Wednesday, November 30, 2011

BDSM Week Book #3: I, Omega

I, Omega by Kari Gregg
Loose-Id
Novella:138 pages
3 out of 5

Blurb:
After one mind-shattering night with a stranger at a local leather bar leaves him forever changed, Gabriel lives on the streets as a vagrant to elude the master who hunts him, but the were shifter is a fierce, stubborn predator who reclaims him soon enough. Gabriel is carried away to the pack’s home territory where his instruction on what it means to be the pet of an alpha begins. Gabriel isn’t just any pet, though. He is the rarest among their kind: a human omega.

Treasured? Or cursed?

As Gabriel’s father, the Distinguished Gentleman from Pennsylvania and stalwart of the conservative party, pushes the considerable resources at his disposal to locate his missing son, Gabriel explores who and what he is under his master’s careful protection. Gabriel falls for the shifter who is both lover and destroyer, owner and...friend?


Review:
I have mixed feelings about this book. In a small way I completely hated it, but there is also a small part of me that really liked. My issues derive from, that the book had the opportunity to be spectacular, but in the end, I got these one-dimensional characters with zero likeability. In the beginning, the book was exciting but about 30 pages in I was completely annoyed, and here is why.

We meet Gabriel in the beginning of the book, on the run by someone he refers to as master. An encounter with this master has left Gabriel forever changed, and afraid for his life. Gabriel has left his previous life before, left his home, family and his job. Though afraid of his master, he can’t help but wanting him, the man that is so much more than human the man who made him more than human. Well Gabe is about to lose his freedom when his master finally catches up to him. In a small room, they are reacquainted and Gabriel is punished for running away. In that room, his master claims him, and Gabriel decides to stop running.

The story moves on with life in pack territory, with Gabe’s master that we get to know, as Cal is the Alpha. I know Cal is a shifter, but I am unaware of what he shifts into (I call that a lack of caring). I believed this book was gonna take on some serious awesmazingness, but all I got was a crying and an often hysterical Gabe, and Cal who I thought was a sadistic Dom. Gabe is an omega, which makes me understand his submissiveness, but I just remember him as the guy who freaked out a lot.

The writing is amazing, the flow of the book is done quite well and found that I had finished long before I wanted to. You see, there was a light at the end of the tunnel. I started to like Gabe, and I thought he was finally becoming a character I could love and then the book ends. I was like “whaaat”, that’s it? Gabriel finally starts to show personality and it ends. That alone left me disappointed and unfulfilled.

As I said, the writing is amazing and the sex will have you losing your pants. When it came to the loving Gabriel and Cal lit up the pages, it’s just without it I was not really feeling them. The BDSM, which is more D/s is light, there is spanking nothing I found too shocking. I was hoping to love this one so much, but in the end, it was an alright read for me.


SideNote- There is Dub-con (dubious consent) if some readers aren't comfortable reading about it.
3 Pants Off

Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

Tuesday, November 29, 2011

BDSM Week Book #2: Some Kind Of Stranger

Some Kind Of Stranger (Blue Ruin #1) by Katrina Strauss
Loose-Id
Novella- 130 pages
4 out of 5

Blurb:
When Derek rescues a drugged, blue-haired waif from a ruthless predator, he's given the opportunity to explore his dark, dominant nature. He molds Blue into the perfect submissive, but is Blue at his mercy or is Derek at Blue's? [Publisher's Note: This book contains explicit sexual content, graphic language, and situations that some readers may find objectionable: BDSM (including bondage, Domination/submission, spanking), homoerotic sexual practices (male/male), masturbation, strong violence.]



Review:
I gotta say I love that cover so incredibly pretty and eye catching. Kudos to it being an original cover. I really enjoyed reading this story, the BDSM part of it is light, but spanktacular. It has pretty men and it’s so very yaoi. I was freaking sold on that alone, because yaoi is my everything.

So Derek is out to catch a predator after being drugged and violated, he’s got revenge on the brain. So waiting in the back room of a club/bar, he is waiting for the perve to strike. While being mysterious and investigative in the bar, Derek spots a hotty all pretty boy splendour looking like just his type. Well, Derek is about to catch the man who assaulted him and rescue the boy that caught his eye, and thus begins his Blue Ruin.

Everyone calls him Blue because he has the hair, and he’s just the street kid trying to make it. Until he’s drugged and almost raped and the beautiful man with the auburn hair and exotic eyes comes to his rescue. Blue never expected to end up in a D/s relationship but he’s finding that it works for him. Plus it’s not so bad with someone as beautiful as Derek is.

I really enjoyed reading this book; my opinion might be rather biased because this book has the pretty. I do love my men pretty, and Blue is the epitome of all that. The writing is classic yaoi, which also equals good for me. It’s also very entertaining and moves quite well, it has a small mystery to add a little drama to the story. Though all that doesn’t outshine the awesmazingness that is Derek and Blue.

The BDSM aspect of it all is really light and fun, whether it’s your cuppa or not, there is nothing here to be worried about. Some spanking, light bondage and all that, all very sexy stuff. I really enjoyed this one and am really excited to read the rest in this series. Yep, Blue has ruined me too.

SideNote-
My fave scene is when Derek dresses Blue, gawds I loved it so much.



4 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

Monday, November 28, 2011

BDSM Week Book #1: Catalyst

Catalyst by K.Piet & S.L Armstrong
Novel: 243 pages
4.5 out of 5

Blurb:
After a near-fatal accident, Logan Walker seeks help to control the compulsive blood fetish that almost cost his submissive's life. Help happens to be in the form of an athletic, smart psychologist by the name of Dr. Kasper Bromley. Kasper, though, soon finds himself swept up in the fantasies Logan came to him to control. Reluctantly throwing his ethics to the wind, Kasper submits himself to Logan, gambling his career, his future, and his heart on this intriguing man and the lifestyle he offers. But when Kasper's desires outpace Logan's, the young doctor is swept down into a whirlpool of sex and sadism that even Logan's love may not be enough to rescue him from.

Review:
I am at a serious loss on how to write a review for this book. I wanna say some profound stuff and be articulate about it (doubt it). Heads up, you wont find all that here (told you). Catalyst is dirty, sexy, and crazy goodness. I had no expectations when I started this book. My eyes were all over the beautiful cover, and I knew I was going to be reading a BDSM novel. I got so much more than anticipated; Catalyst is all you will love in bdsm novel. Its dark with the right amount of kink, offers a soft side, but not too soft and the plot is insane with its content. I never saw so much darkness coming, and it was from the least expected character.

We meet Logan, who is meeting with his Psychologist for the first time. Logan has a blood fetish, and he’s feeling that it’s become unsafe for him to have a partner since he put his last submissive in the hospital. He is afraid that the hunger he has for tasting his partner’s blood during intimacy will lead to lack of control causing him to harm yet another person. Therefore, he seeks help from Dr Kasper Bromley, in hopes he will be able to control and then stop his urge for blood.

The sessions between Logan and Kasper are dark, and could be somewhat disturbing to most readers. Logan talks about his fixation on blood, the taste of it the smell of it, and it how it brings fulfillment during sex. His doctor is not unaffected by these sessions, the chemistry between the two is strong, and the Dom in Logan calls out to Kasper. However, a patient/doctor relationship is strictly forbidden and both men will risk it all for the heat flaring between them.

I thought to myself ‘there is no way this book could get any more intense’; man was I in for a surprise. The relationship between Kasper and Logan is hellaciously hot but equally unhealthy. Kasper, as Logan’s doctor before knows him in a way others don’t. His uses the information to be manipulative, knowing that it will cause Logan harm or possibly himself. You see, Kasper has gotten a taste of the BDSM lifestyle and he is finding it perfect for him. Suddenly it becomes all about Kasper, without a care for Logan, because Kas will strive to be the best ‘pain slut’ the bdsm scene has ever seen. It all spirals out of order, because the once Dr Control, has lost control.

I absolutely enjoyed this book talk about new and exciting. I loved the blood (yep). There is something very sexy about the forbidden and living on the edge. Nothing more deliciously forbidden like wanting to drink or taste someone’s blood (I.E obsessions with PNR and vampires), and the spanking and being tied up just adds a heightened sexiness. This book is more than sex; it delves into ‘how far are you willing to go satisfy your needs’. Kasper and Logan portray every element beautifully. I loved these characters, and the world created by the authors, this alternative lifestyle is kicking ass.


It is very clear that a lot of research and thought went into writing this book. Though I am fairly new to the BDSM reading scene, I have total respect for this book, because it offers great respect to an alternative sexual lifestyle. It’s more than just kink, it’s more than just what others may view as a weird way of getting off. Catalyst is the book that proves this; the characters prove this. Pain and humiliation is not what it’s all about, the control and creating a safe environment and knowing your limits is the true way of BDSM
(All though the pain/humiliation can hurt soooo good).


Overall, a truly pants losing read. A nice balance of romantic and intense mixed with the darkly forbidden. I recommend this if you are looking for a different type of read, because sometimes ‘normal’ sucks.


4 1/2 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

*book provided by publisher*

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Whats Happening: BDSM WEEK


Howdy everyone, and man do I have a treat for you that will last for the next 2 weeks. It will be Awesmazing! I have decided to do a theme week, where I will be reading all things BDSM. You read it right folks, I am feeling KINKY. This will not be my first time reading a bdsm themed book, but I think my choices are pretty hardcore this time. Its going to be crazy, dirty, and sometimes uncomfortable goodness. I am super excited, and I hope you are too. I am about to push most of you out of your comfort zone, myself included.

So I will be reading and posting a review for the following books. I gotta say I am impressed with my choices, and thanks to K.Piet for suggesting and providing one of the books.


So on Monday, I will be posting my review for 'Catalyst by S.L Armstrong and K.Piet'. This book is just the "shite", talk about a new and exciting read for me.

Tuesday, I will be posting my review for 'Some Kind of Stranger by Katrina Strauss'. The cover is pretty and the book is a cute and sexy read. Not dark but still spanktacular.

Wednesday, a review for 'I, Omega'.

Thursday is a review for 'Bound and Determined by Alexa Snow & Jane Davitt'.

Then Friday, last but certainly not least is one of my older reviews 'The Janitor by Jan Irving' one of my all time fave light BDSM. Its more romance than BDSM, but its got spunk and Dane&Noel. Love those guys!

Join me for this crazy kinky week, I promise it will be all kinds of dirty fun. There will be a giveaway after the last review for BDSM WEEK is posted, so stop by and look around to see which book will capture your interest.
 

Friday, November 25, 2011

Squire

Squire (Indigo Knights #1) by Jet Mykles
Loose-Id
Novel:158 pages
4 out of 5

Blurb:
Related series: Heaven Sent

Rabin Squire is on top of the world. At long last, everything is going his way. He’s about to go into the studio with none other than Brent Rose to put together a new album for his band, the Indigo Knights. Okay, so there’re currently only two members of the band, but with Brent’s help, that’ll soon change. Things are looking up.

Then there’s Izzy, Brent’s cousin. Rabin’s never been interested in a guy before but he can sure tell when one is gorgeous, and Izzy is that. He’s also funny, and sweet and...sexy as hell.

Since he’s not gay, Rabin never expected to have a fling with Izzy. But Izzy says their having sex doesn’t make him gay. Rabin’s not so sure about that but if Izzy’s good with it, what harm can come of it? Izzy agrees; no one else needs to know.

Then an even bigger opportunity means that Rabin has to move away. So if the thing with Izzy was no big deal, why does it hurt when it comes to an end?


Review:
COVER- I am a big fan of P.L Nunn, her artwork is always beautiful. I love the covers she does for Jet, and this one is no exception. The cover captures the very sexy Rabin with his guitar, and Izzy with his long hair and the best t-shirt that I someday wish to own, it’s a hot cover and I freaking love it. There is just something uber sexy about musicians, whether they know how to play the instrument or not.

So Squire is the first book in the Indigo Knights series, a spin-off of the authors Heaven Sent series. If you haven’t read the HS series, I would advise you get on it right away. It is just Hawt, Steamy, Sexy and so totally YAOI. Pretty boys getting it on with other pretty boys, I call that a good day.

Rabin Squire is a struggling musician, who just got help from one of the biggest name in music. Brent from Heaven Sent as agreed to help his band out and hopefully bring them back on top, and making good music. He has moved in to the house to work on the music, and it seems Brent’s cousin Izzy is also staying at the house.

Izzy has flirting with Rabin a daily routine, but Rabin seems unaffected, but how long can you deny yourself when you start noticing how pretty a man is. Rabin is getting the thoughts, but he straight, Right? Things get a little confusing, but things are very clear for Izzy he wants Rabin and he is gonna make his move. A night of steamy passion answers some questions for Rabin and leads to new ones like; Why does sex with a man feels so good? Why does he want to do it again? And when Izzy is around no one else compares.

A hush hush affair is going on, a bit of hiding, denying and a whole lot of other emotions. Is this relationship all about f*cking or is there more. These men have to do some figuring out and have some very hot sex. Welcome to the world of Jet Mykles.

I love GFY (gay for you), they are just 50x more sexy, its just so hot when a declared straight man gets the hots for another dude, I love it. Rabin and Izzy are hot, Jet is a genius, she could write about squirrels and I would buy it. For all my new to m/m readers, Jet is an author to read, she does pretty like no one else.
 

SideNote- Zane, Rabin's bff is a little bit of a hater when it comes to gay relationships. My hopes and dreams for him is that he starts liking a man and that man is a top. Yeh baby, that would burn, it would burn so good. 

Interested in the Heaven Sent series check it out HERE

4 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

Wednesday, November 23, 2011

A Perfect Game

A Perfect Game by Reno MacLeod & Jaye Valentine
Noble Romance
Novel:150 pages
4 out of 5

Blurb:
Twenty-year-old Christopher "Kit" Pennington dreams of becoming a professional baseball player. He has the talent and the drive needed for the sport, but finds his lack of interest in formal education barring his way. Under threat from his wealthy father, an important alumnus and contributor at the private Christian college Kit attends, Kit has been barely muddling through. Not until the very handsome Liam Dalton replaces one of Kit's regular professors at the exclusive school does higher learning take on any real meaning.


Review:
All I am gonna say is Older man Younger dude, if that don’t catch your fancy, I will say D/s relationship younger guy the top. Head blown off yet! This one won’t win any awards for literary genius, but it offers a great love story and a beat all odds kind of thing.

Kit Pennington is a baseball player, a rich kid, college student and a Dom. Plus he is openly gay to the delight of his team-mates who revel in making his life a living hell. He hates school, but he loves baseball so no hateful set of punks is gonna keep him from his game, bonus he is the best on the team. He dislikes the whole school thing but he has to go to keep his game on, when he gets a new professor school life just got a whole lot better.

Kit comes on strong to the professor, all I am saying if I ever said this to any of my professors “I’ll bet you the fuck of your life” I would be writing this review from prison for sexual assault. Well lines like those makes this book sizzle, nothing says hot like forbidden fruit. Teacher/ student relationship is a no no but what they don’t know won’t hurt them.

Life seems all bliss and shit, but someone finds out and it’s the one person Kit has to listen to and it creates tension and some questioning moments between him and his professor. I will say this book brought a tear or two, the D/s aspect of the story is very panty throwing worthy and Kit is very HAWT.

What is very clear is that this story is the rebuilding of two very different people who found their happiness in each other. Blah to hell with that, older man/ younger dude, teacher/student I think I have listed what is really important.



4 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

Tuesday, November 22, 2011

Crescendo

Crescendo (Song of the Fallen #2) by Rachel Haimowitz
Storm Moon Press
Novel: 107,000 words
4.5 out of 5

Blurb:
History made them enemies. Chance made them master and slave. Love overcame it all. But love isn’t always enough . . .

Bridging the hatred of centuries did not come easy for Freyrík Farr and Ayden Vaska. As prince of a war-torn human province, Freyrík could ill afford to fall for an enemy. And Ayden, and elven warrior with three-hundred years of bitterness in his heart, wanted no part of love—not elven, and especially not human. Yet they came together despite themselves and despite the will of their peoples, joining heart and mind to fight a race of Dark Beasts threatening the extinction of mankind.

But the Dark Beast threat pales beside the dangers of the human High Court, home of the Aegis Exalted and the harshest test yet of Ayden’s and Freyrík’s fledgling love.

While Ayden is stripped of his magic, Freyrík is forced to choose between his love for elf, Aegis, and brother, all the while seeking the one uncertain path that might save his doomed race. Time is fast running out for mankind, and only by making peace amongst themselves and with their ancient elven enemies can they end the Dark war—and undo the tragedy that’s plagued humans, elves, and Dark Beasts alike for the last three-hundred years.



Review:
 Miss Haimowitz has got it, she has outdone herself in this one when it comes to the writing. She could have given us an easy HEA, an easy road for both Freyrik and Ayden but man if she didn’t blow all of that out the water. These lovers were pushed beyond what they could handle and for a little bit man and elf looked as if they were not going to make it. This action packed epic tale will keep you on your toes and have you cheering for the humans and elf alike.

The books picks up after Freyrik is summoned to court, that has him scared for both his life and for Ayden. The trust of his people is waning because his feelings for an elf is noticeable. There is no denying that Rik is in love, but it’s traitorous because their King has taken up with the enemy. Freyrik and Ayden venture into unknown, will they be riding into their deaths or will the Aegis himself be forgiving. Though Rik is happy to be seeing his brother after sometime, he just walked right into a political war. One move with the wrong alliance could cost him his life, because in this war love is not enough.

Rik cannot protect Ayden in the Aegis court, and his mental stability is being pushed the limit. He is taking Ayden to the one place he has no control, the one place he cannot over rule and keep Ayden at his side. As soon as they arrived Ayden is taken stripped of his song (magical powers) and taken away to be treated as the slave he should have been all along. Through this Ayden knows that Rik has no power where they are, but it doesn’t stop the small resentment he has. That once again the ‘human’ he loves has failed to protect him.

While Ayden struggles with trying free his fellow elves and wanting to remain with Freyrik, Freyrik struggles with where his loyalty lies. So blind in his trust of his brother and the love for the Aegis, he is caught between a rock and a hard place. When Freyrik and Ayden is sent to find out where the feral comes from (read first book), to test his loyalty. The mission could cause them their sanity if not their lives. It will lead to some truths and finally an understanding between both humans and elf.

I am not surprised by the awesmazingness that is this book. The bitter hate humans feel towards things they don’t understand/fear is captured splendidly. The adventure would make any fan of fantasy happy in their pants, such imagery and passion filled the pages. I never thought I could fall in love with Ayden anymore; man was I in for a surprise. With all the pain he endures, he still manages shine even without his elf light and at times when he should hate Freyrik he always becomes the sole thing that Ayden lives for. How can you not love such a pure heart, how can you not love them together. Just when you think ‘yep it can’t get any worse’ bam it does. Then when it’s good, hmm it’s really good.

It’s a book not to be missed, and a guarantee that fans of the first will love. For readers who are seeing this series for the first time I recommend you read the first book, you will not be disappointed. I am in awe, I am in love and I am losing my pants. This is fantastic read filled with love, anger, hatred and a plot so deeply intricate you will lose yourself in the pages. When you think about one of the great reads, you will remember this book.


4 1/2 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

*book provided by publisher*

Monday, November 21, 2011

HOT HEAD

Hot Head by Damon Suede
Dreamspinner Press
Novel
Gay For You/Contemporary Romance
5 out of 5



Blurb:
Where there's smoke there's fire.

Since 9/11, Brooklyn firefighter Griff Muir has wrestled with impossible feelings for his best friend and partner at Ladder 181: Dante Anastagio. Unfortunately Dante is strictly a ladies' man and the FDNY isn’t exactly gay-friendly. For 10 years, Griff has hidden his heart in a half-life of public heroics and private anguish.

Griff’s caution and Dante’s cockiness make them an unbeatable team. To protect his buddy, there’s nothing Griff wouldn’t do… until Dante is nearly bankrupt and proposes the worst possible solution: HotHead.com, a gay-porn website where uniformed hunks get down-n-dirty… Now Dante wants them to appear there— together.

Griff may have to guard his heart and live out his darkest fantasies on camera. Can he rescue the man he loves without wrecking their careers, their families, or their friendship?


Review:
Hot Head is critically acclaimed (by me), this book was the Kool-Aid, and by Kool-Aid, I mean the shit. I loved every fecking minute of it. It’s rough, raw and ready (wait a sec is that, not some other book). Well those words describe this book perfectly; stuffs on fire, feelings are blazing hot. The men like it rough, and they are always ready. Forget it; this is starting to sound extremely cheesy.

So the setting is New York, years after the September 11th attacks on the Trade Centres. It’s a big celebration within the city. Honouring, the firefighters, and cops who died and worked hard to rescue people. Therefore, they had overcome, and tragedy led to unity. Fun side! It’s a big dick and pussy fest, horny for firemen, women come out to play and firefighters and other city workers know they be getting their dicks wet (man this book makes me wanna type all dirty).

So Griff the firefighter is having strong feelings for his best friend where that sounds totally cliché, this cliché works. This is no sappy I have feelings for you, and as I confess my undying love we have the most amazing sex. Griff emotions are realistic, his love stems from a long friendship. Not just a close friendship, but it borderlines brotherhood, Griff, the adopted member of Dante’s family. They know him, they love him and he’s dying to fuck (there I go again) their son, their brother, their uncle and his best friend.

Dante is having some money troubles, so he hits up making a little porn. What’s wrong with a little whack fest to make some quick money? Not a damn thing Dante, not a darn thing. Well Griff has a problem with it, but that won’t stop him from a little whack fest of his own. When push comes to shove though Griff has Dante’s back, in more ways than one. A little porn experiment might lead to some big things, some *real big* things.

Alright lets get serious. I love this book, the characters are strong and the story though not romantic is captivating. This is a man struggling with his feelings for another man, in a profession and life where being gay is a death sentence. Because nothing makes you less of a man, like loving another man. For a long time Griff has struggled with his feelings, and what you realize is the heart wants what the heart wants. Though the outside world might hate them when their together, first they must figure out the whole ‘I am in love with best friend’ before they can worry about anyone else.

However, some readers might find the whole porn thing questionable. Who hasn’t risked their job for a little porn? I risk my job as a perfect parent with the amount of man love I watch, read, and think about (teehee). I think if anything it made the book stronger, because what we know is that nothing brings two people closer than making porn.

Loved Dante, he was my sexy Italian hottie I wanted to eat him up. Griff was adorable and sweet and you just want him to get his HEA. How can you not fall in love with someone who is willing to do anything for the person he loves. It’s a great GFY (gay for you), and I hope I get more from my HotHead boys. So many wonderful things in this book *HOT MAN SEX*, and that other stuff about feelings ‘winks’. 


5 Pants Off
 Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

Menage Mondays: The Strongest Shape by Tessa Cardenas


Hello all and Happy Monday, welcome to another installment of Menage Monday. This week post is pretty freaking awesome. I am so happy I got to read this gem of a book. Talk about color me surprised, this one is going down as one of the best books I read in 2011. So without further rambling I present The Strongest Shape by Tessa Cardenas.


This Ménage book is super awesmazing, like where has it been all my life. It’s the strongest ménage relationship book I have ever read. This is no couple and a third, this is a true trias (yep, my made up word) its fecking dynamic. I believe this is the author’s only book, and I am like “whaaaat”  she should write more. I never expected it to be so good, and have me losing my pants all over the place. At page 26, I was a goner and from there I literally lost my mind. Excellent stuff!

 
                               The Strongest Shape by Tessa Cardenas
Novel: 232 pages
4 out of 5

Blurb: After his boyfriend breaks up with him, fashion photographer Caleb Moss finds himself alone in Los Angeles looking for work and friends. He finds both in a group of aspiring musicians, who offer help through their connections. But while building a strong friendship with Scott and Chris, a startling sexual tension flares to life among the three men, and Caleb is afraid the new friendships will fall apart.

It won't be easy for Caleb, trying to find his way when Scott and Chris invite him into their relationship. They face criticism from their friends, but they'll struggle to stay together because they have discovered a three-fold love.

Thoughts: I absolutely loved this book. The sex was a little too much (yeh I just wrote that); I think without all the nakedness this would have been an almost perfect book. The dynamic of the relationship is strong, though Caleb entered into an established relationship, this is no couple and it’s third. It’s a relationship involving three people. There is no sex when one is not present, they can’t sleep with each other. It’s actually quite sweet, it does offer up some angst and a few obstacles but nothing to take away from the story. I recommend this read if you want to read a ménage a trois.

4 Pants Off

Always Remember "3 is never a crowd and one more is always invited"

Sunday, November 20, 2011

What's Happening This Week

Coming This Week
Howdy All, I hope you are doing a lot of pants losing now that the weather is getting frigid. Nothing like thawing out to a hot and steamy read. This week will be kind of slow for me, with assignments to finish and all that, but I promise to make it up.



 On Monday, my bi-weekly post of 'Menage Mondays'. The book for this post 'The Strongest Shape' was truly spectacular. One of the best Menage books I have ever read, just a truly realistic take on how it is to build a relationship between 3 people, and the characters are freaking awesome.

On Tuesday, I am hitting you up with my review for Crescendo. The most awesmazing spectacularness that is book 2, Ayden and Freyrik shine throughout the book. Did I also mention the epicness that is their adventure to finding happiness.

Wednesday a review for 'The Perfect Game' by Reno MacLeod & Jaye Valentine. I really enjoyed this one, a college professor and his student (Yummo). With one of my fave tropes that took my pants off (BDSM).

Thursday! HAPPY THANKSGIVING to all my American Peeps ^_^

Which brings me to give you a sneak peek of whats causing pants losing for the following week. Its gonna be theme week over here at Pants Off, a theme week of the kinkiest kind. So here's your peek at BDSM Week. The books to be reviewed are awesome, and plus there will be a really awesome giveaway. So stop by and take your pants off.


Its Gonna Be a Kink Fest



Duty & Devotion

Duty & Devotion (Faith, Love, & Devotion #3) by Tere Michaels
Loose-Id
Novel: 161 pages
5 out of 5

Blurb:
After their happily ever after in Faith & Fidelity, Matt and Evan move forward to a new chapter of their lives -- inside the bedroom and out -- with some surprises in store for both. Evan struggles with labels and feelings even as he wants to give in to his baser desires. Matt, now the ideal househusband of Queens, New York, has his own set of struggles -- who is he now? What does he need and want?

A visit from his friend and one-night stand Jim Shea (of Love & Loyalty) throws everything into disarray as Evan's jealousy and unease push Matt's buttons -- and not always in a good way.


Review:
All the ways I love this series, the ways are so very many. This series was just splendidly written with wonderful characters, and the overall story line is so simple and just moves and works so well. Tere Michaels is a wonderful writer and whatever she is working on next, I am so owning.

This is the third book in this wonderful series, and the sequel to Faith & Fidelity , and I am all kinds of in love with Evan and Matt. From the first book we gather this was friends becomes lovers, and the first male on male relationship for both our main characters. Evan had just lost his wife, and Matt was the friend and then other feelings started happening. There were a lot of struggles on Evan’s part dealing with the lost of his wife, the only person he has ever been with and loved. Here comes Matt a male, and he starts stirring up all these feelings. Both men start a tentative relationship, and the road ahead is not an easy one.

The second book takes place a few months after and Matt and Evan now live together with the kids. Evan’s kids know of the relationship and have accepted him with open arms. Matt is now a househusband, taking care of the home, looking after the kids, doing the shopping etc. Evan is still a cop, he works late hours which puts a strain on the relationship, and to make matters worse, Matt still keeps in contact with James (read previous book F&F) which Evan is very jealous of.

Even though this might seem like newlywed bliss, obstacles keep popping up for the guys, the main issues being; Evan unable to deal with the fact that he is now a part of a gay couple, his nervousness to have sex, and his jealousy issues. Even though Evan pissed me off a lot in this book, I still love him.

This series is wonderful because it takes the gay relationship one-step further, and proves it is not always about sex. This is a real relationship, with real feelings, and the realities of what it would be like if suddenly you find yourself loving the same sex. The sexual aspect of this book was not high, but it was just so erotic, even though actual sex happens very later on, the build up to it was a sweet progression. I am deeply in love with this series, I am deeply in love with Matt and Evan and I will be revisiting them time after time.

I just love this series, if you like M/M fiction then this series will guarantee to warm your heart. 

5 Pants Off

Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

Thursday, November 17, 2011

Love & Loyalty

Love & Loyalty (Faith, Love, & Devotion #2) by Tere Michaels
Loose-Id
Novel: 205 pages
5 out of 5

Blurb:
Detective James “Jim” Shea is a Seattle homicide detective who has never taken his work home with him – until now. A case has gotten under his skin and though it’s “over," it isn’t for Jim. The emotional toll has left him vulnerable and tied to the victim’s dying father.

Meanwhile, Hollywood comes calling for a hot story, and screenwriter Griffin Drake sees the tragic case as his ticket to more serious fare than his usual action blockbusters. But to get the whole story he needs to win over the stoic and protective Detective Shea.

Neither man has had much luck when it comes to romance or long-term relationships and neither is particularly looking but there's an attraction from their first meeting that can’t be denied. Their impromptu first date seems to have no end in sight – quickly becomes a barreling freight train of romance.

Looming problems outside threaten their relationship – death, secrets and broken trust – and they'll have to learn loyalty to save their newfound love.


Review:
This series is just keeps surprising me, I am all kinds of blown away. I was personally not looking forward to Jim and Griffin's story, because I wanted more Evan and Matt. Was this a surprise or what, I loved these characters and I am so happy that Jim(James) got his own HEA.

We met Jim in the first book Faith & Fidelity and he was like the other man, so instant hatred,lol. Well he gets his own book and we get to know him in a way that’s all types of good. He is the strong silent type, the good cop who takes his work seriously. When a case he was working on doesn't have a happy ending, he makes it his top priority to take care of the victim’s family. Blaming himself for almost everything, his personal life is basically non existent. His straight friends are always trying to hook him up, and he is just tired of it. Well seems he is gonna find his true love in the most unlikely circumstance, and with the least likely person.

A relationship that began when Jim’s old case was being turned into a movie. Griffin wanted to have a sit-down interview of sorts, but this interview leads both Jim and Griffin to get all kinds of personal. A night of hot sex leads to a relationship of sorts, but guess what real feeling start to happen, who would have thought. Will Mr screenplay writer be able to make it work with a cop who has been there and pretty much done that and something else. With impending doom coming from both corners, how will this relationship bloom.

I love Tere Micheals writing style, its fun and crisp. You will love every bloody character you meet in this book, they all carry a wit and so much personality. Jim is a sweetheart, he can offer so much but he lacks the power to convey his feelings, but Griffin gets him and together they are dynamite. The sex is super sweet, but who cares this book offers so much, sex is the side issue. I am just so in love with this series and want to be a voyeur in these books. A little bit of peeping never killed nobody (just avoid the cops). Just an awesome series and they are definitely worth checking out, cus you will be checking out of your pants by all the hotness in this book.


5 Pants Off
 Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off


 

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

No Good Deed

No Good Deed by Lynn Lorenz
Amber Quill Press
Novel: 265 pages
4.5 out of 5

Blurb:
They say no good deed goes unpunished. Two men are about to find out if that old saying is true...

Captain Daniel Chan works for the Riceland Police Department. It’s a small town in Texas and he’s the only Chinese American on the force. He considers himself bisexual, but when he meets Mark Montgomery, a gay man, he falls hard. But being with Mark means he’ll have to commit to being gay. Mark won’t have it any other way.

Mark’s a man with a terrible past and he’s in hiding from it and the man who tried to kill him so long ago. When he meets Dan, it’s a chance at healing old wounds and finding a new life. But it also means exposure, and that’s something Mark’s avoided for years. When he’s thrust onto center stage after a shooting, he turns to Dan for protection.

But even in a small town, things can get complicated. Political maneuvering, shady real estate deals, and men’s ambitions all collide, catching Dan and Mark in the middle. Will the forces they encounter destroy them and their newfound love, or will it bind them together?


Review:
I am in all kinds of love with this book. If Daniel Chan wasn't a gay man I would want him for my own, but hahahah he is bi-sexual, yeh I know...but this man is all kinds of awesome. I am now a huge fan of Lynn Lorenz she is a definate buy when purchasing my m/m loving. This book was surprisingly funny, angsty and just a sweet sexy fest. LOVED IT!!
 
Daniel Chan is the captain of a police force in a small town, he is also chinese and if that don't blow all out the water. He loves his job, he has great friends and only a few years until his retirement. One problem, no one in town knows about his sexual preferences, sometimes he likes the ladies other times he wants a man. No reason to go spreading this around until there was Mark and all his homosexual tendencies are coming out in full force and everyone seems to be noticing.

The meeting between Mark and Chan is no gumballs and lollipops, you see Mark was just caught in some serious business involving a dead man, a wounded police officer and Mark being arrested. To save the police force ass Chan has to some smooth talking and that comes easy because he wants Mark naked. The instant attraction has some road blocks, because both our heroes have wounded souls and a whole lot of healing is required.

I loved Chan's humour he makes being an asshole a true talent, but man is he sweet. His internal dialogue is hilarious, his dialogue with other characters is a laugh out loud kinda thing, and I did. He is a complex character with true worries and it proves the darkside that most cops without a doubt carry. Mark is a beautiful character, all the shit that man has been through he deserves his happy ending.

It was great to see a interrracial couple, I love when the people of the world come together and just love, and it makes for just hot good times. Though the sex did not come till later it was worth it, so sweet and beautiful. These men aren't perfect and they make mistakes. There are scenes involving a woman, but it works in this story line. An enjoyable story with well written characters. 


4 1/2 Pants Off
 Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off



Sunday, November 13, 2011

Counterpunch

Counterpunch (Belonging, #3) by Aleksandr Voinov
Storm Moon Press
Novel: 173 pages
4.5 out of 5

Blurb:
Brooklyn Marshall used to be a policeman in London, with a wife and a promising future ahead of him. Then he accidentally killed a rioter whose father was a Member of Parliament and had him convicted of murder. To ease the burden on the overcrowded prison system, Brooklyn was sold into slavery rather than incarcerated. Now, he's the "Mean Machine", a boxer on the slave prizefighting circuit, pummelling other slaves for the entertainment of freemen and being rented out for the sexual service of his wealthier fans.

When Nathaniel Bishop purchases Brooklyn's services for a night, it seems like any other assignation. But the pair form an unexpected bond that grows into something more. Brooklyn hesitates to call it "love"—such things do not exist between freemen and slaves—but when Nathaniel reveals that he wants to help get Brooklyn's conviction overturned, he dares to hope. Then, an accident in the ring sends Brooklyn on the run, jeopardizing everything he has worked so hard to achieve and sending him into the most important fight of all—the fight for freedom.


Review:
I was excited to read this, not only for the awesmazing cover (count those abs) but because this would be my first book by Aleksandr Voinov. I had previously read a short story by him that was a part of an anthology; clearly, it was just a small slice of something big.  Counterpunch had me freaking out, and I can say I was not disappointed. Mr Voinov has just become a must read author by me, I love his gritty writing style and the amazing characters he created. Whether you hate or love them, I guarantee you will remember them.

Counterpunch is the third book in the Belonging series, I have not read the previous books before but I will be on them like white on rice. As you may see this book can be read as a stand alone, and I implore you to read it. I guess I should warn you that this book contains slavery, there is dub-con/no-con, and it’s violent. I won’t warn you against it though, why should it matter if you are looking for a great read, and by gawd have you found it.

Brooklyn Marshall is a slave, but he wasn’t born one. An accident while on the job led him to his life of being owned. He is a puppet to people he can’t see, all he knows is to fight and win. He trains, fights and every now and again, he is sold to highest bidder. So they can say they had boxing champ Brook Marshall bent over something. It comes with being a slave though; the freemen have all the power. Whether its being f*cked or doing the f*cking, he is being used. He hates it, and the anger shows because he once could make his own choices.

In walks in Nathaniel Bishop, looking all businessman and suave. Brook thinks its gonna be just another one of those tricks, where a man can say he had boxing heavy weight Brook Marshall at his mercy, but both men get so much more. There is sex, but with Nathaniel it’s a lot more than just f*cking there is an underlying of I will let you Brook conquer me. Nathaniel also comes in the form of hope and equality; he treats Brook like so much more than property and offers him his life back.

The awesomeness is strong in this book, whether you are a fan of boxing or not you will be standing your ass up and cheering. Brooklyn Marshal is one of the most snarkiest bastard you can’t help loving. No matter his I don’t give a feck attitude, you can tell he cares deeply. Mr Vonoiv really captures the human behaviour quite well; the animals some become when they have power over someone. Some of these characters are so two faced its ridiculous, but you can’t hide behind masks forever. They try to break Brooklyn, and it becomes clear that you can’t keep a fighter down. He always comes back up swinging and its total KO, because my Brook has found his something worth fighting for.

For all that is sweet and holy, this book is incredibly sexy without all the fluff and stuff. I am in some serious love with Brook, he oozes sexuality and I you just wanna get him naked. I have a huge character crush on him, just seeing him naked with some boxing gloves on (ah the imagery). This book is the Brooklyn Marshall show, no character or situation can outshine him. The overall package of this story is a hit, and I recommend you read.

What I really want to say is that “this book is the 'shit' and so is the cover”.


 "Funny how the usual niceties like manners and overall courtesy evaporated or become at least optional when slaves were involved".  From: Counterpunch

4 1/2 Pants Off


Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off
*Review Requested*



Campus Cravings

Side-Lined (Campus Cravings 2)
Total-E-Bound
Romance/D/s
Novella
3 out of 5


Blurb:
College is supposed to be a time of exploring new things, learning about yourself, and having a good time doing it. For Max Henley, it was the hardest time of his life. During his sophomore year, his best friend and lover, Nick, was killed in a car wreck. A car Max had been driving. Now two years later, Max has thrown himself into his studies. Side-lined from football due to an injury sustained during the wreck, Max's entire focus is on academics. Well, that and his Professor, Alec Demakis. The problem is, whenever Max thinks about his Professor, the guilt over Nick's death returns. Can Max ever forgive himself enough to love again?

Review:
Side-Lined (campus cravings book 2) was… it just was. I have these odd moments when I find things extremely hilarious that I don’t think was intended to be, and this book was one of them. I was just cracking up, and even through all its absurdity, I freaking liked it. The story moved quite well, and was entertaining, but what can I say I am bias cus nothing better than student and professor hooking up. That alone is worth 4 stars.

So Max had a lover who died in a car crash, in the car he was driving. Nick was his first love and losing him was a huge blow and moving on is very hard. Max has just been walking like zombie for the past two years, but that seems to change when he thinks of his professor; Alec Demakis. His body awakens and for the first time in years, he actually wants someone.

Well the story takes a turn, with the beginning of Alec and Max’s relationship. It’s all about the Dom/Sub but it’s quite tame. Their feelings develop quite quickly but it sort of works since both have been aware of each other for a long time. My only piss off moment was finding about that Nick that Max loved so much; his best friend of childhood who developed into his lover was a real DOUCHEBAG!

 
I don’t like to speak ill of the dead but I wish that he didn’t die but remained alive so he could get the ass kicking he so rightly deserved. Fucking screwing around on Max and then moping. You should have just been honest and told him you wanted to be dominated and two subs together just does not make for a mind blasting relationship. Also Alec, you douche you should have also said something if you cared for him for so long. Left him a note, sent him an email all that shit would have worked.

Overall a short and fun story, about Max and his *Babas*, to know what that means you have to check the story out. The right amount of smut with a little story, perfect for an afternoon read.


3 Pants Off

Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off
 

Thursday, November 10, 2011

My Summer Of Wes

My Summer of Wes by Missy Welsh
Losse-Id
Short Novel: 103 pages
4 out of 5

Blurb:
I didn't know. How could I? All through high school, I was beaten up and teased for being gay. But I wasn't gay. Or didn't think I was. Now Wes, the guy across the street who's taken me under his wing and been the best friend I've ever had, won't stop invading my dreams, hell, my every waking thought. Am I gay? Because I'm thinking I'd like to kiss him. Actually, I'm thinking there's a lot more I'd like to do with his mouth and the rest of that tall, confident, muscular body. Ah, man... I'm so gay!

But what if he doesn't feel the same way about me? And, Jesus, what about my parents? And those bastards from school are still around. And I'm supposed to go to college this fall... Shit, I need to sit down. I can't breathe and I'm about to shake apart. Then Wes puts his hand on the back of my neck, gives me one of those encouraging squeezes and his bright smile, and everything's okay again. Yeah, I'm hooked. Oh, boy...


Review:
I have finally read My Summer of Wes, after being on my TBR for what feels like a hundred years. I read the story that was making a few online friends crazy with happiness. I must say ‘I am happy too' ! How effing cute is this book, it made me want to go out and fall in love. Just so super uplifting, just wanna skip through fields of wheat and celebrate. Though it’s mostly a sweet story there is still some pretty strong issues presented, and I found that it created a wonderful balance.

Our main protagonist Mal is the shy kid the one picked on through all his high school years. Beaten and made to feel worthless by school bullies. Abused for being gay, before he even knew he was. It’s his last summer at home, and he is trying to keep under the radar. Soon he will leave his vanilla life, and venture off to college. Yet his home life has shaped him to be a scared young man until he gets a fancy new neighbour whose about to spill some fudge on his vanilla.

Wes is the outgoing boy, gay and proud. He restores cars, is charismatic and could care less what anyone would say about his life. When he is chatted up by the neighbourhood bullies and comes out on top, Wes has never been more larger than life and Mal takes notice. The two strike up a friendship, openly gay Wes and shy unassuming Mal who has no clue where he falls on the sexual scale. The summer is going to be about Wes, and a young Mal finally coming into his own after being finally given the freedom to do so.

I am really taken with this book, because of the well-housed balance it offers. Not just sex on pages, it offers a little reality with the reading. The emotional repercussion of being bullied can really keep one in their shell. Mal is a product of that, and the simplicity of it only takes one kind word or one friend to make things a bit better. Though it seems, Mal got a good deal; he got love too.

This story is crazy, sexy, cool. Mal and Wes are hot and young together, and I freaking love it. I recommend this book if you are looking for some PYT (pretty young thing), seriously I got TLC and Michael Jackson in here. That means the book is awesmazing

SideNote- I always said all the hate from bullying comes from a deep-rooted hate of oneself, and if you have something to hide. 




4 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Double Blind


Double Blind (Special Delivery, #2) by Heidi Cullinan
Dreamspinner Press
Novel: 547 pages
5 out of 5

Blurb:

Poker player and professional smartass Randy Jansen believes in fate but doesn't let it rule his life. Whether he's at the table or between the sheets, Randy always knows the odds, and he only plays the games he can win--until he meets Ethan Ellison. Ethan came to Las Vegas with a broken heart and shattered spirit, and when he sits down at the roulette table with his last five dollars, he means this to be one of his last acts on earth. But Randy ropes him into first one bet, and then another, and then another.... Pretty soon they're playing poker on the Strip and having the time of their lives--and all this even before Randy gets Ethan into his bed. But before Ethan can plot out a new course for his life, they're drafted into the schemes of Randy's former lover, a tricky gangster who needs a fall guy. To survive, Ethan will have to stop waiting on fate and start making his own luck, and Randy will have to face the demons of his past and accept that to win this round, he's going to have to put up a big ante. It isn't money going into the pot this time, either: it's his heart, and Ethan's too--because for better or for worse, the game of love has a double blind.
Review:
Double Blind, is double the pleasure, double the fun and double the cum. It is funny, heartbreaking and a wonderful story into the lives of characters we have come to love. This book is in a category all on its own, the idea of using poker to explain life and it makes so much sense. This series is a wonderful tale of human emotions, the fear that comes with love and the healing that can only be found through friendships. This is the second book to Special Delivery and that book deserves its own feckin pedestal. We met Sam and Mitch and they play an important role in this book, but the book is all about Randy. I love him, which came as a surprise because he sort of pissed me off in the first book, but man oh man is this dude awesome or what.

The setting is Las Vegas and Randy plays poker professionally and he is very good. He has this uncanny ability to read people the same way he reads a poker game, but his skills are about to be shaken up with Ethan. When he makes a bet on Ethan, with no idea he would come to love him and save his life in the process. The relationship seems doomed from the start, but that’s what makes it so authentic. There is no love at first sight and candy and gum ball raindrops, the emotion cuts deep down to bone and there are tears.

Ethan gets himself caught up in some serious business with some of the more seedy business men of Las Vegas, here is this shy unassuming man and its was like coming to his own, when he takes over a casino. With millions of dollars at his disposal, it seems Ethan has bitten off more than he can chew, but no worries Randy is there as a constant guide, and it is there that a true love begins to blossom. They sound ordinary enough, but the life they live is so much more. Randy, Ethan, Mitch and Sam’s life is far from vanilla, you could call it napoleon because these boys are into some serious forms of pleasure, and when they play they play hard.

Sex or should I say sexuality is big part of this series, but this is not just fuckin for fuckin sakes. It is so much more, a way to tap into their emotions and express themselves through many different layers of sex. When all four men play, believe me when I say it is a good time, never has there been anything hotter or more beautiful. Even through dirty sex, the love they have for each other is very clear and everything just feels right.

Randy is a complex character, and Ethan is the right man for him, they both have past they would rather not share, but they find themselves opening up to each other and sharing a part of themselves that no one knows. This book is just one good scene after another. Its filled with humour, angst and nail biting moments. Heidi has done another smash hit with this book and it took me over two months to find the right words to express in this review, and I still haven’t done it any justice.

You got to read this series, its just GAWD fucking brilliant. Plus its never a bad thing to see Mitch and Sam again, and they made this book just right. With shady characters and a gay party that will have you cheering, READ IT!!!!

5 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off




Tuesday, November 8, 2011

Ridden Hard

Ridden Hard by Elizabeth Coldwell
Xcite Books
Length: 65 pages
3 out of 5

Blurb:
Jamie Desmond has lied about his ability to ride to land a film role, and now his lack of horsemanship has been exposed he's scared he'll be kicked off the set. Luckily, riding instructor Andrej is on hand to give him tuition - but dominant Andrej recognises Jamie's latent need to submit, and his lessons are about to show Jamie what it means to be ridden hard ...



 

Review:
This was a short novella, and simple fun reading. I did have some problems with the story, but overall it is an alright read. The author has a wonderful writing style, and creates a likeable lead character. Jamie Desmond our narrator is a struggling actor in London, and with a little lie on his side, he manages to land a leading role in an upcoming film about King Arthur.

The filming is to take place in the Czech Republic, and Jaime is rather fearful that he will be caught in his lie about being an established horse rider; it’s a good thing they assigned Czech horse trainer Andrej to keep things moving. Jaime manages to keep the heat off himself but he cannot fool Andrej. Andrej decides to give him some one on one training, and Jaime gets a lot more than learning how to ride a horse.

The second half of the story is the semi-relationship that Jamie and Andrej develop. The easy way Jaime moves into a D/s relationship without even questioning the why’s and how’s. Though its one of those “that was fast” it works well with Jaime’s easy going nature and learning to ride bareback on a horse has never been more literal.

Although a likeable story, I had two major issues with it. The unprotected sex part of it was just a little too extreme for me. Usually it does not bother me, but both men barely had a conversation with each other and it just felt very contrived. The added audience for the men’s first time together also took away from the story for me. It was sexy but… it would have been even more so if they were alone.

I did enjoy Jaime as a character and the realism that was his job as an actor. It was not just an occupation mentioned in the book; we got to experience a little bit of his life on set. I also loved Jaime’s first riding lesson, unexpected and quite naughty. I had a good chuckle over it. I could take or leave Andrej, didn’t really make an impression on me.

Overall, an easy read with likeable qualities. A light BDSM theme and a neatly wrapped HEA.
3 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off


Monday, November 7, 2011

Everything Under the Sun

Everything Under the Sun by Rachel West
Dreamspinner Press
170 Pages
4 out of 5

Blurb:
What do you do when you have every choice in the world at your fingertips and no idea what you want?

Ever since Chris Bennett graduated high school a year ago, he's been trying to figure out what's next. His lifeguarding job has kept him busy, and in southern California, poolside isn't a bad place to be. But he's spent most of his time thinking about Seth, the former classmate who became something more for a few brief moments last summer. Now Seth is back, but he seems to be running toward Chris and running away from him at the same time. Meanwhile, Chris is increasingly drawn to Alex, his gorgeous new neighbor who puts up a sexy, confident front but may be harboring a few romantic demons of his own.

Chris doesn't know which direction to go, either in life or in love. But by the time he figures it out, will the right person still be around to want him back?



Review:
There are so many wonderful things I loved about this book, at first I was unsure about where the author was going but in the end it was written splendidly.  For me this book was relatable on so many levels, the young characters, the feeling of being stuck in a place they want desperately to get out off, and also being unsure of what the heck they want to do with their lives. It was fun, sweet, and all kinds of sexy. I still have a smile on my face.

Chris Bennett is one of many students who decide to take a year of school before heading out to college/university to do a little life exploring, only his year is turning into two and he is still unsure of how to progress. Working at a pool as a lifeguard, his life is pretty much a routine and is love life is in the same disarray. Chris is feeling good though because the guy he has been fooling around with is back in town after leaving for college, and he is feeling that this might be it. He might actually go all the way, all naked and everything. From the first kiss, followed by a night he would never forget, Chris is hoping that his feelings might be reciprocated.

All is not well in Chris land when he realizes that the guy he likes will never accept his feelings, and he is just sick and tired of being used. When a surprise trip leads to a heartbreaking realization. Chris turns to his sexy neighbour Alex. What begins as a true friendship, turns into hot blistering lust, it’s a great feeling for Chris to actually want someone else, and what might have begun as friends with benefits is becoming so much more. Once again Chris might be falling for someone looking for a quick hook-up but the vibe he is getting is saying that it is something more.

I enjoyed that all three guys are young guys, and their troubles are believable. Chris is just splendid his character truly thinks and act like a nineteen year old boy. He is undecided about life, scared of venturing off to the unknown and I found myself being able to relate to his trials. That is one of the many awesome things about this book. Its  also actually quite funny, the inner turmoil of the characters was wonderfully written and I loved how they always seem to be constantly berating themselves in their heads.

There is three POVs and it so totally works, you get a strong sense of all the characters and you understand them a whole lot better. When it came to Seth (this is the bastard friend who was fooling around with Chris), I was glad that we got to see things from his side, you just cannot dislike him. He is a scared young man, who has no idea about his sexuality; and there is this guy he is attracted to and that is freaking the crap out him. For me with Seth it was never about Chris, it was about him finally coming to understand that he might actually like men and he has no clue what to do about it. This is why the book was just so good, it’s realistic when it came to emotions and I have to give credit where credit is due.

All the characters are likable, Alex is a dream and he is also young, the oldest of the bunch but with still a lot to learn. This book is a discovery of what is important and what its like to fall in love, whether it be the first or second time around. The sex is hot, the chemistry between characters is off the chain, and I just found it so refreshing, it is a perfect summer read. I am hoping for a sequel because I want more Seth and I want to meet the guy who will lead him to find himself, and I think I might already know him. Just a very sweet book and I will be watching out for this author, I expect big things from Rachel West if her books continue to shine like this. Everything Under the Sun will give you warm fuzzies.



4 Pants Off
Go Ahead Take Those Pants Off

 Reviewed for Three Dollar Bill Reviews