as Alpha is threatened. Could Jack be the new ally Marcus needs to set things right, or will their desire for one another draw them away from all they know and alter the course of their lives forever?



Review:
I am just going to say “wow” for this book. I found it quite refreshing, veering away from the typical werewolf novels, this one was original, and without the sappy I found my mate, lets get together and have wild sex. Don’t get me wrong I love those kinds, but this book was just so animalistic, raw and without the typical HEA (happy ever after). If for only one reason, you read this book, read it for its originality and well-written characters.

Marcus is the alpha of his wolf pack, but truth be told he is not very respected, the pack feels another pack member should be leader because of his birthright, but due to family politics/prejudices Marcus became leader of the pack. One thing making leading difficult is his desire for other men, this is considered wrong among wolves and they believe only male/female is allowed. Marcus has to hide away in secret and get his kicks; his inner struggle to contain that part of himself during the moon call is just vivid and so intense.

The first scenes in the book provide a clear look into what it is to be a wolf, this is no Little Red Riding Hood shit, these are animals camouflaged in human looking form. Their thinking is purely animal based, human are snacks and they make no apology for what they are. With the full moon high in the sky, Marcus becomes his wolf form and goes a hunting, leaving the pack behind and venturing off on his own, he is then hit by a car and with this incident his life becomes chaos in motion.

Jack Devereaux is driving home from a party with his friend Ivy, when suddenly they hit something. Hoping and praying that he did not just hit a person Jack goes to investigate. With the road surrounded by darkness, Jack is unclear of what exactly he just hit until he is attacked by what looks like an abnormally large wolf. The thing of his curiosity just became his nightmare when he is mauled to an inch of his life until his rescued and rushed to hospital by Ivy. What happens next is unclear to Jack, but all he remembers is vivid sexual dreams about a man he has never met, he shares the same eyes as the wolf who almost killed him.

The book then becomes intense; Jack’s wounds healed miraculously, he is feeling very energetic for a man who almost died, and he just woke up naked under a tree covered in blood. Jack cannot understand the changes going on with him, but he knows one thing for sure his life will never be the same again. Thus, enters the wolf pack and the threats, and the man of his dreams. Now it becomes a race to stay alive, when he is betrayed in the worst way by someone he thought was a friend, and a fight to keep the man he is slowly becoming to love. Marcus will have to make sacrifices and put his pack leadership on the line.

The story is told in first person by both Jack and Marcus, both POVs done in alternating chapters, and you get a strong sense of who they are as characters. It is great to see Jack evolve from this very scared human, to a vicious wolf. The progression of emotions were written wonderfully, there is nothing sappy about Marcus and Jack’s relationship, it is raw and dirty sexy good.

I had one small issue with the book, and that it became overly descriptive at times. I rolled my eyes a few time at Jack and Marcus’s internal dialogue, I was like I get it, they feel like animals. It was not a huge problem, just bothered me a few times. With saying that, Vaughn is a very good writer, she keeps you interested with a rhythmic flow of words. Another word of caution for those who strictly love M/M books without the presence of male/female relations, this book is not one of them. It does a have a few m/f scenes, it does not overshadow the relationship between the men, just letting you know.

Overall, I really liked this book; the sex was dirty gritty and super hot. The plot while not mind bending is still good. What makes this book truly notable are its characters and their wolf instincts. Though there is no solid HEA, I am hoping for a sequel, because I want more of these characters, and there is no way in hell a book can end like that. I definitely recommend it, for all paranormal fans who like action and grit with a little romance.

Fave Scene: The coffee shop in the storage closet. I died all kinds of death when I read that scene. It was so hot, and to see Jack take over like that. Oh yes it was good!!!

4 Pants Off
Previously Reviewed for Three Dollar Bill Reviews

Monday, February 13, 2012

A Life Without You by Erica Pike

A Life Without You by Erica Pike
Novel: 236pages
Rating: 4.5 out of 5
Blurb:
Jesse's like a bar of soap: the tighter Adam holds on, the faster Jesse slips away. Or that's how it feels to Adam. It doesn't help that Jesse has a girlfriend back home and claims to be straight, but there's no way with all the sparks and physical intimacy flying between the two roommates.

When Adam believes he has reached his ultimate happiness, the bedroom walls come crashing down with a visit from Jesse's girlfriend.

Now Jesse has to decide if he can come to terms with his sexuality, while Adam has to learn to accept that Jesse might never be able to crawl out of the closet.

Review:
Books fall under three catergories for me, the ones I can't wait to read to cause a pants losing, the books I anticipate reading, and the others where the blurb sounds interesting and it gets added to the pile. A Life Without You is one of those where the blurb sounded interesting and I decided to give it a try, well folks I'm glad I said yes to reviewing it because I freaking loved it. It's one of those where I wanna run naked through some fields singing " the hills are a live with the sound of music *awesome*". This book caused a pants losing of epic proportions and I'm so in love with the story.

Adam is in love with his roommate Jesse, but he doesn't want to tell him he's gay because he already lost a roommate because of his sexuality. The only thing thats different is that if Jesse left him it would hurt more than anything else. When a friend dares Jesse to kiss Adam all his secrets come out, and it puts a strain on their friendship. The kiss he shared with Jesse was life changing and he knows that he is in serious love with is friend. If only Jesse will admit that he also wants Adam, judging by the hard piece of length in his pants.

The story unfolds with the boys growing attraction, and the sexual chemistry they share. All isn't well in their room, because Jesse has a girlfriend and he refuses to let her go. Adam is willing to take anything he has to offer, even it kills him to be the fuck buddy, knowing that nothing more will ever come of their relationship.

Jesse is character I love but sort of hate. He has a girlfriend whom he is cheating on, and he has Adam on the side. He wants the security of being the straight boy, but he also wants the chemistry and the love he has for Adam. Then he pulls a douche move by forbidding Adam to be with anyone else, while he cuddles and eventually has sex with the girlfriend. He seems like such a bastard but yet my heart goes out to him, I can just imagine his inner turmoil being faced with the possibility of being gay or just gay for Adam.

Adam I really liked but also found him very passive at times. I understand love and finding your soulmate but he just took way too much crap from Jesse, and because of that he got the shitty end of the stick; just  a few too many times. I did love the boys together, talk about sexy as hell and so utterly sweet. It was great to see how they got from point A, to point B.

Overall, Erica Pike has written a fantabulous book and I am so in love with the story. I was all smiles from the beginning to the end, it kept me enthralled and jumping out of my pants. The author is going down as a must read for me, if she keeps writing about beautiful boys such as Jesse and Adam. A Life Without You will also keep you interested with awesmazing supporting characters, and I want more of these fun and sexy boys. All that eyeliner and leather had me hyperventilating over my iPad, and wanting all of them to get together in a serious orgy of limbs and holes (gawd it would have been sexy). I Love This Book!


4 1/2 Pants Of
A Year of Firsts- first book by author Erika Pike

Saturday, February 11, 2012

Coming Soon!!

  I just wanted to update you guys on all the fun things cumming up this month and next month on Pants Off. It's gonna be an awesmazing amount of fun with giveaways, theme week and my very first Author Week. So here is a preview and I hope to see you guys for all the fantabulous events.





Naughty Blog Hop!

Naughty After Dark blog hop is going down here on Pants Off. Be sure to stop by and win something naughty and get the info on where to get other naughty prizes.













Author Week!
My very first Author Week is coming up for February 27th- March 3rd. The featured author is Anne Brooke, and she will be stopping by for an interview and an awesmazing giveaway. So don't miss this one folks.









Interracial Love Week!

This one is my baby folks, and I am just all kinds of excited. This means so much to me, and I will be doing a post as to why. So I am spending a week featuring books with interracial couples, a bit of multiculturalism (I have some work ahead) and just the diversity that can be found in M/M. The world is made up of many races and I really enjoy reading about it *plus it's like super hot*.






*Any recommendations or ideas you would like to include in IRL week, please feel free to comment or email me. Authors if you want your book as a part of IRL week, as a giveaway or as reviewed book feel free to contact me. I want epic things for this 'EPIC'! Will have another post up closer to the IRL week.*

Friday, February 10, 2012

Academic Pursuits by Lou Harper

Academic Pursuits by Lou Harper
Novella: 101pages
Rating: 3.5 out of 5
Blurb:
Jamie Brennan is putting “cad” back into academia!

The son of a well-to-do family and blessed with both dark good looks and buckets of confidence, Jamie lives for the chase. He has a well-deserved reputation around college as a seducer of straight frat boys. No man is off-limits to Jamie—he’s happy to help fellow gay students out of the closet, too. He even has lustful designs on his oblivious English professor, so it’s no surprise that his amorous pursuits often land him in sticky situations.

There's just one flaw in Jamie's perfect world—Roger Hunt. The hunky grad student, who dresses more like a lumberjack than the talented artist he is, gives Jamie hostile looks every time their paths cross. Jamie tries to ignore Roger, but they can't seem to stop running into each other, and Jamie's beginning to wonder if it’s more than chance that continues to steer them down the same halls... 

Review:                                                                                                        
Jaime is a 22 year old college student. He is smart, good looking, and is all about a good time. He has a reputation around campus as being a seducer of straights, he loves the thrill it gives him when he' s blowing some jock in the washroom. No feelings are hurt because hes giving them a new experience and a good time without all the complications of a relationship.

His charms are completely lost on Roger Hunt, the lumberjack looking hottie. Roger doesn't seem really impressed with his playboy attitude or his good looks. Though Jaime is attracted to Roger it seems the attraction might be just one sided because if Roger's scowl is an indication, it's saying 'nope I'm not looking for a good time'.
I can't really call this one a romance, because Jaime doesn't get with Roger until very late in the book. It does centre around their growing relationship, but this book is pretty much the Jaime show and the men in his life until he finally gets with Roger. I am not sure I like Jaime very much and it has nothing to do with him being a little slutty, I just could not bring myself to love him. Ultimately Jaime is a nice guy, who sometimes goes over board with the whole seduction thing but in the end he always ends up alone.
We follow him through many hook-ups with the straight boys, the gay boys, and the closet cases. While he sprouts philosophical ideas on sexuality which I found to be the most enjoyable part of the book. When he goes off on a tangent with his cousin Jo, explaining to her the finesse on he lands his conquest and that it's all a little experimenting on their part and in no way does it make them gay. I don't read many books that explain that it's a lot more than sex that makes a  gay man, and just because you like something in your ass now and again doesn't mean a damn thing.
Overall, I liked the story but something was missing for me. In all honesty I think it has a lot to do with Jaime because I don't really like him all that much. His narrative is humorous but at often times seemed overly obnoxious. I do enjoy Lou Harpers writing style it's crisp and fun, I just had a real hard time connecting to the story and the characters.

3 1/2 Pants Off